Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Neil Henry's brain explosion: round 14

julian87

I don't think it is that bad. Stops Campo hogging the ball from Carney. The one sad fact though is that Carney will be our only kicker. We need a fullback to be the second kicker, and we have one on the bench in our Under 20 side.

skeepe

Tongue's a decent kicker... you know, I was against it to begin with, but I'm beginning to come round.

I don't think there is much point speculating over the starting side when there is a very good chance it will change come the Kick off time against the Broncs.

In regards to Tounge at 5/8, at first it seems a terrible decision. However it may just spur Carney on to man up and take control of the team. He isn't our highest payed player to simply play a back seat roll in our success. He has to drive it, maybe this is just what was needed after our last two performances.

If we fail again this week, we will have no other option to bite the bullet and take a chance on one of our young halves. It will be interesting to say the least.

After being horrified wt the team initially, I'm not so sure it's a brain explosion as a clever use of the available troops. I reckon they should put Tongue at half and Carney at 5/8, but given the way they split the halves, it probably doesn't matter that much.

The big question for me is why Todd wants to be half back? He said after City v Country he was really interested in Laurie Daley's advice that he's a more natural 5/8th. It seems like everyone in Rugby League except Todd Carney (and maybe Neil Henry) thinks he's a 5/8th. He's very good at reading what's in front of him and using the players around him to play what's in front of him, but he doesn't seem to organise the players around him to set things up. Maybe it's a skill that just hasn't matured and shown itself in first grade yet. I look forward to seeing it when it does.

Given that, I reckon Tongue at half to order the forwards around isn't a bad option. At least if the opposition runs at the half all day, you could feel secure that they'd get shut down.

I can feel the bile rising after questioning Henry.

dubby

Surely this is a gee-up. Surely.

I bet it ends up something like this:

1. Milne
20. J Carney
2. Best
4. Monaghan
5. Goodwin
3. Campese
7. T Carney
8. Thommo
9. Buttriss
10. Tilse
11. Turner
12. Plum
6. Tongue

14. Miller
15. Hinchy
16. Thurling
17. Weyman

I bet Kelly ends up there, either instead of J Carney or on the bench instead of Weyman.

We need a hungry yard eater like Weyman. That forward pack has the strike power of a venus flytrap on valium.

aussies1st

I too am starting to come around to the move of Tongue at 5/8. We do need an organizer and he looks like he'll do a better job than either Campo or Carney.

I too have come around to tongue at 5/8th
ive herd that Justin Carney might play from the bench
in which case, i suspect we'll see Tongue play at 5/8th for around 20-30 minutes, before moving to the back row, Campo to 5/8th and JC in the centres

Tongue has a reasonable short kicking game and talks alot so he can organise. Its not the WORST selection ever, but id have much rather blooded Marc Herbert

aussies1st

I'll be more than happy to take that although if Tongue is going well at 5/8 may as well leave him there and move Campo to lock.

dont piss about matty, we'll both see who's right and you know it
you're just the rest of us poor saps, you'll be watching, listening, following the side on sunday arvo... and we'll find out with the 6 on his back and C by his name weather Tongue can talk the talk
Im tipping he can and will :)

matt

dont piss about matty, we'll both see who's right and you know it
you're just the rest of us poor saps, you'll be watching, listening, following the side on sunday arvo... and we'll find out with the 6 on his back and C by his name weather Tongue can talk the talk
Im tipping he can and will :)

Ha ha. i shall piss about as long as i am being pissed on..and no i shant be breaking my neck to watch a game that we will probably win against a deflated broncos side (post origin) and partake in this blatant stifling of youth..it could almost be classified as racist what these knob end's do to our youth..

matt

it's not the volume that i am concerned about it's the content and the frequency...

he strikes me as a mute.

are you suggesting that the ginga has a 5/8 mind set like the ones above...????

it's not the volume that i am concerned about it's the content and the frequency...

he strikes me as a mute.

are you suggesting that the ginga has a 5/8 mind set like the ones above...????

Hmmm. No. Not the mindset, just the voice.

Having just seen Bird playing like the dourest dullard at 5/8 in S.O.O. 2, I'm thinking inexperienced specialist halves would be preferable to experienced non specialist halves. Maybe Herbert, Smith or Picker?.

I remember a match late in 2003 against The Roosters where Toots, McLinden, and Drew were out injured, and Terry Martin was selected at 5/8 ahead of the young Michael Monaghan. Whoops. Imagine if he'd been given a chance, then resigned. He'd be handy now.

dubby

Apparantly Tonguey played a fair bit of his juniour footy in the halves, and I am led to believe it was Elliot who transformed him into a forward.

Hard to believe Elliot would turn a former half into a lock/secondrower....

matt

the fact dubs that we are even having this conversation is at best chronic.