Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Manly vs Bulldogs *spoilers* including Lower Grades

Match Day Results:

Jersey Flegg.
MANLY 20
BULLDOGS 10

Premier League
MANLY 36
BULLDOGS 26

MANLY 21
BULLDOGS 20

Well Done to all three victorious Manly teams. :thumb

C.P

Hometown Hampstead 'nuff said, it made Steve Clark look like a professional. The video ref was in the same league as Bumstead.
On those commenting on the crowd I sat with my mates in the manly season ticket holders and experienced a first. An 80 year old granny heckled me and called me a bad loser when i was telling my mates at the end of the game what a discraceful refereeing performance it had been. I couldnt help but laugh :eek:

effnic

Bicey_18 said:
Stewart's tryscoring spree at Fortress Brookie has come to an end... I was just waiting for him to grab one at the death
how do you figure that he is still ahead. 30 tries from 29 games.

Cletus

Sea Eagle Scuba said:
It just gives us a sneak peek at season 2007 (only difference it is without Jamie Lyon).

Interesting to see Monas at half and Burns at hooker when Orford went off. Makes me wonder if Burns will play there next year.

effnic

We looked like we had no go forward when Orford went off. Its still good to see manly and Burnsy thrive in close games.

skeepe

That was, without doubt, the worst refereeing performance I have ever seen. The Bulldogs were clearly the better side on the night, and only lost because Hampstead wore his maroon and white contact lenses.

What a disgrace.

effnic

skeepe said:
That was, without doubt, the worst refereeing performance I have ever seen. The Bulldogs were clearly the better side on the night, and only lost because Hampstead wore his maroon and white contact lenses.

What a disgrace.
Refereeing desicions were pathetic BOTH ways i dont think the dogs were the better side on the night manly were calving them up all first half and thn executing like the warriors. Are we maybe upset because you think canberra would of made top 4 :( ohhhhh shhhh its ok they had no chance.

I'll agree that that Mr. Bean was dreadful tonight. Went both ways though. I wasn't keeping tally or anything but I don't think you could say he was poor because he was biased, he was just poor in general.

skeepe

Where Eagles Dare said:
I'll agree that that Mr. Bean was dreadful tonight. Went both ways though. I wasn't keeping tally or anything but I don't think you could say he was poor because he was biased, he was just poor in general.

Went both ways? Manly had maybe 2 calls go against them. The Bulldogs had about 10. Whether he was biased or not, that's certainly how it appeared to this neutral observer.

Ahwell, despite the reffing effort, both teams played some good footy tonight, up and around semi-final pace. Some defensive issues perhaps, but that was just the kind of game it was imo. Dogs didn't have much to lose, and Manly had it all to gain, so both will be better after the knock.

And are you suuuure you're a neutral observer skeepe? Not clinging to hopes of finishing above Manly at all?;-)

EXTREMELY impressed with the Mason/Roy/Tonga/Grimaldi-less performance. Sonny was awesome once again, Sherwin seemed to be getting himself back into form...

I won't say I'm not filthy on the VidRef decision, it was f**king atrocious and it cost us the game... but 'dems the breaks. We're still 2nd, we still will be unless we lose by 60 to Pemriff and Manly beat Melbourne by 60 :)lol:) and I'm taking a lot of positives out of that one. Well done to both teams in a ripper match.

I got out fine, in fact I am VERY pleased by the attitude of a lot of Manly supporters - I had one bloke come up with an outstretched hand - "Bad luck mate, awesome game, we'll see ya in the Grand Final ay" - it actually kinda restored my faith in the dickheads that seemed rife after my last Brookvale experience. If anything is worth complaining about it's the facilities at that SHOCKING ground... for the price it is, it's hopeless.

In other news, after Emelio scored, I was that beautiful lone Bulldog supporter waving his flag on Nine's coverage :D *go my 15 of fame!!*

In all honesty I'll be watching tonights game intently when I'm at EnergyAustralia - Pemriff are a tough nut to crack at any point and it'll be interesting to see how we go out at CUA on Sunday.

Congrats Manly - brilliant game... gutted to have lost the way we did, but that's how it ends and it shows me that we've got plenty left in the tank, even with Lobster and Big Willie to come back.

With that result, the 'Dogs book Telstra Stadium at 8:30pm on Saturday Night September 9 against the seventh place club (which is between Parramatta, Canberra, Newcastle, St George-Illawarra and Brisbane).

Ice777

Sea Eagle Scuba said:
Yeah, doesn't matter though. Matty Orford was man of the match, in a "clutch" match in which he was meant to "choke" in.:crazy:

Nobody said he chokes in "clutch" matches or even home and away matches. What was said was he choked in Melbourne Storm finals matches and NO other games were mentioned that he choked in. I'll say it once more because you're obviously geniused. Orford played well below par in his finals performances when he played for Melbourne. Not to say he'll do it in this series, but that was never the issue. Geddit now? Somehow i doubt you do because i've said it about 10 times and you still don't understand :crazy:

But anyway, well played both sides it was an entertaining game to watch and it's a pity there had to be a winner.......sorry a loser i meant :lol: But seriously i thought the Dogs showed alot of heart playing away from home with the players they had out and can take alot out of that game. As for Manly it sets up what will be a great game next week at the Graveyard and i hope to see some of you make the trip.