Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

mufflers

lewiscook

Hey guys i have a 2004 holden s ute and i have booked it in next week to have the rear muffler taken out and replaced with a pipe and tip to improve the sound for $100.

Do you think this is the best and cheapest way to improve the sound of my car?

cheers.

ozbash

muffler also provides back pressure.

you will burn your valves out real quick without a decent muffler.

replace the one you are taking out with a freeflow muffler, eg Coby..

lewiscook

muffler also provides back pressure.

you will burn your valves out real quick without a decent muffler.

replace the one you are taking out with a freeflow muffler, eg Coby..

whats a free flow muffler and how much does that cost?
If i replace the muffler a have now with a copper pipe is that ok?

It'll be fine, though it may melt...but dont worry bout that, should sound f**ken sick mate

lewiscook

think there could be a fairly hard (and expensive) lesson about to be learnt here..

Mate im not just jumping into it im speaking to as many mechanics etc as i can to find the right mod for me.
Why are you saying this could be a fairly hard and expensive lesson? can you please explain why i am interested in all the advice i can get mate, cheers.

I am not sure I understand the question, sound of your car? They sound different? Cars sound the same to me.

ozbash

Then put a freeflow muffler on it

Definition: A free-flow exhaust system consists of a muffler (or mufflers) and tailpipes that are designed to make a vehicle run quieter without restricting the exhaust flow, an action that can improve performance and fuel economy.

http://www.wildcat-int.co.za/

NZ law

Noise tests for exhausts

Updated: 19 November 2009
By law the noise coming from your exhaust system must be similar to or less than the noise it made when your vehicle was manufactured. Two exceptions are where:
  • the noise the exhaust emits is still well below legal noise limits
  • An Objective Noise Test proves the noise doesn’t exceed the legal noise limits.

During a warrant of fitness inspection, the vehicle inspector may perform a Noise Quick Check. If your vehicle then fails a (WoF) check because of a noisy exhaust the inspector may refer it for an Objective Noise Test, which is a metered test based on international standards.
http://www.nzta.govt.nz/vehicle/warrants-certifications/getting-wof/noise.html

Cupid Stunt

Hey guys i have a 2004 holden s ute and i have booked it in next week to have the rear muffler taken out and replaced with a pipe and tip to improve the sound for $100.

cheers.

While that will no doubt change the sound of your car, see if they'll add an extra couple of cylinders for say $50-80. That'll make heaps more difference, give it a low down grumble...

:D

GB!

cheers.

No, the cheapest way would be to get rid of the crappy holden and buy a decent car!