Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

MORE TEAMS?????????

SouthernTiger

Snide is 100% right about one thing; 14 was the magic number and still should be. The biggest mistake league made was allowing Souths back in without reducing a team elsewhere. For mine a Souths and Cronulla merger would have been great for the game, and still would be. However, I support the existence of Melbourne wholeheartedly. Without expansion the game will die. The reality is that a large proportion of revenue in todays game comes from pay tv and fox isnt going to pay good money for a sport that it can only sell to two states. Ideally, by 2012 we should be looking to have teams in other states. Instead of throwing in four teams at once it should be done in a piecemeal fashion. I say ideally because it is questionable how sustainable teams are in those areas. Though it must be said that western reds and adelaide rams were not struggling for crowds. We cant build another team in the central coast until we reduce a team in sydney. The market is way too crowded as it is. As i said ideally we would have one less but alas that is not to be

cheers

s. tiger

Gobbso

But it's common sense after 7 years after really no success (support and interest wise) that the Storm will never be a leader in Melbourne. Gold Coast were not a failed franchise or concept. They were made a sacrifical lamb by the ARL in accordance with News ltd. pulling the pin on the Adelaide Rams. To help the reduction in teams a much less emotional ordeal for the remaining club's that had already put the pen through, noteably in both our club's. The Blue print was made way back in '95 with Ribot showing the Vision to all club's through a borad meeting at ARL Headquater's, but basically saying that only 10 clubs would make up a premier competition, with the rest in club's like Balmain, Souths and Wests could be shareholder's, or become feeder club's. The plan was set in stone way back then by News ltd. and their agenda was achieved by the end of the '99 season.

magpiemax

jilliby kitty said:
ummm there's alot of coast people saying when can we buy our season ticket 8)
Hope there not related to the South's supporters that marched down George st.Sydney to have there team back in the competition.Who are now not even with-in Cooooooey....of there football games.

Gobbso

Max, the interesting fact about the two marches South Sydney organised, there was an abundance of other fans, whoich club's were sacrificed through Joint-Venture's or extension. Club's in Norths, Illawarra, Balmain, Western Suburbs and Newtwon. These supporters were the reason Souths recorded massive crowds. How do i know? Because i marched twice in my Western Suburbs Magpies jersey with fellow Maggies as well as other club fans.

magpiemax

Gobbso said:
Max, the interesting fact about the two marches South Sydney organised, there was an abundance of other fans, whoich club's were sacrificed through Joint-Venture's or extension. Club's in Norths, Illawarra, Balmain, Western Suburbs and Newtwon. These supporters were the reason Souths recorded massive crowds. How do i know? Because i marched twice in my Western Suburbs Magpies jersey with fellow Maggies as well as other club fans.
Gobbsie,I realise this but the majority of those supposed die hards,never go to the friggin games.

Gobbso

The 7-8,000 fans that do rock up are their diehards. And marched. The rest are a disgrace. But then every club has them. Look at the bandwagoner's Parramatta have. Their recent poor rofm, has shown who their real fans are. Same goes for the Joint-Venture. We've got the biggest part-time supporters going around.

It only last week Blocker was talking to Chris Smith on 2GB about the great crowd Wests Tigers got at Leicchardt against Parramatta. Blocker a Balmain boy through and through, openly admitted that all that great wotrk by the fans will come un done now as the Wests Tigers next home game will be at Campbelltown and will be a poor crowd. I was pissed off when i heard his comments, as i though he was being a bias prick, when he said "Although Chris, that is only because of the Balmain fans that don't travel. He said i'm a Tigers man, and i know myself, that they don't travel, i'm not sure if they haven't embraced the Joint-Venture or they just think by turning out to Leichhardt its going to strengthen the Balmain side of the Joint-Venture, because its not" but he was going off, urging them for once and for all to swallow their pride, and make the journey out to Campbelltown for the clash against the Roosters. He believes Wests Tigers are a team that lifts with alot of support and will need it against the Premiership favourites the Roosters.

tracietiga

all crap .
The only problem is , Campbelltown is not a Wests Tigers area .
That could not be more evident when we play the Dogs or St George at the beach.
Last game at Leichhardt we got the bandwagoners , because we were winning .

Campbelltown people have never rallied behind us as their side .
our home record crowd belongs to a dogs match .

magpiemax

Gobbso said:
The 7-8,000 fans that do rock up are their diehards. And marched. The rest are a disgrace. But then every club has them. Look at the bandwagoner's Parramatta have. Their recent poor rofm, has shown who their real fans are. Same goes for the Joint-Venture. We've got the biggest part-time supporters going around.

