Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Match Discussion: Round 5 vs Parramatta @ CommBank Stadium, Parramatta / Burramattagal

Who will win? Round 5: Parramatta v Wests Tigers

• Parramatta Eels 13+

Votes: 2 33.3%
  • Parramatta Eels 1-12

Votes: 1 16.7%

• Wests Tigers 1-12

Votes: 1 16.7%
  • Wests Tigers 13+

Votes: 2 33.3%

Nutz

This is a risky game for us. Parra are fielding a decent team. We have always been inconsistent.
Agree. These are the sort of games that we could or should win which traditionally have been our Achilles Heel for not making the finals.
I was thinking last night that if we continue to sort out our team and roster, especially with distractions or injuries, that if we do make the finals, we could actually go all the way.
If this is the case, we should try and aim to make the 4 to give us two bites of the cherry.

Nutz

Yrs I saw that, but his named and playing so see how we go, at the end of the day tigers are making some strides, I don’t like the likes of Benji and his former mate Robbie (the mean boys) think they were the coaches worst nightmare , and dressing room bullies evoking segregation and shit results, but he has had done well attracting some talent and doing okay so far, though still early days, whilst Parra are again stalling, though injuries don’t help, but not an excuse
Not all players make good coaches or vice versa.
Runs on the board at the end of the season is what matters. We should judge Benji at seasons end.
I rate Craig Bellamy as the GOAT coach of the NRL era as far as getting his team into the finals. He's never missed one.
It's his roster, his suport staff, and it's his way or the highway.
You could argue about the 2 book scandal and not winning enough GFs for the amount of chances he's had and with the champions he had, but his finals record is enormous regardless.
Imo, he was an average winger at Canberra.
If you looked into it, there would be heaps of average coaches who were awesome players too.

I've been saying for years that if we are to make the finals we need to have a run at some point in the season where we string multiple wins (3 or more, preferably more) together. We must break the hoodoo going back to early 2018.

Parra's pack is decimated by injuries, and after running over the Warriors pack last week we should have no trouble doing the same this week. But this has been the issue forever. Things that should be no trouble turn out to be insurmountable hurdles.

We need to get off to a better start this week.

If you're looking on form, we've conceded 50 points in three games, Eels have given away 152 in four. I'd back our defence to hold the Eels to a couple of tries.

We should split them apart, however 15 years of TTSD (Tigers Traumatic Stress Disorder,) will always give me pause to say that it's a foregone conclusion.

chunk

I've been saying for years that if we are to make the finals we need to have a run at some point in the season where we string multiple wins (3 or more, preferably more) together. We must break the hoodoo going back to early 2018.

Parra's pack is decimated by injuries, and after running over the Warriors pack last week we should have no trouble doing the same this week. But this has been the issue forever. Things that should be no trouble turn out to be insurmountable hurdles.

We need to get off to a better start this week.

Is it going too far to say, it's a 'must win' game if we are to make the semi's rather then 10th?

Not all players make good coaches or vice versa.
Runs on the board at the end of the season is what matters. We should judge Benji at seasons end.
I rate Craig Bellamy as the GOAT coach of the NRL era as far as getting his team into the finals. He's never missed one.
It's his roster, his suport staff, and it's his way or the highway.
You could argue about the 2 book scandal and not winning enough GFs for the amount of chances he's had and with the champions he had, but his finals record is enormous regardless.
Imo, he was an average winger at Canberra.
If you looked into it, there would be heaps of average coaches who were awesome players too.
I rate Madge as well.
Has won 2 GF with 2 clubs.
Has won SOO.
Has won international honours with the Kiwi's.
His numbers here weren't good, but I don't think he had the support like Benji has?

If you're looking on form, we've conceded 50 points in three games, Eels have given away 152 in four. I'd back our defence to hold the Eels to a couple of tries.

