Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Mortimer Stays an Eel

mickdo

Hang on if cayless time is up and is on a reported 400k-Eric grothe on 200k inu on 250k plus oake. There is about 900k spare + whatever mateo is on now-250k maybe?
So 1.1 mill - minus mortimer would still leave a bit in the bank wouldnt it?
I would think we could keep mateo and kk and either inu or grothe be letting 2 others go?

It's all guesswork really. But yes, Cayless, Grothe and Inu would be on a decent amount between them, so if they go (or take reduced money) then that leaves some for upping Mateo and KK you would hope.

I don't think it leaves us with a great deal of change if "reportadly" Tahu, Hindy and Hayne are on bigger contracts than what they're currently on.

So what happened to this bloke and when did you manage to hack his account?

stagger eel said:
I think a chill pill is in order most of you who are losing sleep about who's here and who's not going to be here in 2011..

stagger eel said:
any club that has their top 3 players signed long term is alaways going to be in a good position regardless of what these blokes decide to do.

whilst I'm excited with the news, I was quite shocked at the amount we signed him for, all I say, is don't expect both KK and Feleti to be at the club next season, the dogs were out there to do a job and I think they've secretly achieved goal 1 in their quest for Mateo...don't get me wrong, I'm happy with the news but it will come at a price.

more importantly, bring on Friday night.

really don't care how much Mortimer is on and all that. It's sounds like it's a lot but hey....

But what i find ineteresting about your comments is the fact that the Bulldogs secretly achieved their goal. The following is no attack on you but legit questions. Do you think our Management (osborne) are that stupid? And that they didn't know what's going on with the Bulldogs "secret ploy"?

It's not like the theory of the Bulldogs trying to jack up the price of Mortimer was a secret. It's been in the news for the 3 months. Surely our management would have heard about this.

Parra obviously know whats going on and they know what they can pay Mateo and KK to get them to stay. Surely, these contracts that Parra are offering would have had to of been calculated.

and I'm still not losing sleep over it..

Sorry mate but you are carrying on like a headless chook...... exactly what you were telling people to chill out about before the announcement.

If you seriously consider that the club would not have factored in negotiations for Keating and Mateo in dealings with Mortimer then you need to practise a bit of what you preach.

EELICIT

Yes, im worried that either Mateo or Keating will have to go. In saying that, I think we wont offer INU another contract for 2011 the way hes going. Should free up some money.

I think "hint hint" mateo is off to the dogs! Just my opinion ;-)

really don't care how much Mortimer is on and all that. It's sounds like it's a lot but hey....

But what i find ineteresting about your comments is the fact that the Bulldogs secretly achieved their goal. The following is no attack on you but legit questions. Do you think our Management (osborne) are that stupid? And that they didn't know what's going on with the Bulldogs "secret ploy"?

It's not like the theory of the Bulldogs trying to jack up the price of Mortimer was a secret. It's been in the news for the 3 months. Surely our management would have heard about this.

Parra obviously know whats going on and they know what they can pay Mateo and KK to get them to stay. Surely, these contracts that Parra are offering would have had to of been calculated.

i'm not prepared to go searching for it, but do you remember a post I made a month or so ago regarding a conversation I had with a journo (those who know me well enough, will realise that I run into these guys quite alot at work) the guy revealed to me that the Dogs actually weren't after Mortimer at all but were looking at bumping his price to the point that they would put us out of reach from the bloke they actually want, Mateo...

I'm not denying that the bulldogs were jacking up the price, that's obvious, I am questioning whether the bulldogs actually wanted him.

mickdo

i'm not prepared to go searching for it, but do you remember a post I made a month or so ago regarding a conversation I had with a journo (those who know me well enough, will realise that I run into these guys quite alot at work) the guy revealed to me that the Dogs actually weren't after Mortimer at all but were looking at bumping his price to the point that they would put us out of reach from the bloke they actually want, Mateo...

I'm not denying that the bulldogs were jacking up the price, that's obvious, I am questioning whether the bulldogs actually wanted him.

And how would a journo know that? You think the Dogs would tell him? More likely he was just guessing... as usual

Sorry mate but you are carrying on like a headless chook...... exactly what you were telling people to chill out about before the announcement.

If you seriously consider that the club would not have factored in negotiations for Keating and Mateo in dealings with Mortimer then you need to practise a bit of what you preach.

I think the reaction I'm getting is actually worse...like I said, i really don't care what happens at the end of the day, we're not perfect in anyway and if it happens que sera sera!!

Tomato, tomato.

I think you just need to sit back, kick the dog and wait for the footy to start you bloody stress head.

Yes I do remember that and I remember reading that in the papers BUT I don't think our management are that dumb to fall for that.

IMO our management obviously don't rate Feleti that highly, Otherwise they would have made him the priority after Hayne. Someone on here previously wrote something along the lines of "Parra will keep who they want to keep" and obviously Mateo is not a keeper or is not essential from the view point of our management.

Bullodgs secret ploy is crap IMO. If we wanted Mateo he would have been signed before the likes of Robson etc.

Anyway, if can salavage KK out of all this I would be very happy. I can get over Mateo leaving.

Yes I do remember that and I remember reading that in the papers BUT I don't think our management are that dumb to fall for that.

IMO our management obviously don't rate Feleti that highly, Otherwise they would have made him the priority after Hayne. Someone on here previously wrote something along the lines of "Parra will keep who they want to keep" and obviously Mateo is not a keeper or is not essential from the view point of our management.

Bullodgs secret ploy is crap IMO. If we wanted Mateo he would have been signed before the likes of Robson etc.

Anyway, if can salavage KK out of all this I would be very happy. I can get over Mateo leaving.

I'm not for the moment suggesting our Management are silly enough to fall for it, not 1 bit...but sometimes things are inevitible and the fact that we have some inflated contracts to consider next year, something has to give.

eel01s

Good news for the Eels with Mortimer re-signing.

I am sure that management will submit offers to both Keating and Mateo that they believe is fair. If the players want to stay, due to the reported great team bond, then they will stay.

If they choose to chase money and opportunity elsewhere, then prudent management would have a back up plan in terms of other players. One thing is for sure, 2011 will see many changes in our roster going by the amount of players off contract.

Next year, we will still have Fui, Hayne, Hindy, Tahu, Mortimer, Smith, Robson, Poore, Shackelton + more (I forget the rest), so it is still the nucleus of a good side.

Kornstar

I'm not for the moment suggesting our Management are silly enough to fall for it, not 1 bit...but sometimes things are inevitible and the fact that we have some inflated contracts to consider next year, something has to give.

If Manly can do it, so can we :D

lucablight

I was the one who wrote that as I heard Paul Osborne say it on 2SM in an interview. I'm pretty sure he said he wanted to keep Inu and Mateo as well.

There's also this quote from the newspaper
"Feleti's a Parramatta junior, a Parramatta supporter and his family are big fans of the club, so we're determined to keep him," Osborne said.

link: http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/n...feleti-mateo-out/story-e6frfgbo-1225821760073

born an eel

if this is your take on things you must also think that Mateo doesn't want to be here or why would he have gone to NZ the other week to check things out there. "obviously feleti doesn't rate parra to highly".

Players are the ones who usually drag negotiations along, if the wanted to stay at the club they would happily re-sign him for a fair contract price now.