Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

More on the ex-coach.

Hey, have I been the one ingnoring any teams claims at all this year?
Even a team with the can'tmakeatackle campbell in it?
I love the way he has dared the Roosters to run at him. Like the Warriors did.

imasharkie

Aries said:
I'll just comment this...

If Anasta isn't in the train on squad, and Timmins and Barret are out, then who are the selectors going to pick at the No.6? Who left has played better with the No.6 on there back ALL year? and finally, why hasn't Preston even been considered or mentioned?

I already know the answer to the last question... ;-)

I had to laugh the other day. I was up at the bottlo, talking to one of the staff, who is a MAD Panthers supporter, and this came up. I asked him who he thought would get the No.6 for the tour... his answer was swift and to the point... "Preston". I started laughing my head off and he is looking at me inquisitively, then says "Whats funny?". I then said, "and who is the coach of the Kangaroo's again"... his head dropped and he said... "fug, I didn't even think of that!!"...

That sums it all up for me. It is a sad fact that PC wont tour because of who the coach is. It will be even sadder if the selectors over rule CA and pick him, then CA just leaves him sitting there the whole tour!!
If the 5/8 is picked on form,Matt Geyer is a certainity and a far better choice than Preston and I also think Geyer played under ando at melbourne he's a deadset shoein

Foz

I'd love to see Preston make the Roo tour because I think he could carve the Poms up. Geyer has always been a good footballer and there were a few on here last year pushing for him to sign with the Sharks.
Problem is there is a lack of good 5/8's around. The way I see things is they'll make Lockyer captain and 5/8 and throw the shampoo boy from the Chooks into full back.(or Wesser).
There are a number of wingers who could easily get a run. All 4 from this weeks GF would have to be considered for starters along with El Masri and others.

Aries

blueboatboy2 said:
Aries said:
I'll just comment this...

If Anasta isn't in the train on squad, and Timmins and Barret are out, then who are the selectors going to pick at the No.6? Who left has played better with the No.6 on there back ALL year? and finally, why hasn't Preston even been considered or mentioned?

I already know the answer to the last question... ;-)

I had to laugh the other day. I was up at the bottlo, talking to one of the staff, who is a MAD Panthers supporter, and this came up. I asked him who he thought would get the No.6 for the tour... his answer was swift and to the point... "Preston". I started laughing my head off and he is looking at me inquisitively, then says "Whats funny?". I then said, "and who is the coach of the Kangaroo's again"... his head dropped and he said... "fug, I didn't even think of that!!"...

That sums it all up for me. It is a sad fact that PC wont tour because of who the coach is. It will be even sadder if the selectors over rule CA and pick him, then CA just leaves him sitting there the whole tour!!
If the 5/8 is picked on form,Matt Geyer is a certainity and a far better choice than Preston and I also think Geyer played under ando at melbourne he's a deadset shoein

Did Geyer make the train on squad? If so, you have nailed it bbb2...

blacktip-reefy said:
NEWS said:
Anderson, for his part, has suggested Penrith five-eighth Preston Campbell is in the running for the Kangaroo tour. "If he plays good at the end of the season, he'll obviously put himself in the window," Anderson said.
Would that be the same window of opportunity he got to play half at the Sharks? 20 minutes of a trial with 8 jersey flegg players against the Warriors.
Still living in the past, get over it! :roll: We all loved mini peach but he's gone now, let's move on.

The Popper

Pathetic, isn't it. I've got mates who still carry resentments over the Super League war. The bloody thing finished last century and they're still stewing about it. Pathetic.
Still, there are two schools of thought on this:
1) that the related stress will kill you sooner
2) (in the paper yesterday) that the related stress toughens you up and you live a bit longer.
??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

dannyboy

Holding grudges is what many people thrive on (just ask my missus)

We know there are many out there with a grudge against Opes for all the well publicised reasons.

As The Popper commented, people still dredge up the Super League years.

There's also a large army of parochial, one-eyed, Dragons supporters with an axe to grind stemming back to when the Sharks broke away from their clutches (funny how it was the same year that eneded StGeorge's 11 in a row).

Tell me are there any out there with a hatred for those traitorsome larikins of the early 1900's who had the audactity to start a break-away league from union?

I keep saying it....build a bloody bridge people. History cannot be changed so why the hell complain about it....are your glasses half empty too?

Frenzy

dannyboy said:
I keep saying it....build a bloody bridge people. History cannot be changed so why the hell complain about it....are your glasses half empty too?

Mine's half full :)

On PC. To catch a fish you gotta think like the fish they say.

Same with selectors, to predict what they'll do you have to think like them.

The minute they left Anasta out of the train on squad one thing became apparent. The first choice number 6 was already in the train on squad or the Grand Final.

To my way of thinking that leaves Geyer, Campbell or probably Wing (who will go anyway)

I'm betting that a Panther win and a dominant PC display will see the little bloke selected - he too has utility value.

And that's from someone who doesn't like him or his team.

If he does make it I have one big query on him though and it's not his defence. It's his mindset if he has to team up with CA and BK. If he's like his number one grudge bearing fan here he won't cope on tour.

