Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Match Discussion: Round 2 vs Titans @ McDonald Jones Stadium

Who will win? Round 2: Knights v Titans

• Gold Coast Titans 1-12

• Gold Coast Titans 13+

Knight76

If you mean being at the ground. Are you referring to what people were saying around you?

A lot of emotion built up around this game, 1st home game, in the game the whole way but swapping leads. A bit of anticipation/worry that we would fall away and they would score two in a row for game over.

Coming back to get in front with 10 to go and an incredible surge in support.

Desperation to finally get a win I guess.

Were you getting a lot of negativity around you?

Pedge1971

If you mean being at the ground. Are you referring to what people were saying around you?

A lot of emotion built up around this game, 1st home game, in the game the whole way but swapping leads. A bit of anticipation/worry that we would fall away and they would score two in a row for game over.

Coming back to get in front with 10 to go and an incredible surge in support.

Desperation to finally get a win I guess.

Were you getting a lot of negativity around you?

No mate, apologies. I meant on this forum. I think we all got frustrated at points yesterday about our inability to put them away despite long periods of dominance.

But last year we could not even compete with these blokes.

Knight76

Ah, yeah I get that. I came home from the game and read back through the thread comments on the game as we went through. A lot of negative comments, funny to read as I knew the result then of course.

But I get the frustration, we lost 19 games in a row and honestly there were periods in this game at the ground where the entire crowd was silenced I'm sure convinced we were done.

Zoidberg

There were just a few moments of the players slacking off and it costing us hugely and that's what frustrates me and I'm sure many others.
-The being 1m offside on a kick that had our try disallowed
- the try they got from a kick (where Hayne got injured) that could've been caught by us pretty easily.
- another try to them where it went through heaps of passes where we could've moved up and cut the play off
- knock on at lock from a scrum win
Simple things that can be fixed with effort that almost cost us the game. We need to be onto those things.

Knight76

- another try to them where it went through heaps of passes where we could've moved up and cut the play off
- knock on at lock from a scrum win
Simple things that can be fixed with effort that almost cost us the game. We need to be onto those things.

That hundred pass try should never have been allowed that far. Blatant forward pass right in front of us, touchy right there, no call. The crowd on this side were giving it to the touchy something fierce.

As for the knock on at lock. Mistakes are going to happen. We only failed to complete 5 sets from 34 I think it was, the titans failed to complete 9 from 30. Your never going to eradicate every drop ball and error from the team. More importantly is how we respond to them.

Frederick

That hundred pass try should never have been allowed that far. Blatant forward pass right in front of us, touchy right there, no call. The crowd on this side were giving it to the touchy something fierce.

As for the knock on at lock. Mistakes are going to happen. We only failed to complete 5 sets from 34 I think it was, the titans failed to complete 9 from 30. Your never going to eradicate every drop ball and error from the team. More importantly is how we respond to them.

4 errors in 34 sets. 88% completion rate. 7 line breaks to 1. More tackles, less missed tackles.

Plenty to be happy about there.

IMG_2114.PNG

Pretty sure most of those errors came in that 15-20 minute period before half time, too. Certainly in the first half, anyway. Fair play on those stats, I didn't notice during the match. A talented team will just about win every game they play completing at that rate. It's probably the bare minimum we need to compete at the moment, but it's the right place to start for sure. Good stuff.

Alex28

It's been a long time since we've completed sets anywhere near 88%. Hopefully they keep that up.

How many of the Titans tries came off the back of those mistakes, I wonder? It's one thing to make mistakes, as Knight76 said they are going to happen - but it's backing them up in the next defensive set or 2 that really gets you in a contest. We need to develop that mental fortitude - when another team gets their tail up we need to be able to lift and match them. That takes some leadership. Those are the moments where a big hit, a stripped ball or a line break can be the biggest play in the match.

I've said it already and JM summed it up too - the main thing we're lacking at the moment above all else is some class. We don't have any big moment players. Sione has been good this year... but to be honest I was hoping we would develop into this kind of player. It's hard on a kid to expect so much out of them, I guess that's what hype will do. Barnett looking the most likely at the moment, but he needs help.

Glendale

The scoreline flattered the Titans in the end. They got close due to some flukey/freakish tries. Did they actually score ANY try that wasn't like that?

We were the better side and deserved the victory. as those stats say.

Spot On

There's some serious improvement in this team yet to come. No, we may not have the class players of other sides but the ceiling for a lot of these blokes is way off. Add Ponga and few other classy types and we will be more than competitive for many years to come. Now, where do we get these class players from??? Jack Bird would be a nice addition. Kid is a freak.

Hopefully we can begin to avoid the usual shit storm that seems to hit annually. Let's hope after the Mullo mess is over (God knows how long that will take) we can have a long run of zero dramas with players, coaches and admin.

The elephant in the room is probably the ownership issue. It could all come together for the club if that was sorted and viable over the long term.

I also hope it all works out for Nathan Brown. Atm I love the bloke. He's done everything right so far re the salary cap fiasco left by former coaches and managers. Player retention and recruitment has been very good considering the issues he faced upon arrival. I hope he can continue to steer the shit heap in the right direction. Will be an effing legend for all time if he can.

Rudderriffic

I've said it already and JM summed it up too - the main thing we're lacking at the moment above all else is some class. We don't have any big moment players. Sione has been good this year... but to be honest I was hoping we would develop into this kind of player. It's hard on a kid to expect so much out of them, I guess that's what hype will do. Barnett looking the most likely at the moment, but he needs help.

+1 For Barnett, excited by his development. Ross also fits the mold, that attempt at the one on one steal reminded me of Mad Dog doing the same back in the day.

Would love to see Brock and/or Danny deveolp this kind of quality.

Another thing from yesterday that was great - every player did a lap. And everyone that I heard speak thanked the fans for coming out. Gags, Ross & Hokko were only half way around the field 30 minutes after fulltime.

Zoidberg

Gagai has been good in both games so far this year I think. He's made some good runs even though it seems we are favouring Pete and Ross' side. Probably the best thing I can say is that I haven't noticed his defence, which means he has been doing his job. In fact, I think defensively we have been pretty solid even though we've let in 5 tries for each game I don't remember them being from poor defence, more like good/lucky plays from the opponents or kicks.

Knight76

Another thing from yesterday that was great - every player did a lap. And everyone that I heard speak thanked the fans for coming out. Gags, Ross & Hokko were only half way around the field 30 minutes after fulltime.

Yep, and they need to keep that up. I think that was the first time I've seen Hodkinson down at the fences after the game signing stuff, at least away from the western side grandstand. Unfortunately Hodkinson only got around to half way down the Northern hill fence line before being called back to the sheds, probably for the presser.

Same, all the players thanking fans for staying strong.

Glendale

Should have won by 20 based on those stats. If only we didn't have a fence post as a halfback.

I reckon the criticism of Hodkinson after that one is harsh. Thought he had one of his best games for us.

We would have infact won by 20 if you take out all the bullsh*t tries the Titans somehow managed to score. We were the better team and Hodko contributed to that.

Caped Crusader

Gagai has been good in both games so far this year I think. He's made some good runs even though it seems we are favouring Pete and Ross' side. Probably the best thing I can say is that I haven't noticed his defence, which means he has been doing his job. In fact, I think defensively we have been pretty solid even though we've let in 5 tries for each game I don't remember them being from poor defence, more like good/lucky plays from the opponents or kicks.
Gagai f**ked up badly on the try where Tyrone Roberts put him at 6s and 7s off the scrum. That was an awful defencive read

Apey

Hodko is a pot plant out there. If that game earns him a pass that might be our last win for the year.