Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Match Discussion: Round 10 vs Broncos @ Leichhardt Oval

Who will win? Round 10: Wests Tigers v Broncos

WA Tiger

Chad for Benji please
Chads ok he’s safe sound can spot an opportunity has all the skills. A great link man as any team should want but I understand your request. And u obviously see what I see in Benji. It’s like when u have something and don’t really appreciate it and when u don’t u wish you had it back...or when u see it from afar. Benji’s a cut above isn’t he. Thanks for the offer but we will keep him for now..

There are a lot of players to hate, Brooks isn’t one of them in my eyes. He’s a good kid, level headed, no ego, he hasn’t eventuated but hate is a bit strong of a word for me. There are a lot more reasons for the Tigers improvement other than Brooks not playing. I’ll admit Walters played really well last night but I did feel sorry for Brooks, getting a run so late that he overplayed his hand trying to keep his spot. I think Brooks really needs pairing with dominant players in the halves and the 9 but I don’t think he’s dominant enough to make a good 9. I may be wrong but if the 9 is his future, I can’t see him getting much time there while Grant is on the scene. The bench space can be filled more effectively. I would have liked to have seen him come on for Grant last night rather than Walters.

Some good insights.

I’m not ashamed to say I like Brookes.

I was looking at the coming players off contract in 2020, there’s not a real lot of experienced halves coming into the market any time soon.

Brookes would command a premium because he has the potential.

I remember the days of the great halves, long gone. Kids today wouldn’t appreciate the profound impact they once had.

I am hoping the spell will help him.

I’m thinking Madge might be to able to pick up a Cogger or like on a discount basis and do something with him.

And out of the box, maybe we can lure Cam Smith up here for a season or two. That would be interesting. He’s made his dough, he’s playing for love now. He’d like us. Enjoy his last few years, be part of an emerging super power club while the storm empire crumbles post Bellamy.

All of our new recruits this year seem to be really enjoying their experience so far. It’s an underdog team fighting the good fight. That’s a sign of a good front office in delivery.

Destination Tigers.
NRL Club of the year 2020.

The reality is that time will beat Benji. It always does.

WA Tiger

There are a lot of players to hate, Brooks isn’t one of them in my eyes. He’s a good kid, level headed, no ego, he hasn’t eventuated but hate is a bit strong of a word for me. There are a lot more reasons for the Tigers improvement other than Brooks not playing. I’ll admit Walters played really well last night but I did feel sorry for Brooks, getting a run so late that he overplayed his hand trying to keep his spot. I think Brooks really needs pairing with dominant players in the halves and the 9 but I don’t think he’s dominant enough to make a good 9. I may be wrong but if the 9 is his future, I can’t see him getting much time there while Grant is on the scene. The bench space can be filled more effectively. I would have liked to have seen him come on for Grant last night rather than Walters.
I didn’t say hate. Doesn’t work for me when I’m talking about NRL players ...(I used the word evil . Because it’s the only reason I can think of how Brookes can in such a short period of time change from killing it last year to suddenly be completely bereft of any idea how to contribute to the team and in fact have such a negative effect on the team and still have Madge believe he’s any good)
Also
You think Brookes is a good kid, lovely guy, yip .It shows you’re a nice guy too Phil though I suspected that already..This won’t help us crack the 8 tho...
We just beat a team 50 nil without him so fair chance we are better without him....
You felt sorry for Brookes fair enough..see above & that won’t help us crack the 8 either....
He’s been paired with a dominant player in the halves already with Benji. That didn’t work thats why he was dropped (sorry he was mercilessly dropped by Madge then picked again)...
Then you In a roundabout way are saying he would be crap at 9 yip I agree. And u can’t see him getting time at 9 with Grant on the scene anyway. I agree there as well...
yes I think the bench space would have been better used as well..
& you’d like to see him come on for Grant than Walters ..ok

Therefore what. It’s not like you to not have a point Phil Gould in regards to how we can make the team better or how the team has been made better when that appears to be the aim of your post re Brookes..In a nutshell he’s of no use to us in any likely position on the field...But probably a nice guy off the field..My point is therefore he must be removed from the team in body or spirit - (unless we need a nice guy around the team for some reason)..and as quickly as possible before he causes another heart break of just missing the 8.

WA Tiger

Some good insights.

I was looking at the coming players off contract in 2020, there’s not a real lot of experienced halves coming into the market any time soon.

I remember the days of the great halves, long gone. Kids today wouldn’t appreciate the profound impact they once had.

I’m thinking Madge might be to able to pick up a Cogger or like on a discount basis and do something with him.

And out of the box, maybe we can lure Cam Smith up here for a season or two. That would be interesting. He’s made his dough, he’s playing for love now. He’d like us. Enjoy his last few years, be part of an emerging super power club while the storm empire crumbles post Bellamy.

All of our new recruits this year seem to be really enjoying their experience so far. It’s an underdog team fighting the good fight. That’s a sign of a good front office in delivery.

Destination Tigers.

I’ll put your sentiments down to Saturday night drinks as well..I don’t drink. Ageing is wrecking my looks enough already.. Next...

WA Tiger

Chad is solid.

You have a Chad called Brooks.

Benji is special.

When not playing Kickby.
Benji kicked a 40/20 ..but yea they all have to kick now it’s very boring..As soon as I saw the maori warrior look on Benjis face just before kick off I new the Broncos were in trouble..

You sure now, Chad for Benji?

