Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Match Discussion: Round 2 vs North Qld @ Leichhardt Oval, Lilyfield / Wanngal

Who will win? Round 2: Wests Tigers v North Qld

• Wests Tigers 13+

Votes: 3 37.5%
  • Wests Tigers 1-12

Votes: 3 37.5%

• North Queensland Cowboys 1-12

• North Queensland Cowboys 13+

Votes: 2 25.0%

Nutz

Read each post, all very exciting!!

Why is everyone selecting Makasini?

And what’s this Heath business?

Where’s Royce?
Mate Makasini is left and the last I heard skelton is injured, whether that's a smokescreen I don't know.
Makasini is going to be lethal. He may go back to KOE if his form drops and Skelton is ready to return. Potentially the best left side in comp.
I've only said Benji needs to guide this guy and I hope he's a sponge. He should handle the physicality ok but whether he can handle it week in week out is the question.
We need to get this right! Even if he has a cameo now and comes back firing just before we play in the prelims.
Right side with KPP To'a and Turuva are going to ring some bells too.
I watched highlights of Royce's rep game and he went ok but he was granted some time off afterwards...injured? Issues??
Afoa is ready imo.
With the increased bench, Heath Mason could back up Bula if he's injured early but most likely won't be used.

Nutz

It gives you an option to replace a half or outside back and there is someone on the bench that you can use. Just say you get an injury to the halves and you have 3 forwards and no half on the bench. Now you can have a half there.

As you state though 2 players won't get any game time for the week which will suck for them.
Especially since they have already had a layoff for the bye and split rd.
It will be a real test of Benji's footy brain because he's already come under scrutiny for his use of the bench since becoming head coach.
Where it could work is where benji is in two minds about playing someome who has a niggling injury hoping that if he is needed he wouldn't have to play big minutes, like Hunt or Skelton. Ease them back in.
Also, if Benji ends up with four small forwards we could get rolled.

Nutz

I rate all of our outside backs including Skelton who I can't see making the team this week but Makasini is going to be our biggest target.
Yeh Skelton is injured. It's actually good because all the debates about Masi and AD are over and we/I can get right behind the boys and support them.
Have you noticed that when there are selection concerns the injury smoke screen occurs.
So far its been Skelton, smokescreen?
Bird?
Lauliiiiiiiiiiii best friends with galvin
Latu Fainu same time galvin mess
Hunt I really think this is a smoke screen
May (legitimate)
Bula hamstring best friends with galvin
AD (legit cheekbone fracture)
To'a shoulder (legit)
Sam Fainu same time galvin mess
Api same time galvin mess

Shredder

Random question. For the two guys on the bench that DONT play, are they allowed to play lower grades?

If we keep picking the same 2 blokes to sit on a bench that don't play it could really hurt their development if they cant play any football?

For the two guys on the bench that DONT play, are they allowed to play lower grades?

My assessment without evidence is that they can play but there are going to be logistical issues at times. If the lower grades play prior to first grade or in a different location it's not going to be possible.

I agree that this is going to be disruptive to some players development in that they may need the game time.

Tiger Ted

I rate all of our outside backs including Skelton who I can't see making the team this week but Makasini is going to be our biggest target.
Except for Taylan May I can’t be too optimistic re ranking any of our backs just yet.Bula is a soft C who displays zero urgency especially in defence & positional play.Toa is over-rated & is a piss-weak defender who has 1 great game followed by 10 dud games.Turuva didn’t replicate his Penrith form playing for us last yr albeit he played outside an elite backline led by the sublime Cleary as opposed to the lemons at Concord.Luai has been a massive disappointment & we desperately need the big shot wanka to start earning his ridiculously generous salary.AD is hot & cold plus injury prone & he isn’t a half backs arsehole.Latu seems to be made of glass & hence is forever unavailable due to injury so it’s impossible to make an observation on his play making ability.Skelton is another dumb defender who laterally moves like an ocean liner.M is a kid with undoubted potential & can’t make a judgement on him until he has at least played half a season in the top grade.

Apparently Toa hasnt been at training for a week now. I really dont know why we kept this bloke, can be great when fit but that seems like its pretty rare these days. The best option would be to move Taylan to the right, Makasani left centre and Skelton on the wing. Its a shame Luke Lauilili is going next year as he'd be great there too.

Nutz

Random question. For the two guys on the bench that DONT play, are they allowed to play lower grades?

If we keep picking the same 2 blokes to sit on a bench that don't play it could really hurt their development if they cant play any football?
He can but the logistical reasons Tiger05 was saying is right.
While possible, playing in the lower grade depends on whether the NSW/QLD Cup match is played after the NRL game, or at a nearby location. If the Cup game is scheduled before the NRL game, the player may not be able to participate.

No Restrictions: If they are not activated as a concussion sub, they are generally free to play for their club’s feeder team

In summary, if the player remains on the bench for the entire NRL game, they are eligible to play in the state leagues that weekend.

Quoted SMH

Nutz

This sorta backs up your post @Tigerm earlier about 2 players missing out.
The fact that a coach can keep them just in case there are injuries to key players. That's why I reckon Madden would be great to cover several positions and if he doesn't play at all he can go and kill em in reserve grade providing the prementioned criteria is met.
The NRL are saying that utitility players won't be needed as much now, well I disagree as in Maddens case???

