Noise
well if brian plays him to his strength, he might be useful. If he wants him to be a playmaker then good luck the one with Blue blood
Media interviews???
well if brian plays him to his strength, he might be useful. If he wants him to be a playmaker then good luck the one with Blue blood
I don't feel for him at all. He's still going to be earning a couple of hundred grand next year to play reserve grade, and probably a decent income for 2013 too for doing the same. Not a bad life.
He needs to learn w to be a 9...and quick...
Surprised that News Ltd did not call him "eels reject".
Anyway, good luck to him.
Do I feel sorry for Morts ? As much as any other bloke on the street that isn't good enough to play NRL. So, not really.
I'd hate to be morts dog at the moment
Meh, he's their problem now.
Media interviews???
Morts will go alright in a team that sees a lot of broken play.
Still stinks.
No he won't. Just because it worked for us for 14 weeks, doesn't mean it'll work for anyone else.
He lacks the basic skills man.
Don't you get it?
He has a couple of very particular skills that make him (nearly) ideal for a team that passes the ball a lot:
1. He is always there in support. Always.
2. He has a bit of speed and footwork.
As we've seen, he turned out to be a pretty one dimensional player, but it was no accident that he was so effective in the back end of 2009.
Yep, you're right.
1. A dad who owns a winery, who has a familiar surname.
2. Media Quotes. Fair dinkum, that's a skill that he excel's in.
3. A surname?
C'Mon, he's rubbish.
Doesn't change the fact he made 12 linebreaks in 18 games in 2009. That many linebreaks isn't a fluke.
That said, no other team in the modern era would give a support player that many opportunities to look good, which is why we ended up in a bidding war to keep him.
Like you I'm glad he's gone because he doesn't fit into our style of play, but give credit where it's due.
that sounds to me that you are interpreting the stats to suit your desired result. I thought the stats were the stats and only fools interpreted the results.Doesn't change the fact he made 12 linebreaks in 18 games in 2009. That many linebreaks isn't a fluke.
That said, no other team in the modern era would give a support player that many opportunities to look good, which is why we ended up in a bidding war to keep him.
Like you I'm glad he's gone because he doesn't fit into our style of play, but give credit where it's due.
that sounds to me that you are interpreting the stats to suit your desired result.
I thought the stats were the stats and only fools interpreted the results.
Does that mean you have to look at things like style of play, opposition quality, weather, game plan when reading stats?
ok, you have convinced me that stats tell the whole story and Morts would have taken us to glory if the coach had only spoken to you.I'm using the stats to formulate a hypothesis - inductive rather than deductive logic.
Since the stats support said hypothesis, and nobody has furnished any stats disproving the same, then the hypothesis stands.
I reckon you think a lot of stuff that doesn't make any sense. Of course, that's just my hypothesis based on the available evidence.
I would have thought this was self-evident but since you're asking, the answer is yes.
The fact you've asked this question indicates that you think you've made this point before and that I disagreed with you.
Silly you.
Do you really think Mortimer's linebreak stats for 2009 are irrelevent? Answer this then - if his 12 linebreaks in 18 games was due to factors entirely external to the player, then why did no other of our halves/hookers make that many breaks in 2009?
Also, why was Mortimer able to pick up a contract at another club despite being exposed in 2010 and '11 as an ineffective playmaker?
The only possible answer is that he has qualities that are suited to a particular style of play.
The same type of player (though much better) is James Maloney - this year he only made five linebreak assists, yet made 18 linebreaks.
Melbourne let him go because he didn't fit into their style of play (he made 1 LB and 0 LBA in 4 games at the Storm), much like Mortimer doesn't fit into ours. Obviously Maloney fit into the Warriors' high risk style, meaning they could allow him to play as a support runner, rather than relying on him to create for his teammates.
Brian Smith clearly intends to use him the same way, which explains why he also signed Daniel Mortimer to be Maloney's backup.
Funny, I was thinking the other day that Morts is a poor man's James Maloney. They certainly play the same style.
This.
I'm always amazed at how some footy fans can feel pity for the guys who don't have magical fairytale careers.
I was shit at footy too! Why doesn't anyone feel sorry for me?
In my opinion Daniel Mortimer is, without a shadow of a doubt, the WORST half/five-eight this club has EVER had. Bar none. Feel sorry for him? Why? He`ll have a good life - as opposed to a lot of other guys, with nothing else going for them but football, who don`t make the grade. f**k Daniel Mortimer.
/