Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

My assesments v Newcastle

Misty Bee

McKINNON - Again outstanding, kick returns saw tackles broken. Defence faultless. 8

GRAHAM - Showed up for pace in a crucial moment. Solid in defence. Scored a great wingers try. 7

LANGI - One poor pass early, but made up for it with a pearler for Graham's try. 26 tackles too. His best game in first grade. 8

BURT - Poor option for Tahu's try, but finally did his thing, after 11 games and 79 minutes to score that great try. 6

PETERSON - PLayed like a demon all night. Scored the tackle of the night on Tahu, and completey shut down anything that moved. 8

WITT - tried hard, but poor 5th tackle options spoiled his night. 6

DYKES - Although missing on the 6th tackle in crucial moments, his long kicking game was the platform for victory. And that final kick underlined why we need him if we are going to do a Souths circa 1955. 8

VELLA - Got stuck into the heavy stuff and never stopped. Inspirational knock. 8

MORRISS - looked lost at times, although, as usual, his quality shone when he returned to dummy half. Mammoth job in defence. 8

STAPLETON - Got stuck into the heavy stuff and never stopped. 7

HINDMARSH - his usual hyperactive game was marred by a bad dose of 'crabs' late in the game and close to the line. 7

AFASAMANGA (sp?) - limited game time but looked good when he was on. 6

WAGON. Tireless in defence - 51 tackles. For once he played with attitude, and it lifted the side. Great captain's knock. 8

HOPKINS. - Tried hard in new role of dummy half. 7

ARMIT - Solid when on. 7

WIDDERS - Solid as usual. Great break that led to Dyke's try - and turned the game around for us. 8

TSOULOS - Got stuck in when on. 27 tackles, 12 hitups - great for a bench player.

I think your being abit generous there mate lets see:

Graham was pretty shite from what I saw: 4
Burt words fail to describe the anger towards this person: 2
Witt- he did nothing at all, he has nothing in his game: 2
Hopkins is no good, webster would be a better impact of the bench: 4

The rest I'll agree with ya.

Oh yes Burty is my fav player because he can't tackle ahhh he can't read the play, can't break a tackle or make a line break. Burty what a player.

fridge

sorry misty i think you're being a bit generous too. we played very poorly in the first half. here are my ratings:

McKINNON - great d, great runnin the ball back, good support play: 8

GRAHAM - good winger's game, did miss some tackles: 5

LANGI - he really tried hard out there, the pass to no one was a resultant of trying too hard, but it woulda been great if fulled off. strong in defence as well, gave a dude a concussion: 6

BURT - our first try was because 1 on 1 against another player burt was lifted off the ground and carried 5m sideways, he had a brilliant idea of chucking the ball to peterson who was already tackled by 2 players whereby tahu regathered and scored. he is a puss, but has some speed which gave us the try: 2.25

PETERSON - played with fire, and was very good on attack for us. the D still sucks though and this guy has a reflex of coming in and leaving a winger alone outside: 6

WITT - where was he ? good goalkicker though: 3.5

DYKES - best kicker on the field by a mile, some really dumb final tackle options - not all his fault since witt didn't put up his hand: 6.5

VELLA - our best prop but fair dinkum does not have his old form and looked fairly easily contained. i want cannings and cayless back :D 5

MORRIS - i thought we did better with hopkins and dummy half. morris is our best runner from dummy half but hogs the ball a bit. he gives away a couple penalties a game with his lack of discipline on defence: 5.5

STAPLETON - in the first half, he was one of the only forwards who got back and took the ball up a couple times. strong defence: 6

HINDMARSH - great d, tireless, champion: 7

AFASAMANGA - he will be a monster in 1-2 years. i thought he had a very strong game with limited time: 6

WAGON - in defence he was awesome apart from the poor positioning on gidley's pissweak try. on attack he was actually running hard at angles ! 7

HOPKINS - used to be a big fan of hopkins but im not anymore. his service from dummy half seemed pretty good because he chucks it much quicker than morris, but otherwise where was he. afasamaga outplayed him i thought: 4

ARMIT - we're lacking something in the forwards: 4

WIDDERS - i think u guys are right, he is better off the bench. was dangerous, and can break the advantage line. great break led to dykes try: 6

TSOULOS - monster. in 1-2 with afasamaga will be monsters: 6

I reckon we have some great young talent. i cannot wait until we see: cannings/tsoulos frontrow with cayless/hindmarsh/afasamaga in the 2nd row.

McKINNON - Again outstanding, kick returns saw tackles broken. Defence faultless.

GRAHAM - Showed up for pace in a crucial moment. Solid in defence. Scored a great wingers try. Tried hard as he has done since his return. Was left stranded by his centre which led to the ry when he had top come in to try and stop a three on one over lap. 7

LANGI - One poor pass early, but made up for it with a pearler for Graham's try. 26 tackles too. His best game in first grade. Left his winger stranded whoch lead to a try. Needs to show faith in the inside men. 7

BURT - Poor option for Tahu's try, but finally did his thing, after 11 games and 79 minutes to score that great try. Still tends to crab but the lack of a platform layed in the early stages of the came required someone to try and create an oppurtunity 6

PETERSON - PLayed like a demon all night. Scored the tackle of the night on Tahu, and completey shut down anything that moved. 8

WITT - tried hard, but poor 5th tackle options spoiled his night. Looks more and more like a halfback organising too wide. Would be suited more by a switch one in. 6.5

DYKES - Although missing on the 6th tackle in crucial moments, his long kicking game was the platform for victory. And that final kick underlined why we need him if we are going to do a Souths circa 1955. His organisational skills aren't suited for halfback. 8