It seems some don't get it do they. The Anderson apologists that is. He keeps making drama after drama that is unrivalled in rugby league history, yet they ask the fans to move on & forget it.
You move on. If this is the best you want for the club, fine, but leave others alone who want better & want more.
Everybody has moved on except for one person. This person repeats his mistakes time after time. The usual suspects are always here apologising for him & finding excuses. That is the real pathetic part. Or should I say apathetic.
Apathetic supporters who are happy with the status quo & too scared to make change when it is really neccessary.

I shake my head at the apologists. I just can't believe your comments.
No other club would have held onto any official, coach or player for this long after this many dramas.
Even the Sharks got rid of Gowy for much less of an infringement & he was making the Sharks money!!!

wittyfan

Anderson is far too much trouble than what he worth. He must do the right thing and quit and let Stuart Raper to get things going again.

blacktip-reefy said:
It seems some don't get it do they. The Anderson apologists that is. He keeps making drama after drama that is unrivalled in rugby league history, yet they ask the fans to move on & forget it.
You move on. If this is the best you want for the club, fine, but leave others alone who want better & want more.
Everybody has moved on except for one person. This person repeats his mistakes time after time. The usual suspects are always here apologising for him & finding excuses. That is the real pathetic part. Or should I say apathetic.
Apathetic supporters who are happy with the status quo & too scared to make change when it is really neccessary.

I shake my head at the apologists. I just can't believe your comments.
No other club would have held onto any official, coach or player for this long after this many dramas.
Even the Sharks got rid of Gowy for much less of an infringement & he was making the Sharks money!!!

Now we're pathetic.

Look I am not making excuses for CA. If he fails to come up with the goods next year then he will have to move on, I just doubt he will fail.

Having Stuart Raper back at the club is fantastic and I hope that he does coach the Sharks 1st grade side one day.

This business with CA and his son being sacked will again be ancient history by the time Round 1 2004 rolls around. Get over it and start focussing on the positives for next year and not the negatives.

I would not care even a little if you made the odd bit of critisism on Opes or Vagana, but every post you have is negative and that is no good for anyone.

Just try to be positive for a change. Is there anything that you do like about the club at the moment?

Heaps actually, that's why I'm here.
It's just that I believe the opposite to you.
It does nothing for the club running around throwing roses in the air with a smile on your face. Absolutely nothing, except prolong the agony.
Anderson will never get close to another Premiership. He is washed up & bitter.
Every day he is here, the further away the target will become & the less relevant & important the Sharks will be in the "big picture" of rugby league. Why can't everybody see it?

Let's look at what has transpired over the last two years & realistically assess his frame of mind on a very important issue.
What primary reason drives Anderson to want to win a GF?
1. For his own rep or ego?
2. For the players?
3. For the money?
4. For the club?
5. For the supporters?
6. To silence his critics?

This is probably worth a poll actually.

imasharkie

Popper I keep saying it and I'll say it again Matt Geyer will be the australian 5/8, he is by a country mile the best 5/8 we have at the moment and if he is not picked as starting 5/8 it would be a tragedy

blacktip-reefy said:
Heaps actually, that's why I'm here.
It's just that I believe the opposite to you.
It does nothing for the club running around throwing roses in the air with a smile on your face. Absolutely nothing, except prolong the agony.
Anderson will never get close to another Premiership. He is washed up & bitter.
Every day he is here, the further away the target will become & the less relevant & important the Sharks will be in the "big picture" of rugby league. Why can't everybody see it?

Let's look at what has transpired over the last two years & realistically assess his frame of mind on a very important issue.
What primary reason drives Anderson to want to win a GF?
1. For his own rep or ego?
2. For the players?
3. For the money?
4. For the club?
5. For the supporters?
6. To silence his critics?

This is probably worth a poll actually.

I would say that he is driven by each and everyone of those.

BTW I am not asking you to jump around the joint with roses, champ. I am simply asking you to try to find some positives. Negativity co-exists with positivity, in other words, you can't have one without the other. For example, for every action there is an equal and opposite reaction.

There are good things happening at our club and there have been bad things happen. Now you can procrastinate on the bad ones if you like, but it won't get you very far. Trying to find the best in any situation is my philosophy.

I have said it before and I will say it again. You just have to get over it and get behind YOUR club.

2004 is a promising year. I know you will disagree but I don't really care, you aren't going to effect me with your negativity, I will still be screaming from my seat in the ET stand and it will all be positive.

& that is exactly the post I was expecting.

There is one & only one reason to be driven to win the GF.
It is the same reason you are driven to be a supporter.
It is for the club.
Everything else is secondary at best.

The way Anderson goes on on he has nothing but disdain for the club.

His order is

1.Financial
2.Ego
3.Players
4.Critics.

PJ

I just heard some news that should make our little raincloud Blackie very happy, though I doubt someone like him can be happy.

Expect more rubbish and headlines next week!

SadShark

Speaking of Gowy, where is that whacky funster when you need him? I wouldn't mind so much if he did get back into the fold. One cut up Dragons jersey was a hell of a final straw.

Perhaps he could send his daughters in to shake up the mould. I'm sure they would be hard to say no to :twisted:

PJ

Speaking of Gowy, where is that whacky funster when you need him

Still serving his court imposed ban from having anything to do with a liscenced club.