Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

My thoughts on Tigers game.

As crazy as it sounds, I think the injury issues are a good thing this week.

Come on, walk with me......................................

I actually think missing Ryles and Poore will work for us. The tiges usually rely on a quicker more mobile pack to gain the advantage. With our two slowest forwards out, we actually gain an advantage. Our pack will still be bigger than the tiges, however we will have a much more mobile forward pack enabling the middle of the ruck to be much tighter defensively.

Johnsy says Saints by 8

The Preacher

The one thing we can't do against the Tigers is let them get a jump on us. They are a confidence side and hard to keep out once they're on a roll. We have to hit hard, hit early and hit often. (sounds like the old ALP voting tactic, vote early vote often!)

This weeks game may well determine our season. IMO we need to win it, not a must win game, but we need to get a win.

timma

Yeah i definently reckon the Dragons will beat the tigers . The replacements will step up , Dan Hunt goes good and will fit in nice . Prior looks to have heaps of potential . Thorby goes real hard with rock defence.

I would prefer Josh Morris playen instead of Gaz , he has been outstanding lately and can tackle , he made 35 against the sharks.

Dragons by 14

The Preacher

Setu is the perfect bloke to have firing against the Tigers. The runs he has been making of late would be great aimed straight at Benji.

scarcev

Lets hope its a good one fellas. Looks like we're on at 9:30 after the WWE game so might be a good enough reason to get on down to WIN. I dont reckon we could have got you at a better time injury wise, we struggle against big packs and with you blokes having Poore and Ryles out that helps. Hope Gasnier is fit enough though, the way he's going I'd rather him in than out, I know he normally puts 3 to 4 tries on us but atm he's thinking of frogs legs and women so I reckon better for us if he plays. As for form well you blokes were pretty rorted against the Sharks (oops sorry the Scum!!) but you couldnt be too upset with the effort, I reckon they all put in, and we went well against the Bulldogs U20's (the Roosters Futures). Marshall played well last week so your safe there, his next good game is due in May 2010, I reckon your biggest threat will be Heighnington he's playing good footy and Halatau normally performs against you blokes. For us i reckon your bench are the ones to watch Setu, Hunt and Chase all have the ability to carve us up. Heres hoping for a good one and as for a tip, well I reckon we'll get you by 2, unless Archer refs, we're 1 from 11 with him atm so if he refs you'll get us by 22. Hope its a good one. Cheers.

scarcev

oh yea and another thing, do you want to borrow back Corey Payne for the evening? Whats going on there? He goes that bad Im sure he should have been kept by Doust and Co. He's competing with Hussan Saleh as the worst player to pull on a Tigers jumper.

Farah hurt his ankle a bit on Sunday but he'll be right to go.

One thing that hurts the tigers is big forwards.

Just look at how Parramatta manhandled the Tigers not so long ago.

Big forwards destroy the Tigers. The loss of Ryles and Poore works in the Tigers favour, not against.

dragonfire

As crazy as it sounds, I think the injury issues are a good thing this week.

Come on, walk with me......................................

I actually think missing Ryles and Poore will work for us. The tiges usually rely on a quicker more mobile pack to gain the advantage. With our two slowest forwards out, we actually gain an advantage. Our pack will still be bigger than the tiges, however we will have a much more mobile forward pack enabling the middle of the ruck to be much tighter defensively.

Johnsy says Saints by 8

so with the form Ryles and Poore have been in and against a smaller pack it is an advantage to have them both out when they could both dominate up the middle?

Cagey Mac

Sorry Johnsy but I think that you’re off the mark here
Big packs have driven through the middle of the ruck against the Tigers and are their Achilles heel. I’m not so sure that Ryles will be out but his go forward will make a heap of difference. I’d definitely be looking to play Josh at fullback if Gaz is fit and play big Dell on the wing (hoping he can hold the ball) to help run the ball out of our red zone. Dell is the same size as Frank and could do a similar job in achieving early field position.
Beau Scott needs to avoid giving away penalties if that is possible and Chase Stanley’s improvement in defense will be tested down our right this week.
This will be a close game or a big loss for us. Pivotal week in the NRL for sure!
I would try Merrin in this game if I was Browny. Any NRL game is tough but a debut against the lighter Tigers pack could be memorable.

Cagey
Mate it isn't the 1st time I've been off the mark, and if I am, won't be the last.

I can remember the losses we have had against the tiges, and they kill us in an around the ruck, mobility in this area will help.

dragonfire

yeh some of the losses have been bad but some of the wins have been sensational, pretty sure i can remember Gasnier ripping them to shreds a couple times with doubles/hat tricks of tries