It only last week Blocker was talking to Chris Smith on 2GB about the great crowd Wests Tigers got at Leicchardt against Parramatta. Blocker a Balmain boy through and through, openly admitted that all that great wotrk by the fans will come un done now as the Wests Tigers next home game will be at Campbelltown and will be a poor crowd. I was pissed off when i heard his comments, as i though he was being a bias prick, when he said "Although Chris, that is only because of the Balmain fans that don't travel. He said i'm a Tigers man, and i know myself, that they don't travel, i'm not sure if they haven't embraced the Joint-Venture or they just think by turning out to Leichhardt its going to strengthen the Balmain side of the Joint-Venture, because its not" but he was going off, urging them for once and for all to swallow their pride, and make the journey out to Campbelltown for the clash against the Roosters. He believes Wests Tigers are a team that lifts with alot of support and will need it against the Premiership favourites the Roosters.
He has got a point about travelling and I know that by the people I speak to in my cab.I usually work around Balmain and the inner west,Leichhardt etc.
And when I mention to people that I live in Condell Park most of them ask me "Where the f*ck's that."

Gobbso

Because the club doesn't associate itself with region. That's as clear as day to see. Mate the Maggies used to get bumper crowds, in '91-'97 the averaged around the 12-15,000 mark. Especially Friday night games, you couldn't move at Campbelltown Sports Ground. The people are dis-enchanted with a team that is lucky to play once every 1, in some instances 2 months in the area. Why support a club that does not identify itself as apart of the Macarthur region?

jilliby kitty

c c bears coming your way ummm funny how there's alot of footy talent walking around houses at foresters beach and and and was that joel clinten, tony pulatua and luke priddis in down town east gosford last week

ummm don't worry there'll never be a coast team hay kiddies

8) 8) 8) 8)

jilliby kitty

ohh and who were those guys talking to wazz ryan the other day looked like a cartoon to me but it wasn't donkey even if he's got a 3 year contract umm maybe he's got a get out clauses :lol: :lol: 8)

magpiemax

Gobbso said:
Because the club doesn't associate itself with region. That's as clear as day to see. Mate the Maggies used to get bumper crowds, in '91-'97 the averaged around the 12-15,000 mark. Especially Friday night games, you couldn't move at Campbelltown Sports Ground. The people are dis-enchanted with a team that is lucky to play once every 1, in some instances 2 months in the area. Why support a club that does not identify itself as apart of the Macarthur region?
Pity is'nt it.We have a HUGE area like the Macarthur region and we just don't utilise it properly,I mean if we had some one like The Bullfrog(p.moore)mate we would of won a dozen premiership's by now.Instead we get raped by either the Roosters or Manly etc...etc...

Gobbso

Should have never punted Rick Wayde in my opinion. Wests could of been and can still be a Newcastle, its just a matter of the Joint-Venture identifying itself with the local community and region. It's not too late, but the longer they sit on their arse twiddling their thumbs, they won't get anywhere. The Joint-Venture's name might resemble the name 'Wests', but bugger me, they do shit all to represent the area. They might as well hand the area over to the Dogs, if they don't get their act together.

simon says

Y would people from Cambo go.....when the team is going shite. I wouldnt bloody go either. I remember the game when we had won a few and were lookin good and up against the Warriors who were also going well.It was a top of the table clash.....the crowd was good and the place was really buzzing.

Now Im sure that if we win this weekend that there will be a great crowd against the Roosters......if we lose I fear around 10k. Win and we should get 15k,keep our top 8 spot and get a nice shot of confidence before what is going to be a huge game....

Cheers.

magpiemax

Gobbso said:
Should have never punted Rick Wayde in my opinion. Wests could of been and can still be a Newcastle, its just a matter of the Joint-Venture identifying itself with the local community and region. It's not too late, but the longer they sit on their arse twiddling their thumbs, they won't get anywhere. The Joint-Venture's name might resemble the name 'Wests', but bugger me, they do sh*t all to represent the area. They might as well hand the area over to the Dogs, if they don't get their act together.
The worst thing was Martin Bullock,That guy was a 'REBEL WITHOUT A CLUE' he ran a club like the mum's at a p & c meeting he was farked to say the least. I mean he looked the part but he was a fair dinkum dope!!

Gobbso

simon says said:
Y would people from Cambo go.....when the team is going sh*te. I wouldnt bloody go either. I remember the game when we had won a few and were lookin good and up against the Warriors who were also going well.It was a top of the table clash.....the crowd was good and the place was really buzzing.

Now Im sure that if we win this weekend that there will be a great crowd against the Roosters......if we lose I fear around 10k. Win and we should get 15k,keep our top 8 spot and get a nice shot of confidence before what is going to be a huge game....

Cheers.

Damn straight champ! That doesn't help...Success brings the fans. that's common knowledge.