Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

match talk v Dragons

Forty20

The positives out of tonight...

• Oake filled in nicely with some good carries and desperation when the pigskin was in the mud
  • Horo proved his worth as a starter with a good work rate and penetration
  • Poore and Mannah once again out playing Fui* and Cayless. Poore was massive.
  • *Fui looked 100% better than last week and played ok
  • Hayne's defensive positioning is improving and there was barely any saints long kicks on the carpet plus he put his body on the line to save a try or two.
  • Mortimer upgraded his peashooter of a long kicking leg to a bb gun and actually found grass

Now for the bad...

• Barring a horror injury toll, Inu should nurse his cement legs in NSW Cup for the rest of the season. He was outrun by Ben Hornby for f**ks sakes. Left Hayne with no chance.
  • Tahu needs to cool his burning passion to score off EVERY FIRST TACKLE INSIDE THE 20M
  • Wright was poor but I will reserve laying into him pending his next two or so outings.
  • Matt Keating is to be banned from kicking the ball ever. His 5th tackle kicks are woeful.
  • Our halves aren't working. Keating suffocates the outside backs and simply runs at the line while mortimer telegraphs his running options too easily. Currently I'm leaning to a Mortimer/Humble combination but what else is there?

The teams needs more of Tom Humble in either the halves or on the bench to come out and try to spark something.

Horo is also making a damn good case to bench feleti once more while one of Poore or Mannah needs to be started ASAP so we don't get rolled from the first sets 50m-v-30m :?

After all that? Well it's rainbows and sparkles. Rainbows and f**king sparkles my friends.

Since INU has announced he is leaving he has just gone to pieces, that should be the last game he plays for Parra. Very sad i've always stuck up for him but tonight was the last straw. That chase on Hornby summed him up to a tee.

The positives out of tonight...

• Oake filled in nicely with some good carries and desperation when the pigskin was in the mud
  • Horo proved his worth as a starter with a good work rate and penetration
  • Poore and Mannah once again out playing Fui* and Cayless. Poore was massive.
  • *Fui looked 100% better than last week and played ok
  • Hayne's defensive positioning is improving and there was barely any saints long kicks on the carpet plus he put his body on the line to save a try or two.
  • Mortimer upgraded his peashooter of a long kicking leg to a bb gun and actually found grass
Now for the bad...

• Barring a horror injury toll, Inu should nurse his cement legs in NSW Cup for the rest of the season. He was outrun by Ben Hornby for f**ks sakes. Left Hayne with no chance.
  • Tahu needs to cool his burning passion to score off EVERY FIRST TACKLE INSIDE THE 20M
  • Wright was poor but I will reserve laying into him pending his next two or so outings.
  • Matt Keating is to be banned from kicking the ball ever. His 5th tackle kicks are woeful.
  • Our halves aren't working. Keating suffocates the outside backs and simply runs at the line while mortimer telegraphs his running options too easily. Currently I'm leaning to a Mortimer/Humble combination but what else is there?
The teams needs more of Tom Humble in either the halves or on the bench to come out and try to spark something.

Horo is also making a damn good case to bench feleti once more while one of Poore or Mannah needs to be started ASAP so we don't get rolled from the first sets 50m-v-30m :?

After all that? Well it's rainbows and sparkles. Rainbows and f**king sparkles my friends.
Great post.

Am I the only one that thinks that some people need to get over the Mannah love in? I agree he played ok tonight, but also gave away a couple of soft penalties, which gave them easy piggy backs?

I'm not giving anyone votes after tonight, cause I don't think anyone really stood out. Although, I do think Poore is much better now than he was earlier in the season.

I expect to get bagged for my comment, but, it's just the way I feel. (completely deflated)

Since INU has announced he is leaving he has just gone to pieces, that should be the last game he plays for Parra. Vry sad i've always stuck up for him but tonight was the last straw. That chase on Hornby summed him up to a tee.
if i were the warriors i would be asking if there is a cooling off period on his contract i know bad players can come good with a change of scenery but ivan cleary certainly has his work cut out for him

cirque

Am I the only one that thinks that some people need to get over the Mannah love in? I agree he played ok tonight, but also gave away a couple of soft penalties, which gave them easy piggy backs?

