Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Match Discussion: Round 2 vs Newcastle @ McDonald Jones Stadium

Who will win? Round 2: Newcastle v Wests Tigers

• Newcastle Knights 13+

Votes: 7 53.8%
  • Newcastle Knights 1-12

Votes: 2 15.4%

Votes: 1 7.7%
  • Wests Tigers 1-12

Votes: 2 15.4%
  • Wests Tigers 13+

Votes: 1 7.7%

Tiger Ted

I was confident of a win against Melbourne.
Very disappointed that the great work done in the first 50 minutes was undone by poor tactical decisions by the coach and a drop in defensive intensity in the last 30.
I am not confident this week at all.
This one might get ugly.
Hurts me to believe that this will get ugly but the Knights should win this comfortably.

We can win this game but the odds are against us and it could get ugly. Newcastle are at about $1.40 to win and we are at $3. That sounds about right.

How shit is it being a bottom 4 team.

Magpies Forever

Sounds terrible but I hope Brooks is out with a minor injury and force the switch of Hastings to 7. At very least we can see how he goes. Don't know who would do 6 Madden, Peachey, Laurie? If we are trying to keep Madden I'd have to think use him.

Madden and To'a haven't been picked in the reserve grade team.

I like Shredders idea. Hastings to 7 and Peachey to 6. Play a bigger pack and use the interchange to keep them fresher.

BrotherJim05

Would prefer to see Hastings/Madden in the halves if Brooks is out. We need Peachy as a utility --- very handy to have on the bench.

If Malo is indeed injured then 100% put To'a on the wing. It's round 2, I'd much rather risk the 2 point than see the injuries getting worse

Speedy Gonzales

We can win this game but the odds are against us and it could get ugly. Newcastle are at about $1.40 to win and we are at $3. That sounds about right.

Knights are a bottom 4 team aswell

I feel slightly confident we can turn things around, as long as we show our 1st half attitude

Knights are a bottom 4 team aswell

I feel slightly confident we can turn things around, as long as we show our 1st half attitude

We could have won last weekend as well. We can win this weekend. This team though has to start winning games especially the ones that are winnable like last weekend.

I accept our squad isn't great but it feels like they aren't used to winning and when it's time to come up with big plays they can't do it.

I want to see Hastings take the game by the balls and win it for us.

Speedy Gonzales

We could have won last weekend as well. We can win this weekend. This team though has to start winning games especially the ones that are winnable like last weekend.

I accept our squad isn't great but it feels like they aren't used to winning and when it's time to come up with big plays they can't do it.

I want to see Hastings take the game by the balls and win it for us.
The team just doesn't know how to win does it? even at 14-4 I felt like the inevitable was going to happen. I don't wanna blame Brooks for his goal kicking as he isn't our #1 but every conversion he went in to he just looked shaky.

Onto the Knights, I just feel like the media have overrated them a bit. They've seen the scoreline without watching the game.
The Roosters were really really bad. Like cowboys level bad...I reckon we would have even given them a touch up.

The team just doesn't know how to win does it? even at 14-4 I felt like the inevitable was going to happen.
Speedy, was it inevitable that the Storm were going to win no matter who they played, 20 1st round wins in a row, not bad.
Manly lost their 1st round, haven't won their 1st round in 6 years.
Souths haven't won in Mexico in 6 years.

Perhaps some teams need a psychologist to lead them in the sheds on game day and not a coach.

WA Tiger

Hastings has the passing game covered when needed, Brooks kicking cross field and high kicks. We’re sweet

I just saw ben cummins has been appointed to this game, so we can all make alternate plans for Sunday arvo. We have an appalling record with him as ref. We haven't won for a very long time. Newcastle will benefit from a mountain of penalties and six agains and jump out to a big lead.

We'll get heaps in the last 10 minutes to make the stats look even.

This will be 13+.

Hastings has the passing game covered when needed, Brooks kicking cross field and high kicks. We’re sweet
We need a goal kicker, I think Hastings can kick, I don’t think Brooks kicking cost us the first game, but Hastings needs to be given a chance.

phenisha

I just saw ben cummins has been appointed to this game, so we can all make alternate plans for Sunday arvo. We have an appalling record with him as ref. We haven't won for a very long time. Newcastle will benefit from a mountain of penalties and six agains and jump out to a big lead.

We'll get heaps in the last 10 minutes to make the stats look even.

This will be 13+.
Sadly this is pretty true.

WA Tiger

We need a goal kicker, I think Hastings can kick, I don’t think Brooks kicking cost us the first game, but Hastings needs to be given a chance.
We for a bit longer have to see goals kicked as a bonus.. For now we need to learn to win tough..we’ve proved we can play tough now to finish it off

simmo05

My Mrs can't fathom why I love supporting the tigers. It's a disease I reckon