Except for Taylan May I can’t be too optimistic re ranking any of our backs just yet.Bula is a soft C who displays zero urgency especially in defence & positional play.Toa is over-rated & is a piss-weak defender who has 1 great game followed by 10 dud games.Turuva didn’t replicate his Penrith form playing for us last yr albeit he played outside an elite backline led by the sublime Cleary as opposed to the lemons at Concord.Luai has been a massive disappointment & we desperately need the big shot wanka to start earning his ridiculously generous salary.AD is hot & cold plus injury prone & he isn’t a half backs arsehole.Latu seems to be made of glass & hence is forever unavailable due to injury so it’s impossible to make an observation on his play making ability.Skelton is another dumb defender who laterally moves like an ocean liner.M is a kid with undoubted potential & can’t make a judgement on him until he has at least played half a season in the top grade.

I love your posts Ted. I think you are overly pessimistic but I can see your point.

Apparently Toa hasnt been at training for a week now. I really dont know why we kept this bloke, can be great when fit but that seems like its pretty rare these days. The best option would be to move Taylan to the right, Makasani left centre and Skelton on the wing. Its a shame Luke Lauilili is going next year as he'd be great there too.

I rate To'a. I think when he is on he is awesome. The problem is that he is injured way too often.

I wish we'd kept Luke as well but I also thought we should have kept Junior Tupou.

Ron's_Mate

Tigers set to name 18-year-old sensation for first start after To’a injury
By Billie Eder, Dan Walsh and Tom Decent
Updated March 10, 2026 — 1.30pmfirst published March 8, 2026 — 1.30pm

Rising star Heamasi Makasini is poised to start for the Wests Tigers in their NRL season opener against the Cowboys on Saturday, with centre Starford To’a expected to be ruled out through injury for the next two weeks.

Makasini trained at left centre on Tuesday, while To’a trained separately from the group. The Tigers have not yet confirmed the exact nature of Toa’s injury, but it opens the door for Makasini to earn a spot in the Tigers’ starting 13 when the team is named on Tuesday afternoon.

The 18-year-old impressed in pre-season, scoring a hat trick in the Tigers’ 42-26 victory over the Roosters. Makasini made his NRL debut in the final game of last season and has made a big impression on senior players at the club.

“He’s an awesome talent,” captain Jarome Luai said. “I don’t have to say that again and again, you guys have seen what he can do, and I think the challenge for him now is be consistent with it.

“It’s a long year of footy. Very physical. You’ve got to tackle big bodies all year, so just giving him pointers and really making the reps count out here throughout the week will hold you in good stead on game day.”

Luai said Makasini would need to fight to retain his spot in the team. The Tigers have arguably more strength in depth in their squad this year than at any point in the last three seasons.

Benji Marshall’s side will be desperate to kick off their campaign with a victory over the Cowboys at Leichhardt Oval, having had the bye in the opening round of the season.

The Tigers have not played finals football since 2011, but Luai was confident they have the capability to return to the play-offs after a 15-year absence.

“I have that belief every year,” Luai said. “I think if you don’t have that coming into a year, you’re here for the wrong reasons.

“But I think across the whole team we’ve got a pretty cool vibe about it, and I think everyone’s real confident. But that confidence just comes from the work and the hard yakka that we’ve been doing all year. Trust in our work and it will pay.”

He can but the logistical reasons Tiger05 was saying is right.
While possible, playing in the lower grade depends on whether the NSW/QLD Cup match is played after the NRL game, or at a nearby location. If the Cup game is scheduled before the NRL game, the player may not be able to participate.

No Restrictions: If they are not activated as a concussion sub, they are generally free to play for their club’s feeder team

In summary, if the player remains on the bench for the entire NRL game, they are eligible to play in the state leagues that weekend.

Quoted SMH
This scenario doesnt work well for us at all this year...maybe 3 or 4 occasions i think NRL is played prior to reggies

I don't think they are using smoke screens. I think Makasini was always going to play. He just will probably move to left centre and Luke will play left wing.

To'a is injured again and he misses out and May moves to the right. We'll find out in a couple of hours.

I don't think we lose too much but it makes that left side a little vulnerable especially defensively.

Tiger Ted

I love your posts Ted. I think you are overly pessimistic but I can see your point.

I rate To'a. I think when he is on he is awesome. The problem is that he is injured way too often.

I wish we'd kept Luke as well but I also thought we should have kept Junior Tupou.
Luke is 1 kid we should’ve kept.Hes a tough little bugger who punches way above his weight.If he was as tall as the overpaid peaheart Bula he’d be a world beater

Tiger Ted

K

It’s extremely difficult being optimistic with this rabble who have bundied off in late August 14 yrs in succession & collected a hat trick of spoons along the way.

Wests Tigers Team List: Round 2 vs Cowboys

1. Jahream Bula – sponsored by RetroAir
2. Sunia Turuva – sponsored by Endacom
3. Taylan May – sponsored by APN Compounding
4. Heamasi Makasini – sponsored by Gavmanak
5. Luke Laulilii – sponsored by Ellis Consolidated
6. Jarome Luai (c) – sponsored by Exclusive Estate Agents
7. Adam Douiehi – sponsored by Shane's Waterproofing
8. Terrell May – sponsored by One World Courier
9. Api Koroisau (c) – sponsored by Mars Forklifts