I expect to get bagged fir my comment, but, it's just the way I feel. (completely deflated)
+1
But Mannah was the only one switched on....I felt

Maroubra Eel

funny sh*t maroub
maybe if we have these guys my 2 year old will sit and watch the game instead of running around the lounge room throwing sh*t around during the game

Don't talk to me about 2 year olds. I have a 2 year old son and he is trouble! I also have an 8 month old son who is an angel. They keep me busy.

jk13

someone contact brent tates neck guard manufacturer right now and order a sterum guard for hindy.

benoir91

We are back to square one
No supporting up the middle so no offloads so no points

The loss to the sharks has really dented our momentum and enthusiasm
Long road back now

Forty20

I'm not giving anyone votes after tonight, cause I don't think anyone really stood out. Although, I do think Poore is much better now than he was earlier in the season.

I expect to get bagged for my comment, but, it's just the way I feel. (completely deflated)

I can see where you are coming from and you certainly are validated in the soft penalties he can give away. The flipside is that he never goes backwards and is always pushing beyond the advantage line, which in a pack that is getting caught flat makes him look like a legend.

He still has room for huge improvement in his game and you know what? That makes me really happy.

Eelogical

This goes back to last week. The need to back up the win over Manly should have been paramount, yet they lost the unloseable game against the gummies. That should never have happened FFS. I am pretty sure most Eels supporters didn't expect to beat the Dragons tonight, mainly based on that loss last week. DA seems to fly under the radar here, almost to the point of being untoucheable. Well, the knives will come out soon looking for his scalp if things go pearshaped against the cheaters. Us supporters are fickle, but we pay the money to watch our team so we have some right to have a bitch. Tonights effort was totally unacceptable IMO....no ifs or buts. The season is quickly slipping away and apart from a brief period of promising form there has not been much to make me sleep contented. DA.........time to earn you $$$

fish eel

This goes back to last week. The need to back up the win over Manly should have been paramount, yet they lost the unloseable game against the gummies. That should never have happened FFS. I am pretty sure most Eels supporters didn't expect to beat the Dragons tonight, mainly based on that loss last week. DA seems to fly under the radar here, almost to the point of being untoucheable. Well, the knives will come out soon looking for his scalp if things go pearshaped against the cheaters. Us supporters are fickle, but we pay the money to watch our team so we have some right to have a bitch. Tonights effort was totally unacceptable IMO....no ifs or buts. The season is quickly slipping away and apart from a brief period of promising form there has not been much to make me sleep contented. DA.........time to earn you $$$

Anderson has got some points in the bank from the GF, but if we're fair dinkum, most of last year and this year we've been dreadful under him. We've gone backwards since last season and yeah, Anderson has t change things up because it's just not working this year.

I reckon we've played what.....only 2 good 80 minutes this year.

there have to be changes next week inu can go for starters and id bring humble into the halves we have no direction in attack whatsoever at the moment

eels bloke

I'm not concerned about that performance whatsoever, we had an off night, drags had a decent one. No big deal. Parra gave it all they had, no lack of trying hard, maybe concentration and combinations went astray and timing was not quiet there, but that happens from time to time. Most of all, can't wait for the GF repaly next Friday, bring it on. Get out to the game if you can make it.

can i also add, irrespective of the fact we got touched up in the end, that was quite possibly THE MOST BORING first half of footy I have seen in god knows how long ... if not for one terrible defensive read from us it probably would have been 0-0 at half time

seemed like neither team had a frinkin ounce of energy .... dull dull dull dull

its probably a good thing we rolled over in the 2nd half and helped give the game a bit of action - cos otherwise the crowd may have all fallen asleep

fish eel

I'm not concerned about that performance whatsoever, we had an off night, drags had a decent one. No big deal. Parra gave it all they had, no lack of trying hard, maybe concentration and combinations went astray and timing was not quiet there, but that happens from time to time. Most of all, can't wait for the GF repaly next Friday, bring it on. Get out to the game if you can make it.

you're not at all concerned that it reflects what has been happening for a good part of the season?

yy_cheng

the drags were crap. Gave us many chances in their half but we would stuff up in the first play.

They only got a roll on because we gave up.

Eelogical

My dissection of the game. Parra seemed to be playing in slow motion. The play the balls were shockingly slow. Morts was mainly catching and passing...and a garanteed inside ball within the set. Creativety was almost non existent and the whole team looked well........flat. There can't be any excuses, the Dragons had 6 playing SOO, we had 2. Late withrawal of Hindy?...maybe, but I doubt he would have made much difference to that kindergarten performance. Hook Inu?..totally agree. Bring Humble in?......agree as well. I would much rather see new things being tried than slide into obscurity from doing FA.