Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Michael Gordon

Click2000

2 things - Do you guys think he should be handed the kicking duties next year ? Maybe take a bit of pressure of Carney ?

Also what is his best position ?

Do we play Gardner at fullback with Gordon in the centres or Gordon at fullback and Gardner in reserve grade ?

Madsharkie

Yeah Gordon can bang them over from all over the park. Put Gordon in fullback to start, I think he's by far our best option there. If he gets anywhere near is form from last season he'll be a gun.
Sorry Gards, you can fight it out for a wing spot IMO.

Click2000

Mate there is no way in the world Gardner could play on the wing with how short he is.... Can you imagine the cross field kicks with 6 foot plus flying wingers sailing over the top of him!!

And yes i thought Gordon was at 90% accuracy at some point one of the best kickers in the comp?

azzah72

Gordon should kick, I think for gardener it's fullback or nothing.

Unless perhaps they try and turn him into an off the bench utility of some sort.

Inferno

Unless his mojo is the ability to play thrice as good as anything he showed this year, he shouldn't play FG in 2013.

Snoop Shark

It feels like a very long time since gards has played decent footy.

So it's only fair he comes back from rehab in reggies

He only got a handful of games at centre for us, he just never had the talent to get picked ahead of Purtell or Tighe

chewsta

What's the reason behind that Umina? I don't recall seeing him play a game In the centres for u guys, so can't really comment, was it because he wasn't suited to centres or his ability to play a few positions in the backline that always saw him pushed to the wing or just poor choices by the coach?

Personally I would have always had an injury free Gordon in front of any one of Purtell, Tigh and Coote in all of their favoured positions.

The reason is Elliott imo horrible coach. Gordon came down from the QLD cup as a centre but got his shot with us on the wing to start with (like most backs do).
He is a very very good winger but its such a waste of his talent. In 2010 when Coote was killing it at fullback Gordon should of been centre but as soon as Flash played fullback he went to another level and that's his spot now

chewsta

Cheers mate, I thought as much. Looking forward to this bloke running around as a sharky.
All my mates are Panther fans & they were as gutted losing Flash as they were later on with losing Lewis.

Weaponhead

Gordon is a footballer with great instincts. He isn't the quickest or the strongest but he is quality.

He would be a more secure fullback that Gardner and his support play is far superior.

If we don't recruit another centre, there is an argument to play Gordon at centre and Gardner at fullback. I reckon you have to put your best possible fullback in the 1 jersey. The position is too important.

Even though Matt Wright was courageous and tough this season, we lost so much attacking threat by not having a top level fullback.

Matt Wright played 21 games, scored 1 try, 1 try assist and made 5 line breaks, 1 line break assist (0 line breaks in last 7 games of the season) and 15 errors (10 error free games)

Michael Gordon played 7 games, scored 1 try, 1 try assist and made 7 line breaks, 2 line break assists and 10 errors

Nathan Gardner played 6 games, scored 1 try, 0 try assists and made 4 line breaks, 1 line break assist and 11 errors (no error free games in 2012)

Madsharkie

Interesting stats Weaponhead.
The only one really in Wrights favour is his safety (lack of errors). Gordon is also yet to be back at his best, but did show a couple of glimpses after his comeback.
How long till the footy starts now? :eek:

AB129*

As I've posted elsewhere, I'm keen for Mills to get a run in the centres. He's our best centre prospect in years, he's got the build and pedigree and coming in to an experienced group like Carney, Lewis and Ryan would be the perfect learning environment.

Thing is, we need a left centre, and Mills is a right-side player. Which is where Pom plays.

Could Pom shift back over to the left? Which is his natural side? I remember he gave the fireupbitchman a bath playing on the left one day. His offload and hole-running would suit Graham's game too.

That would leave Gordon at fullback, with Beau and Johnno W on the wings.

Madsharkie

Drag pom to the left if it means Mills gets a start. I don't think pom has a 'natural' side lol :0

Gordon is a footballer with great instincts. He isn't the quickest or the strongest but he is quality.

He would be a more secure fullback that Gardner and his support play is far superior.

If we don't recruit another centre, there is an argument to play Gordon at centre and Gardner at fullback. I reckon you have to put your best possible fullback in the 1 jersey. The position is too important.

Even though Matt Wright was courageous and tough this season, we lost so much attacking threat by not having a top level fullback.

Matt Wright played 21 games, scored 1 try, 1 try assist and made 5 line breaks, 1 line break assist (0 line breaks in last 7 games of the season) and 15 errors (10 error free games)

Michael Gordon played 7 games, scored 1 try, 1 try assist and made 7 line breaks, 2 line break assists and 10 errors

Nathan Gardner played 6 games, scored 1 try, 0 try assists and made 4 line breaks, 1 line break assist and 11 errors (no error free games in 2012)

This is not a save M Wright post. I would add to the stats though that Wright excelled in one area and this is compared to the top 4 fullbacks. He averaged very close to 150 metres a game. That is a good platform for the attack to start from.

M Gordon is my first choice fullback for now, 6 months out from a game. I would even invent a centre - Bakuya or the like if I had to. My first choice centre to partner Pom would also be Mills because as I said years ago when he emerged he is one out of the box. Just needs a fair go from the injury gods.

Gardner - I would list him on eBay. In the section where the other Sharks gnomes are.

Snoop Shark

It's obvious we are still a centre short despite our solid recruitment.

Something tells me Beau was not bought for the wing and I believe Flanno will give him first crack at centre. Flash at the back with Jono on the wing will leave the likes of mills, wright and stapo fighting out the last spot. I haven't forgot about Ricky but I do believe these established players will keep him out