Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Micky Vella

He is having a great year, Appears to have bulked up, taking the field 100% injury free is helping a lot too, especially for his confidence.
Has shown some selective ball skills to boot.

Another solid game against the broncos, and I reckon an Origin call up aint that crazy an idea. His clash with Webke will be awesome. I reckon a lot of wether we win or lose is up to him. With Cannings and Cayless back soon, our pack will get better over the next few weeks

Give it to em Mick ;-)

he has to continue

a couple of good games wont get his contract renewed

keep going Micky, we need you to show us your best

Pazza

He is running the ball up hard but i would still like to see him dominate in the tackles more often.

Hurriflatch

Has been very good in the last couple of weeks.

Great chase on Donald last game.

He needs a big game tonight tho

Micky V has been great.

Why?

I think it's because he has been largely injury-free this year.

He was out for a game or two after we beat Manly at Brookvale, but this has been a good year for him.

All you need to do is look at last week - he got his head ripped off by a disgusting high shot by Kylie, stayed down (as most mere mortals would) but then got right back up and kept playing.

Champ.

Gee I'd love to see us give it to a good team....flogging Manly was good - but if we beat the Broncos well, that'd really be an accomplishment

Forum Idiot

i rate him 6.5 out of 10. why? even though he has definately put on some beef his new strength doesnt translate onto the football field. i watch him closely and he gets knocked around alot more than other props do. he doesnt use his legs as well as he should after contact. having said that , he has improved on last year but he could do with alot more improvement.

Micky V has been frustrating to watch over the past few years.
He's big yet mobile but has done stuff all, injuries havent helped him and that's fair enough, but he seems to be putting in more this season.
He knows he is playing for a contract and is doing well at the moment and running hard. - True, He does get knocked around a bit though, but as long as he gets up and keeps going it's not too much of a massive worry.
I'd love to see Mick stay at Parra, but he's gotta show us some consistent form to do so.

Utey

Vella has really never played without a few niggling injuries, he adds spark to a really cumbersome at times pack but with injuries u cant play to your full potential which we are starting to see. I dont know if it would be smart to resign him but i wouldnt boject pending on how much he asks. Loyalty may prevail and see if he is truely blue and gold

I think he has been playing ok. However, he is nowhere near the form he is capable of. He has to be consistent and damaging when he runs the ball. I can't see an origin call-up in the near future unfortunately for him, he will have to show the selectors something special otherwise they'll blood younger guys, or blokes who regularly stand up at rep level.

The Godfather

Micky V is a master bludger that knows how to look good on TV.

There is a very big difference when you watch a game live and what you see on TV.

- Micky never goes in as the first man into a tackle. Usually goes in after the ball carrier is held and is going nowhere. On TV, it looks like he has a high workrate. Crap.
- After he comes in as second man, he always makes sure that he is one of the markers instead of getting back into the line. This leaves our smaller players to take on their props, while we waste a prop to watch the dummy half pass the ball.
- Very inconsistent. One good game, 12 average games.

If we do keep him, put him only on a 1 year performance based deal.

Seems to have been putting in good efforts after the team pizza night. Good on him, and I hope it continues all season. And if injuries have been Vella's undoing the past few years, then I hope he stays fit.

Though I'd be offering him a slightly reduced contract, as he's no longer the Australian/NSW rep player he once was. If he gets back to that (2001) form, then he can get the extra bickies.

The Godfather said:
Micky V is a master bludger that knows how to look good on TV.

There is a very big difference when you watch a game live and what you see on TV.

- Micky never goes in as the first man into a tackle. Usually goes in after the ball carrier is held and is going nowhere. On TV, it looks like he has a high workrate. Crap.
- After he comes in as second man, he always makes sure that he is one of the markers instead of getting back into the line. This leaves our smaller players to take on their props, while we waste a prop to watch the dummy half pass the ball.
- Very inconsistent. One good game, 12 average games.

If we do keep him, put him only on a 1 year performance based deal.

I gotta agree with everything Marlon Brando says here.

No kidding, I watched Vella last night, and I watched the best.....Webcke.

Fair dinkum, Webcke was going harder in the 75th minute than Vella was in the 5th.
Our money is being abused and we will be no worse off if we let him go.
Smith.............come on, bite the bullet.
I'm happy to see Vella successful elsewhere, but we have had three seasons of his nonsense now, with the odd decent effort thrown in.

It ain't good enough.

Adam Spadam

I dont agree at all...

If you watch the game live you see the kick chase better, hes always the first one down there, and more often then not the opposing player returning the ball will try to avoid him and run at someone else.

He put his body on the line when Webcke ran at him, he may have come off second best but at least he tried.

Week in week out he runs the ball harder and straighter than any other forward we have, hes not soft...he does all the hard stuff up the middle...combine that with the odd offload and it adds another dimension to our attack.

He's signed until the end of next year, and I hope he stays beyond.

I think the main issue with him is that he's tall and quite lanky.

He isn't built as solidly as, say, Mason.

So when we tackles a solid forward or hits it up, it looks as though he's getting hammered.