VELLA - Better game than the week previous. Instead of jkust chasing kicks he got stuck in and did what he is supposed to do. 8

MORRISS - looked lost at times, although, as usual, his quality shone when he returned to dummy half. Mammoth job in defence. 8

STAPLETON - Typical effort. Honest and hardworking he didn't shirk his responsibilities. 7

HINDMARSH - guilty of doing too much which lead to some poor decisions late in the game through tiredness. Still the man that took us forward when few were doing it in the first half. 7.5

AFASAMANGA (sp?) - Made some telling tackles. Hits hard in defence and attack. Despite his lack of game time will only get better for the run. 6

WAGON. Tireless in defence - 51 tackles. For once he played with attitude, and it lifted the side. Great captain's knock. 8

HOPKINS. - Tried hard in new role of dummy half, tried hard to spark things when nothing was working. 7

ARMIT - Another tradesman like performance, he and Stapleton add plenty without being flashy. 7

WIDDERS - Solid as usual. Great break that led to Dyke's try - and turned the game around for us. 8

TSOULOS - Got stuck in when on. 27 tackles, 12 hitups - great for a bench player. He goes from strength to strength and looks better when he comes off the bench. 7.5

ParraMatt

1. Mckinnon - 8.6
2. Graham - 6.0
3. Langi - 7.5
4. Burt - 6.5
5. Peterson - 8.5
6. Witt - 7.0
7. Dykes - 8.0
8. Vella - 8.0
9. Morris - 7.8
10. Stapleton - 7.0
11. Hindmarsh - 8.8
12. Afamasaga - 7.3
13. Wagon - 8.0
Reserves
14. Hopkins - 7.7
15. Armit - 8.0
16. Widders - 8.8
17. Tsoulos - 8.7

Phillips

Mckinnon - 8 (i was glad we signed him, and this is why) :clap:
Graham - 6 (too slow, but will regain full pace in time)
Langi - 7
Burt - 6
Peterson - 4 (not first grade standed, shows passion but thats not good enough)
Witt - 6
Dykes - 7
Vella - 3 - #-o
Morris - 6
Stapleton - 7
Hindmarsh - 8
Afamasaga - 7 (exiting prospect)
Wagon - 3

Hopkins - 6
Armit - 4 (not good enough....yet)
Widders - 9 (great run to set up a try)
Tsoulos - 8 (made some mistakes but him and Stapleton have been our best props)

I liked the way Afamasaga took the ball up. Very strong.

Widders is awesome from the bench, notice he mostly played centre though?

I suppose my opinions (that Burt, Petersen and Armit all had good games) would be frowned upon?

To me, Burt didn't look as frail as you guys mention He made some great tackles and chased down some breaks. Of course, he's not back to his best.

My only gripe with Peterson is I hope he works on his speed - otherwise he hits hard and never gives up.

Oh, and has anyone mentioned that Graham began LIMPING only minutes before he made that intercept? He definitely wasn't 100%, which is why he didn't run 100m to score.

WA Eel

Phillips said:
Langi - 7
Burt - 6
Witt - 6
Dykes - 7
Vella - 3 - #-o
Morris - 6
Stapleton - 7
Hindmarsh - 8
Wagon - 3

Hopkins - 6

Do you actually watch the game then give a rating or do you rate according to whether you like the player?

Phillips

WA Eel said:
Phillips said:
Langi - 7
Burt - 6
Witt - 6
Dykes - 7
Vella - 3 - #-o
Morris - 6
Stapleton - 7
Hindmarsh - 8
Wagon - 3

Hopkins - 6

Do you actually watch the game then give a rating or do you rate according to whether you like the player?

i watch the game then rate the player, its not my fault that Vella, Wagon, Petersen and Armit are not up to first grade level :x

WA Eel

So taking your rating of Wagon as an example, you don't believe that making a tackle is work at least 0.1 of a point? Because if you do, then even if he does nothing else, he deserves at least a 5.

Phillips

Wagon plays like shit, he has played crap for the past two yrs, last nights game was a crap game for Wagon as is all the others he has played this yr so what if he makes a heap of tackles it does not make him a good player...same goes for Vella

Goleel

Vella had one of his best games this year against Newcastle, Wagon worked his arse off, threw some passes and played a pretty decent game, and Petersen was the pick of the outside backs this weekend. Sure, you can be biased against players, nobody will deny you that, but at least admit when they've had a good game, you don't have to compliment them even, just don't say they played like rubbish when they clearly didn't.

i thought wagon played one of the best games, he did a mountain of tackes and was good in attack....51 tackles someone said, that is hindy like....

Misty Bee

Eelementary, I didn't notice Ash limping. Makes his run all the more special doesn't it.

Fair comment re Burt. That last try could only have been scored by him - I doubt if Dykes had time to plan it!

AlexTheEel

Philips you are braindead. Wagon was alsmost our best out there, Vella was outstanding in the second half and Armitt played well.

If you can't recognise this you know jack shit.

AlexTheEel said:
Philips you are braindead. Wagon was alsmost our best out there, Vella was outstanding in the second half and Armitt played well.

If you can't recognise this you know jack sh*t.

geez! I'm glad I'm not alone there! :roll:

Phillips

AlexTheEel said:

If you can't recognise this you know jack sh*t.

im sorry my opinion is different to yours, is this better

geez, Wagon is a great player better then the likes of Brad Fittler and Ben Kennedy, and Vella would be the best prop in the game, he is sure to be picked for NSW if his "great" form continues :roll: :roll: