Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Mundine v Obah

Ranson

How do you all think Mundine is going to approach this fight? Is he going to fight toe-to-toe with Obah much in the same way as he did against Francis? Or will he stand on the outside for most of the fight?

I stand corrected on this - but I thought it was a little dangerous for Mundine to "brawl" with Francis. I mean, what if Francis managed to get a straight right through much in the same fashion as what Ottke did?

Gday Ranson, good to see you around
emteeth.gif

As for Mundine, he is fighting a 5th (i believe) placed ranking. He is no hack. It will be interesting to see how he goes about business, haven't seen much of Obah but if he can punch than Mundine, as always, will be in trouble. Mundine doesn't keep his hands up high enough in defense, all it takes is a well directed punch or 2 and Mundine will be on the floor

That said, Mundine in a points decision

Moffo.

Ranson

Hey Moffo,

I know alot of people hate Mundine for the way he portrays himself and for some of the rash things he has said. However, I still support him 'as a boxer' and because he is a fellow Australian fighting for himself but under our flag.

That being said, I don't know too much about this Obah guy either. What I do know is that Mundine has better combinations up close and seems a little fitterthan when he went against Ottke.

By the way Moffo, the fight is on Sunday isn't it?

P.S. I would like to see more people posting here!

O

ozbash

Anthony Mundine has been trading blows with one of Australia's heaviest boxers and practicing as a southpaw in preparation for his June 3 clash with Darren Obah. Mundine, who turned 27 earlier this week, has been sparring with nationally ranked NSW heavyweight Peter Graham, who at around 110kgs, weighs almost one and a half times more than "The Man". At the other end of the weight spectrum, Mundine has also sparred against Ethiopian 2000 Olympic featherweight representative Yohannes Sheferaw, who is now based in Sydney. "Peter (Graham) has been really great, he's been pushing me around the ring. Obviously he's 30 to 40kgs heavier than me so I really try to utilise my speed on him," said Mundine, who fights as a super-middleweight (limit 76.2kg). "Yohannes is very slick so I've got to be on my toes and mentally aware and be ready for every punch and that's going to really help me because a lot of super middleweights aren't as fast." Keen to add further weapons to his arsenal, Mundine has started seriously working as a southpaw. "I've switched a couple of times in fights, but I've never really practiced it, but now I am starting to and it's becoming better and better," Mundine said. "I can really bang from that position now. Before I could just tap, but now I can really get my body behind it and throw punches and if I happen to swerve away from a punch in that position I can come straight back and hit." Mundine said St George Illawarra had yet to respond to his offer to resume playing rugby league on at least a part-time basis. "That disappoints me because it was for the club and the fans, they were the ones that were calling. "I could do it. I might not play every week but I can give great service when it's needed and rugby league is second nature to me." Mundine's father and trainer Tony said his son should stick to one sport. "My opinion is he would be a crazy boy if he plays rugby league, but he is a man now and if he wants to play rugby league and box too, that's his choice and whatever he wants to do I will stand by him," Tony Mundine said. He said Anthony had been working on combinations and fighting inside and had continued to improve since his world title fight loss last year to German Sven Ottke. "He's improved I reckon at least 20 per cent since he fought Ottke last year, but he's still learning, he's only had 13 professional fights," Tony Mundine said. The Man will face a much more experienced opponent in Queenslander Obah, who is currently ranked the No.8 contender for the World Boxing Association middleweight title. "Darren Obah is a walk-up fighter and I think Anthony will pick him off and just cut him up," Tony Mundine said.

Ranson

Ha! Peter Graham is built like a tank and moves like one too. One wonders why Mundine would be wasting his time sparring with a heavyweight.

Anyway, the fight is scheduledthis Sunday I think. I'm going to try my best and see it.

By the way although I told you all that I hoped Mundine would do well in this sport, if he loses again and has a big head about it, he will lose my vote too.

Gday Ranson,

On ratings, Obah should really be in the contest. But i haven't seen him fight, so i have no idea how good he is or when the last time he fought was

Will be interesting to watch. But bring on next week (Tyson v Lewis...the grandaddy!)

Moffo.

Ranson

Hi Moffo,

Sorry all. The fight is scheduled for Monday evening with the undercards on at 7pm and not Sunday.

Would really like to see Mundine throw in a few followups to some of his combinations. Otherwise he won't hurt Obah much.

I think the fight will go the distance with Mundine easily by points. I'm beginning to wonder whether Mundine really has power behind his punches. As he fights better opponents, it seems he can't get a "flurry" of stunning punches on his opponents and has to rely on one or two scoring hits. Aside from the Waters fight, Mundine seems to get a few through and while his opponent is stunned, he then throws in the big one.

Mundine might have some trouble with more skillful boxers like Ottke. He can get one or two through ... but skillful have a knack of avoiding the one damaging blow thereby putting Mundine back to square one.

H

hutch

just got this off fightnews

<table border=0 cellpadding=0 cellspacing=0 width="100%"> <tbody> <tr> <td> Mundine TKOs Obah!
</td></tr> <tr> <td>
</td></tr> <tr> <td>Super middleweight contender Anthony Mundine has just stopped WBA #8 ranked middleweight Darren Obah after administering a one-sided beating over six rounds at Sydney, Australia. Mundine, now 13-1 with 10 KOs, successfully defended his PABA crown. He will next target countryman Rick Thornberry. </td></tr></tbody></table>
sounds like it was pretyt one sided. i havnt really got into mundines fights since the world title loss. was gonna go watch it tonight but wasnt sure if it was on, the league club didnt show his last fight. good to see him notch up another win tho.

Ranson

Hi Hutch,

Well, I went to Manly Rugby League Club and saw the fight. If I was to sum up the fight in one word, I would say "disappointing".

Darren Obah moved like a semi-retiree and every punch he threw almost threw himself off-balance. He couldn't jab, and tried to rushMundine withadvancing hooks which were easily dodged and countered. At one stage, Obah was so dizzy that hefell whilst throwing a punch of his own. Throughout the fight I couldn't help but think "This isn't a challenge at all! It's a joke and Mundine might as well fight with his eyes closed"

I guess Obah was a stepping stone for Mundine to re-enter the world WBA rankings. Some may argue that Mundine picked another old andslowboxer but you have to appreciate the politics of the sport. Obah was ranked 8th anda successful challenge by Mundine would best advance him.

Mundine said at the end of the fight that his goal was to become the No.1 contender again so thatGermany's Sven Ottke would have no choice but to give him a rematch.

Somehow I don't think Mundine is going to get any better by fighting these "bums". I am eagerly awaiting his next fight against Thornberry.

B

Bomber

Not that I'm a big fan of boxing, but here's a trivia question:

What does Darren Obah have in common with this esteemed poster (i.e. me)?
emwink.gif

D

dubby

I have trained with Darren Obah at his Forest Glen gym on QLD"S sunshine coast, near Nambour. Darren admitted in the paper he had no chance and was doing it for the $20k purse.

Afew years ago Darren would have knocked his block off , at least competed with the man...

Don't bag him, he's a mate and was a top fighter, but at 38 he was too slow and way past his best. 10 points for trying Darren, no respect lost back home mate!

Ranson

Hi Dubby,

Sorry mate, i didn't mean to offend you with my comments. I was just using some of Mundine's terminology when he talks with the media. I'm sure Obah was a strong fighter back in his prime and would have given the Man more of a contest.

However, I still stand by my view that most people would have been disappointed with the fight. I wonder how Thornberry would go ...

B

Bomber

Considering you're from that bastardly southern state, you're close enough.

We're both Mossman boys (2 s's, we're not north shore yuppies!)

M

mud &amp; blood

Ho hum .... he's beaten another retiree who he only let prepare for 7 weeks. What a joke !

He's gotta step up to either Thornberry or Danny Green asap and earn some credibility.

O

ozbash

welcome back mud n blood,,,:D
isnt thornberry the sensation from qld ? a bloke was telling me about him and said he was the goods....

El Duque

Even though Thornberry is a step up in class I still think he needs to fight a top 10 fighter.Get someone from the USA out here.