We should split them apart, however 15 years of TTSD (Tigers Traumatic Stress Disorder,) will always give me pause to say that it's a foregone conclusion.
How do u work that out they scored 20 points against panthers and should have been more, but u think they can only score 2 tries against Wests, ur defence is nothing like the panthers, I think we’ll score a lot more than 2 tries, not meaning a win, but a lot more than 2

glockers

Yes I understand, I’ve heard that before…..and ? u seem to be a bit of a dick, ur team is going well, as I said though ur only a month in and you’ve already creamed ur jatz, in saying that this week is a game u should win well if ur going to do anything this season
Stay in your feelings, and keep resorting to personal attacks. It may even make you feel better about yourself and your team.

glockers

Ignoring the angry Parra troll.

This really comes down to our young outside backs. If Parra can exploit them then they can get some points. Otherwise our defence has looked really strong this year. Moses though is classy enough to try to exploit Makasini in defence.

On the other end, hopefully last week sorted out our attack and we know how to turn possession into points. I'm hopeful as the Parra defence is atrocious and should be something we can score on.

I rate Madge as well.
Has won 2 GF with 2 clubs.
Has won SOO.
Has won international honours with the Kiwi's.
His numbers here weren't good, but I don't think he had the support like Benji has?
You can also add an English Super League title in if you want.

Great coach at going into an already strong team and getting the W on GF day. Maybe not so great at building a team from the ground up. Although if he gets another chance who knows? The curse of the tigers has struck down many a coach.

How do u work that out they scored 20 points against panthers and should have been more, but u think they can only score 2 tries against Wests, ur defence is nothing like the panthers, I think we’ll score a lot more than 2 tries, not meaning a win, but a lot more than 2
How do I work it out? We held the wahs to three tries and Parra is nowhere near as good as them.

WA Tiger

PTTSD

WA Tiger

Great coach at going into an already strong team and getting the W on GF day. Maybe not so great at building a team from the ground up. Although if he gets another chance who knows? The curse of the tigers has struck down many a coach.
Would you guys like Madge back since he’s so great

You still have to get the job done though.
yes I forgot about the pommy success.
I'm just saying his numbers are impressive, better than every other coach as far as I can remember.
I'm certainly not knocking Bellamy or Bennett, but I don't think they have had the varied success of winning finals, that Madge has had.

You still have to get the job done though.
yes I forgot about the pommy success.
I'm just saying his numbers are impressive, better than every other coach as far as I can remember.
I'm certainly not knocking Bellamy or Bennett, but I don't think they have had the varied success of winning finals, that Madge has had.
I reckon he'll be the first coach to win an NRL comp at 3 different clubs before his time is over. He'll be in heavy demand from clubs like cronulla who are perennial top 4 without winning one. Not saying that they're on the phone to him now, just that when his time in brisvegas comes to end, that's the type of team who'll come knocking

Nutz

I reckon he'll be the first coach to win an NRL comp at 3 different clubs
Or sacked from 3 different clubs 😂
Madge coaches good rosters.
Souths, Wigan, and Brisbane were oozing international and SOO players.
Seriously, look at Broncos roster led by Haas...too many others to name.
Souths had an inspirational leader who played with a smashed face.
That grand final team included Greg Inglis, Ben Te’o and Chris McQueen, plus other rep-level names such as Sam Burgess, George Burgess, Thomas Burgess, Adam Reynolds and Dylan Walker. The rest weren't nobody's. Alex Johnson, Luke Kearey, Apisai Koroisau.

With Wigan during Maguire’s tenure (2010–2011), he had several rep players. Sam Tomkins and Sean O’Loughlin, Darrell Goulding, and Stuart Fielden named for England, with Thomas Leuluai in the Kiwis squad. The best roster in the comp and Mickey Mouse could have coached them to a GF win.
Bellamy turns nobody's into good players. Cronk debuted under bellyache me finks.
Even that big log Stefano Utoikamanu is starting to play better. He builds rosters that he know he can work with. Madge to his credit is like a foreman who comes to the worksite to cut the crap out.
If someone talks up bellamy it's for his club coaching record, if someone talks up madge its his gf success.
Each has his own merits.