Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Monday Night Football - stay or go?

The 18th Man

I think that was canned in the off-season :? There is a similar show on OneHD though. Someone might be able to confirm when it's on. Actually, it might be tonight. Sorry mate, can't help ya.

undertaker

It will be interesting to see what happens with the AFL having a Monday night game. Will it be on Foxtel or free-to-air? If AFL is on Foxtel, then NRL must be on FTA and vice-versa.

I'll have to find the link to the article somewhere, but I remember that when the AFL expanded to 18 teams, it was Channel 9 that offered to do a Monday Night game and broadcast it live nationally . I don't ever recall Foxtel offering to do Monday Night AFL, since they already have Monday Night NRL. Also, don't remember Ch7 or 10 offering to do it either

flippikat

personally, I don't like it.

I'm in NZ, so kickoff for MNF is 9 PM local time, games ending sometime between 10.30 and 11.00 pm.

Too late for a decent night's sleep. (I start work 8am)

Lambretta

keep it but only of the tv deal makes it worthwhile.

if they try and screw us with the deal, ditch it

Pretty much this

I personally am not a massive fan of MNF but if the game benefits from it financially in the form of television rights financing then I'd have to accept it.

Saturday afternoon football in Sydney is dead. There is far too much competition with other things and there is a good reason it was killed. OK, if it came back there would be a spike in attendance because of the novelty factor and afternoon football is usually better football - but from a television ratings point of view it would be fairly ordinary.

MNF gives excellent ratings and Foxtel is prepared to pay for that. At the end of the day - money talks.

Lambretta

personally, I don't like it.

I'm in NZ, so kickoff for MNF is 9 PM local time, games ending sometime between 10.30 and 11.00 pm.

Too late for a decent night's sleep. (I start work 8am)

Just out of interest, what time do you need to get up to get to work at 8am?
If the footy ends at 10.45, you're in bed by 11.15pm and then even if you get up at 5.30am you've had over 6 hours sleep. How many do you need?

PS Foxtel IQ - record Monday, watch on Tuesday when there is stuff all else on. Monday night should be reserved for the watching of Super League replays anyway :p

IanG

As a spectator I hate it.
Because I've been at work all day and then have to scramble to get to the game. Difference with Friday Night games is that it's the start of my weekend and I don't have to go to work the next day.

I think it's rather apparent that the punters want more Sunday Afternoon footy. No 2 ways about it especially in Sydney and Newcastle

Has anybody ever tried explaining why they want Monday Night footy to somebody from the Southern States at all?

Cumberland Throw

I like MNF.

Here are the reasons it will stay

Rates it's arse off (pay standard)
It is the biggest gambling turnover of the week
The crowds aren't that bad
The comp is only gonna need more time slots not less
With anti sipphoning changes it is worth a shot load for a tv network ie one to have a high rating prime time program
It goes off in the NFL

End rant

flippikat

Just out of interest, what time do you need to get up to get to work at 8am?
If the footy ends at 10.45, you're in bed by 11.15pm and then even if you get up at 5.30am you've had over 6 hours sleep. How many do you need?

PS Foxtel IQ - record Monday, watch on Tuesday when there is stuff all else on. Monday night should be reserved for the watching of Super League replays anyway :p

usually get up at 5 - 5:30 to be out the door at 6:30 for my train.. I try to operate on at least 7 hours sleep, preferably 7.5 or even 8.. So usually get to sleep between 9.30 and 10pm. (this reply is probably it for the night..)

MySky (as it is here) costs more, and I'd never get round to watching anything I tape.. Let alone a game that's bound to have it's score announced on radio the next morning. :)

I'll only watch monday night games if the match-up justifies it - either 2 top-4 teams, or a game with the Warriors playing in it. (thats my criteria) That doesn't happen too often, so I manage OK.

anything else, I'm happy to make-do with the highlights on the news tuesday night.

applesauce

I love it. MNF is way underrated. In my opinion, it's the best tv game of the round for a number of reasons

- it is the only game of the day, unlike Friday, Saturday and Sunday. So it has the complete attention of the RL community.
- there is virtually zero 'social' alternatives on a Monday night. Friday night and Saturday night games have competition from restaurants, bars, movies, weddings, bar mitzvahs whatever. On Monday it's just my Kitchen Rules or porn.
- the coverage by Fox is obscenely extensive. An hour pre-game, halftime panel, post-game panel, press conference etc etc. It's a feast. Again - not what you'd see with any other games of the weekend

Obviously the lower crowds are the major cost of MNF, but the NRL just needs to kick back a few extra dollars compensation to the home side and that should shut the CEO's up.

This!

BM1979

The only reason im not a fan of Monday night football is there is not enough Sunday Arvo football , you still cant beat Sunday Arvo footy in my eyes.

I would prefer Monday and the second Friday night game on Sunday Arvo.

BDGS

It won't go anywhere, its a ratings winner. Anybody who thinks it will go is off their head.

Yosemite Sam

I think we should keep it - but not every single round of the season. We should have MNF on all long weekends, as well as in the school holidays.

I don't think FOX would ever go for it, but it would be something of a compromise.

its a tV winner and not going anywhere. The fact that TV doesn;t pay what it should for such a high rating show is the real issue. If they were then you could make every ticket $10 on a Monday night and promote the heck out of them, and clubs could be compenstated accordingly. I think the 10k decrease is a big furphy.

so far we've had two above avg crowds on a Monday night.

I would only keep Monday night football if it was on free to air tv. Not enough people have Foxtel in this country. The NRL need another 1 game a week on FTA especially if another 2 teams come in to the comp in 2013. Monday is a night when many people are home and their is not much on FTA tv. I think 9 have stated they want AFL on a Monday night if they win the contract.

As a member Monday night is the worst time slot to actually get to a match. I personally hope they scrap it when the IC comes in.

Bay City

Who knows this could be a great negotiation ploy from the league. It's Fox's highest rating show and they will do what they have to in order to keep it.

The NRL negotiation team can now bang on about how much the clubs hate it and how much extra cash they will have to pay the clubs and look to Fox to make up the difference and then some.