Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Marlins' Hip Hop Awards 2004

POSITIVES

BEST ARTIST

Immortal Technique

BEST ALBUM

Immortal Technique - Revolutionary Volume 2

BEST non-US ARTIST

Scribe (followed by the Deceptikonz)

BEST non-US ALBUM

Red Eye Society - Red Eye Society

BEST PRODUCER

DJ Premier

BEST non-US PRODUCER

P-Money

BEST BEAT

DJ Premier - Hip Hop (for Royce Da 5'9")

BEST non-US BEAT

P-Money - 3,2,1

BEST BREAKTHROUGH ARTIST

Akon

BEST UNDERGROUND ARTIST

Vinnie Paz (Jedi Mind Tricks)

BEST BATTLE

Murda Mook vs Jae Millz (Smack DVD)

BEST REMIX

Immortal Technique - One (Remix)

BEST non-US REMIX

Savage - Locked Up (remix)

BEST COLLABORATION

Royce da 5'9", Canibus, Chino XL - Wish You Would

BEST non-US COLLABORATION

P-Money feat. Con Psy and PNC - 3,2,1 remix

BEST LABEL

S-R-C

BEST non-US LABEL

Dawnraid Entertainment

NEGATIVES

WORST ARTIST

Chingy

WORST non-US ARTIST

Fast Crew

WORST ALBUM

Chingy - Jackpot

WORST non-US ALBUM

Fast Crew - Set The Record Straight

WORST BEAT

Eminem - Just Lose It

WORST non-US BEAT

Fast Crew - I've Got

WORST BATTLE

Freeway vs Cassidy

WORST COLLABORATION

Chingy feat. Snoop Dogg and Ludacris - Holidae Inn

WORST LABEL

Desturbing The Peace (followed by Shady/Aftermath and Ruffrydaz)

WORST non-US LABEL

Urban Pacific

WORST NEW ARTIST

Chingy (DTP)

WORST REMIX

Lil John feat. Eminem, Ma$e, Fat Joe - Lean Back (remix)

WORST PRODUCER

Lil John

HIGHLIGHTS

Gangstarr
Naughty By Nature
Cypress Hill (twice)
Sage Francis
The Boost Mobile Hook Up Tour
Atmosphere coming to the BDO in January
Influx on the Battle For Supremecy
Wordsworth dealing to Bush in a conference, via freestyle!!! (SlamBush.com)
The great growth in quality in Australasian hip hop.

LOWLIGHTS

D12 minus Eminem
The Battle For Supremecy judging Tourrettes beating Tyna
The upcoming of Fast Crew and Dei Hamo
The Bling Bling era
Retirement of Masta Ace, Beatnuts, Executioners
Deaths of ODB and Jam Master Jay, following Big L
G-Unit thinking theyre OGz at the Vibe Awards, pulling out knives etc.
The attempts at censoring thos artists who have political views different to that of the US government
Canibus being turned down by Rocafella
Nas' "God's Son" album
Influx of Southern Rap

THANK YOU, CANT WAIT FOR NEXT YEAR!!![/b]

Kakihara

Manurewa_Marlins said:
WORST non-US ARTIST

Fast Crew

lol f**k i hate that band.

Worst artist for me would be Lil Jon.
liljohn2.jpg

Collateral

Manurewa_Marlins said:
HIGHLIGHTS

Gangstarr
Naughty By Nature
Cypress Hill (twice)
Sage Francis
The Boost Mobile Hook Up Tour
Atmosphere coming to the BDO in January
Influx on the Battle For Supremecy
Wordsworth dealing to Bush in a conference, via freestyle!!! (SlamBush.com)
The great growth in quality in Australasian hip hop.

[/b]

Damn I love Cypress Hill :D

I reacon we could get along well Marlin, both like Cypress Hill and both hate Chingy :lol:

I think a good break through though would of been the Numb-Encore with Jay Z and Linkin Park...even though I dont like Jay Z its a good song.

Best beat of the year I think could of gone to Method Man for "Whats Happenin" feat. Busta rhymes.

