Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

MARK GEYER - Ring a bell ???

Gidday Panthers and congrats on 2003 and beating the Greedy Bastards of Rugby League.

I am chasing some stories, pics on MG for my website the Era of the Biff.

The site covers the era of rugby league when biff was tolerated and was part and parcel of the game. The site is a record of 'punters' memories of the time.

I have included a section on Hardmen and Heroes...and of course MG is in the starting lineup.

the site can be found at
http://www.geocities.com/bringbackthebiffrugbyleague

Can you help me with stories, in your own words, I am not after a literary classic, just tell it like you saw it.

Were you at the dust up between MG and Wally ????
Did you witness any other major confrontations involving MG

Drop me a post here, or email me, or there are a squillion links within the website. I would love to hear from you...your entry will be acknowledge.

Cheers Quigs.
P.S. Have a great Christmas one and all.

Hi Pepstar,

Thanks mate, I have visited MG's site before.....but what I am also chasing it stories from you the punters.....

Have you got a favorite you'd like to add....get in touch with me..

Merry Christmas have a great day on the 25th

mightypanther

Sorry Quigs,

I have no personal stories about MG's thuggery. :lol:

Only stories about how great and patient he is with little kids,
and how much they love him.

But that doesn't quite suit the image of him that you're going for,
does it? :mrgreen: :lol: :mrgreen:

mightypanther said:
Sorry Quigs,

I have no personal stories about MG's thuggery. :lol:

Only stories about how great and patient he is with little kids,
and how much they love him.

But that doesn't quite suit the image of him that you're going for,
does it? :mrgreen: :lol: :mrgreen:

Merry Christmas to you ...

No don't get me wrong here....I know the guys a great guy, don't have to twist my arm...

But he was a tough hard forward and an enforcer....which at the time was part and parcel of the game...and the time I thoroughly loved my league.

I would love a panthers story who witnessed, say, MG and the Wally stash.

You don't win competitions without footballers with "mongrel" in them ie 2003. Can the Sharks have your backrowers.....???

Love any stories on MG ....... Football or otherwise....

Quigs....

mightypanther

Sorry again Quigs,

I forgot you don't know me.

I knew what you meant..................
I was just having another poor attempt at humour... :roll: :oops:

Maybe I should practise a bit more hey ??? :? ;-) :mrgreen:

Oh and..........MERRY XMAS AND A HAPPY NEW YEAR to you too.

Fibroman

The thing about MG is that he was such a tough player on the field, so when he went out socially in his younger days, every wanna be thug out there wanted to pick a blue with him when they had sufficient courage under their belts. Although he got in the occasional scrap at the pub or club, I saw the guy walk away from that many idiots to avoid a situation, I lost count. That must go to his credit, even though he still got stuck with a reputation of being a bit of a thug on and off the field.

The bloke is still very fit and hard, and I reckon he would still be a very useful impact player off the bench in a first grade team.

He still has a run around in the over 30's OZ tag on a Tuesday night at Werrington. He still remembers all his mates, and says G'day and stops for a chat. He still lives in the western suburbs and is very proud of it. And most importantly, he loves his family, and is fantastic with kids. He's just an all round good bloke.

fibro man said:
The thing about MG is that he was such a tough player on the field, so when he went out socially in his younger days, every wanna be thug out there wanted to pick a blue with him when they had sufficient courage under their belts. Although he got in the occasional scrap at the pub or club, I saw the guy walk away from that many idiots to avoid a situation, I lost count. That must go to his credit, even though he still got stuck with a reputation of being a bit of a thug on and off the field.

The bloke is still very fit and hard, and I reckon he would still be a very useful impact player off the bench in a first grade team.

He still has a run around in the over 30's OZ tag on a Tuesday night at Werrington. He still remembers all his mates, and says G'day and stops for a chat. He still lives in the western suburbs and is very proud of it. And most importantly, he loves his family, and is fantastic with kids. He's just an all round good bloke.

Hi Fibroman...

Mate, you won't get an argument out of me there. I don't know MG personally, but I have heard and saw enough of him to know he is a great bloke and a decent bloke.

From the heap of feedback Ive been getting from most of the toughmen of League seem to fit into that mould......real gentlemen off the field.

Just like the old schooldays, when you stood with the other kid and picked one for one, MG would be one of the first picked in my team.

But as I mentioned above, I know how tough he was on the paddock. When you panthers won your first title. It was on the back of toughmen like MG. Forwards win matches.....

That is why I have included MG in the Hardmen section...because he was a real hardman. And I would love to hear stories from the punters who witnessed his hard tough style during his playing days.....

I can get info out of books, but that is not what I am totally gunning for in the Era of the Biff website......I want supporters stories......

Keep well and stay safe..

*Sandy*

Do you run around in the OZ Tag too Fibro? And if not, why not?

Fibro do you think MGRULES would love to tell a tale or two about MG? I'm sure the Big Fella would have plenty of on field incidents to share about MG.