Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Minichello dumped from SOO squad

Tupac Shakur

NPK said:
Is Brett Howland in form?

He is actually injured at the moment. Daniel Russell is 18th man for the Panthers and travelled up to Townsville with them today. So there will have to be a reshuffle in the line-up.

ibeme

Saints had no choice but to suspend Gasnier 'indefinately', because they couldn't have played him after being suspended from rep footy, and they'd be waiting on the ARL's explanation as to whether he's suspended for the series or not before deciding on when he'll be back. My opinion anyway

DIEHARD

----
One thing is for sure, dropping players out of Origin is a harsh punishment, but thoroughly deserved. It's obvious that the ARL/NRL wont tolerate any bullshit.

It's heart breaking what certain players are putting the code through. We were just getting well over all that other hoo har earlier in the year, looking forward to a fantastic Origin series and Tri Nations tournament and these spastics have to do something stupid. Simply heart breaking.

Can we please kick Mason out of rugby league completely? :x He has to be the stupidest person in Australia, oh well what can you expect, he was born in New Zealand.

Bubbles

Can we please kick Mason out of rugby league completely? He has to be the stupidest person in Australia, oh well what can you expect, he was born in New Zealand.

Mate, that is the best insult to Kiwis I have ever heard :lol: :lol:

magpiemax

I certainly feel that no woman should be subjected to the behavior that some of the n.s.w SOO team have displayed recently.
Fair dinkum that Willie Mason is as thick as to planks for starters and Gasnier's IQ is'nt much better.But to kick out and make Minichiello a scapegoat is even worse.Surely he buckled under peer pressure and I assume he lent Gasnier his phone.
But of course Geoff Carr could not sustain pressure directed towards himself especially from Ray Hadley and as a result Mini's gone.Ray spoke nothing other than this incident on his talkback show today on 2GB.
But when you talk about bringing the game into disrepute well I dont think it's always just the player's.
Some sources of the media dont do a bad job themselves. :cry:

I'm a bit confused.

I thought that the phone call was made by Gasnier whilst inside the cab. But... the other three players in that cab were Mason, Waterhouse and O'Meley. Mini wasn't in the cab.

So he couldn't have been the second voice or present during the call, right??

ibeme

Mini was sacked for having the phone. All players were ordered not to have phones (go figure), and he had his. I guess the mentality is, if he didn't have his phone none of this would have happened. Mini denies being the second voice.

TRANSLATION

ibeme said:
Mini was sacked for having the phone. All players were ordered not to have phones (go figure), and he had his. I guess the mentality is, if he didn't have his phone none of this would have happened. Mini denies being the second voice.

Ibeme, I hop eyou dont think he was sacked because he took his mobile. :lol: :lol: :lol:

he got sacked because he told Gasnier which Sheila to ring. How did the 2nd Voice now that the Girl on Mini's phone was a blonde ?? :alcho:
There is more to it, than what his mangement would care to spill.
Obviously, as you would not get sacked for taking a phone for goodness sakes.

Stgillaman said:
ibeme said:

Ibeme, I hop eyou dont think he was sacked because he took his mobile. :lol: :lol: :lol:

he got sacked because he told Gasnier which Sheila to ring. How did the 2nd Voice now that the Girl on Mini's phone was a blonde ?? :alcho:
There is more to it, than what his mangement would care to spill.
Obviously, as you would not get sacked for taking a phone for goodness sakes.

Minichiello was sacked because he broke the team rule regarding mobile phones. But mostly because he sat there and lied to protect his team mate in Gasnier causing the ARL to release a statement that made them look stupid in front of the general public. He also made his club coach and coaching director look silly by having them go into bat for him all the while knowing his phone was not stolen or lost. Whether he knew anything else time will tell. But if he was to sacked for solely having his mobile in camp they would have done yesterday when they knew he must have had it because he told them he did. He wasn't the second voice on the phone message and that has already been established.

As for asking how did the 2nd voice know the girl was a blonde. A couple of ways.

1. He could have been bragging about her to his team mates all night.
2. Considering two of the players that got fined are 2 of his really good mates she might also have been known to them. But my money would be on scenario one most likely.

Razor

I thought that the phone call was made by Gasnier whilst inside the cab. But... the other three players in that cab were Mason, Waterhouse and O'Meley. Mini wasn't in the cab.

The call wasn't made from within a cab. They thought that, but now the ARL know that MiniC was with Gasnier when the call was made.

Kid

Queensland have half a dozen blokes involved in shit, only 1 gets the sack. NSW sacks 2, Mason lives to fight another day despite numerous offences throughout his career so far, the world of league has gone craaaaaazy!!!!!
I swear Masons' new name should be "the cat" cause he dead set has nine lives.

Still i must admit, in another thread i called these blokes the "dumbest people Christ ever put breath into" but i have to say this, if a player visits a brothel, goes to a club or goes for a swim at the beach, then really is it anyones business?????? The only issue is (apart from the msg on the phone) is that they broke the rules, not what they did or where they went, and i think it's about time the players are given just a tiny bit of respect.

These players are not the highest profile people to visit a brothel, they are not the first either, nor will they be the last. It is a sad reflection on society and the media in this City that they will try to dig up any tiny little thing that probably half of them have done at some stage in their life.

Big Mick

I agree with the other two sackings, but Willie Mason really brought the game into disrepute more.

The other acts were really acts of drunkeness so I will forgive those players, but Mason, That was bloody disgraceful.

He got fined the least for what was the worst offence. A poor child wanted his autograph and he thought i'll have a laugh and sign craig fitzgibbon's name, f**king wanker. Then he is swearing and drwaing doodles of body parts he wish he bloody had, because if he did he'd bloody fess up and walk out himself.

Razor said:

The call wasn't made from within a cab. They thought that, but now the ARL know that MiniC was with Gasnier when the call was made.

Anthony was seen colluding with Gasnier earlier in the evening. But when the call was made at 3.41am they know it wasn't from the cab. Gasnier said there was 4 toey human beings and that would be the 4 mentioned above. I don't think Mini was there when the call was made. But he knew what happened and lied to cover his arse and then lied to help cover his team mates and that is the real reason he has been sacked.

Minichiello was apparently seen in the vicinity of Gasnier at the time of the call, which was not made in a cab, but in front of the team hotel whilst all the players were waiting for a cab.
This, added to the fact that he shouldnt of had the phone in the first place, is the reason he has been dropped.

Minichiellos demeanour strikes me as that of someone who is holding his tounge to protect someone else. But thats just me

DJ1

Originally Mr Carr said he understood the call was made from the team hotel in Coogee but yesterday he admitted there was evidence to suggest it was made from within a taxi.

The Daily Telegraph understands that taxi was on its way to Kings Cross with four players - Gasnier, Minichiello, Waterhouse and Gower - inside. Another taxi contained Mason, O'Meley, Wing and an on-duty NSW team security guard.

Foxsports