I think Three Six Mafia are good too and should get up in the next couple of years.

Still undecided about Akon...only really heard Ghetto which is an ok song.

Lil Rob is a good Latino rapper that could make it big as well.

Other mentions have to goto Eminems disappointing albulm "Encore"...all the songs sound the same and it isnt nearly as good as "The Eminem Show".

Def Jam for constanly screwing around with the release of RedMan's new albulm. He is great and I wish they would put more of a priority on him.

Cypress Hill for another albulm of great tracks.

I reackon Ghostface Killah and Roscoe have heaps of potential too.

DJ Raida

ok- i disagree with almost everything uve said

except-

WORST REMIX

Lil John feat. Eminem, Ma$e, Fat Joe - Lean Back (remix)

omg wasnt this the worst remix EVER? and yet its all that gets played!

DJ Raida

Godz Illa said:
CRIMINALLY SNUBBED
Kanye West

exactly

POSITIVES

BEST ARTIST

Kanye West

BEST ALBUM

Nas- Street Disciple

BEST non-US ARTIST

Loop Troop

BEST PRODUCER

Kanye West- EASILY

BEST BEAT

Celebrity overnight- twista feat kanye

BEST BREAKTHROUGH ARTIST

The Game

BEST UNDERGROUND ARTIST

The Beatnuts

NEGATIVES

WORST ARTIST

Nelly- by FAR

WORST ALBUM

Nelly- Sweat

those i would change, some i just couldnt think of any

incredible_holc

pepper no-one likes chingy.

and pepper while you may only have heard about scribe through kyle and jackie-o hes been around for longer than a few months

Manu Vatuvei

Pepper- Scribe hasn't released anything this year. He has appeared on one NZ hit single, "Stop the Music", which is credited to P Money featuring Scribe. The Crusader was released in 2003, as were the "Stand Up", "Not Many", and "Dreaming" singles. He was probably the most famous person to emerge in NZ in 2003, bar none. However, I would have to say it's more than a little dubious to give someone a 2004 award, when you would have given him the 2003 award for the exact same stuff.

^^^Mate, he had released "Stop The Music", which was the top single for ages, and other tracks on P-Money's new album (hasnt dropped in Aus yet i dont think), he has done tours and shit in OZ and NZ, aswell as going how many times gold and crap in both countries. Did the Ribena advert in the UK, and how many awards at NZ music awards,......

Yeah I missed Kanye, I should have put him in as an honerable mention, his album was a good mainstream one, I admit it got heavy rotation when I bought it.

And yeah....When will RedMan get off DEF JAM????????? Dam, this dude is one of my fav rappers, his flow goes crazy in his tracks, esp. the Lost Boyz one, Beast From The East......dam, I reckon he should sign to Wu-Tang....

Yeah, that Immortal Tech verse is nice, he is ill, anyone who is curious, def download or buy his album, you will not be, I REPEAT, not be disappointed, I guarantee.

Tupac Shakur

incredible_holc said:
pepper no-one likes chingy.

and pepper while you may only have heard about scribe through kyle and jackie-o hes been around for longer than a few months

i dont really care if anyone likes chingy or not why would i care?
i dont listen to the radio either and im not the biggest scribe fan anyway oh yeh and another good call from u, it tops the cake of all ur calls.

Manu Vatuvei

^^^Mate, he had released "Stop The Music", which was the top single for ages, and other tracks on P-Money's new album (hasnt dropped in Aus yet i dont think), he has done tours and sh*t in OZ and NZ, aswell as going how many times gold and crap in both countries. Did the Ribena advert in the UK, and how many awards at NZ music awards,......

Tours? Ribena ads? Awards?

I agree, 2004 has been a big year for Scribe, but only because he's cashing in on the music he released in 2003, by releasing that music internationally, winning awards for it etc. But it's still 2003's music.

Yeah but hes made moves this year.......not last year. This year was the year he began to do what he set out to do, album dropped late last year, and yeah.

Next to blow up are Con Psy and PNC from BreakingWreckwordz.