Benji and Shaun.........

magic-1260x840.jpg

Chad and Brooks.....

0330chewbacca.jpg

Not a salesman.

I’ll put your sentiments down to Saturday night drinks as well..I don’t drink. Ageing is wrecking my looks enough already.. Next...

We are all prone to the odd wrongful attribution comrade. My last partaking was Melbourne Cup Day 2018 with about 3 mild sips of champers under peer pressure.

In the spirit of the West Tigers playing group collective, I offer you the future.

EFCE6BDA-CABA-4BF0-922F-67AA0CA6F8E9.jpeg

I challenge anyone to find a quality half who is off contract this year. Not that contracts are contracts these days.

I’ve come out as a Brookes supporter, I don’t care what people think, I want to go about my business of fandom without being vilified and denigrated for my personal player preference.

I am tired of lying to my wife and kids about my support of Brooks as a semi elite half.

I’d rather tell them tonight over the roast than they find my phone complete with his 2018 stats.

I want to sit down at work and compare Brookes Kicking notes with like minded people at the office at lunchtime and not feel ashamed.

Brooks pride!

Before anyone vomits in Brooksys direction, look at the alternatives. Plus he’s loyal.

As much as I hate your latte sipping, salary cap rorting, talent poaching, entitled excuse for a team...I really respect you as a person, and thank you for comments like this.

Probably why you guys win so much.
Thank you for that BrotherJim, I think. ;)

Tell me what you really think of my team!

I grew up in Wests territory, so I don't mind the Tigers, and would be happy to see them do well. Easts first and foremost, of course, but I would like to see you guys get back into finals contention and do better than you have been in recent years.

Thank you for that BrotherJim, I think. ;)

Tell me what you really think of my team!

I grew up in Wests territory, so I don't mind the Tigers, and would be happy to see them do well. Easts first and foremost, of course, but I would like to see you guys get back into finals contention and do better than you have been in recent years.

TFR, it’s of concern that you’ve abandoned your culture and heritage.

You need counselling my friend.

Perhaps a hypnotic session to find out what happened in your life to make you go down the wrong path.

It’s never too late to redeem yourself brother.

Appreciating Brooks is the first step. Self realisation that he can play footy.

WA Tiger

We are all prone to the odd wrongful attribution comrade. My last partaking was Melbourne Cup Day 2018 with about 3 mild sips of champers under peer pressure.

In the spirit of the West Tigers playing group collective, I offer you the future.

View attachment 40083

I challenge anyone to find a quality half who is off contract this year. Not that contracts are contracts these days.

I’ve come out as a Brookes supporter, I don’t care what people think, I want to go about my business of fandom without being vilified and denigrated for my personal player preference.

I am tired of lying to my wife and kids about my support of Brooks as a semi elite half.

I’d rather tell them tonight over the roast than they find my phone complete with his 2018 stats.

I want to sit down at work and compare Brookes Kicking notes with like minded people at the office at lunchtime and not feel ashamed.

Brooks pride!

Before anyone vomits in Brooksys direction, look at the alternatives. Plus he’s loyal.
“Likes” more for the genuine laughs it got from me ...see Brookes can even change his head ..get the priests in

View attachment 40083

Brooks pride!

WOW, if you don't drink, then it means darker things, perhaps:D

Maybe he is loyal because he knew.

I don't dislike the guy at all, but after something like 7 years he just hasn't made it. Hopefully we can sort him out though. We need a halves coach desperately.

TFR, it’s of concern that you’ve abandoned your culture and heritage.

You need counselling my friend.

Perhaps a hypnotic session to find out what happened in your life to make you go down the wrong path.

It’s never too late to redeem yourself brother.

Appreciating Brooks is the first step. Self realisation that he can play footy.

Hahahaha, thanks TSP, I never had it to begin with! I have a soft spot for Wests, and probably also Newcastle, but nobody else TBH. None of them will ever replace the mighty Chooks!

I appreciate the concern you have expressed, but I am quite okay. In fact, I am a third generation Rooster and proud of it.

Luke Brooks? I don't think I have ever said anything about him. I don't think he has lived up to expectations, but he is a talent and has potential, and I would like to see him delivering for you guys on a more regular basis. I think that is a fair and reasonable assessment.

Anyway, enjoy your win, and have a good day and week mate.

How’s this one:

We swap Brooks for Milford for a few weeks as punishment for his poor form.

When he gets back, he will be too frightened to have a bad game.

Seibs will learn that into him.

WA Tiger

WOW, if you don't drink, then it means darker things, perhaps:D

Maybe he is loyal because he knew.

I don't dislike the guy at all, but after something like 7 years he just hasn't made it. Hopefully we can sort him out though. We need a halves coach desperately.
In the past but only on a par with Alcohol...both equally dark ...both lead to being broke and angry and depressed. ...but mainly both lead to loss of time hence abstinence

Tiger Ted

Some good insights.

Destination Tigers.

Brooks has the potential is a myth.If the coach won’t experiment with him at hooker then he needs to b discarded.Then again the coach mindlessly gave him another 2yrs last season.

WA Tiger

I knew youd pick up on the rawest of prawns!

Having said that, they’re aren’t many quality halves on the market. It’s a wasteland out there.
That’s ok we don’t need to swap we fine now without him for now ...Reynolds can back up when he returns ...The standard he’s dropped to I don’t think he’s retrievable ..There’s just nothing there..