Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New look plan for parramatta

Casper The Ghost

He's been and gone Pete. :(

Those were the days when we had players who never took a back step and worked their arses off for 80 minutes backing each other up as team players and gentlemen.
They had no concept for "back doors".
Gees, we could do with a few players like we had back then in our squad for next year.
The last player that reminded me of the 60's toughness, guts and no back door attitude was Dean Pay. Well at least we got him to help with nurturing our younger forwards.

barney gumble

Thanks Pete,

Ken was one of the greats, a true legend.

Let's bring the Captain/Coach concept back, there you go Jarryd earn your money and coach the team too!!

parra pete

Thanks Pete,

Ken was one of the greats, a true legend.

Let's bring the Captain/Coach concept back, there you go Jarryd earn your money and coach the team too!!

Would improve the football too. BTW ....Who was the last Captain/coach in the NSW FIRST GRADE competition..pre ARL/NRL?

parra pete

Was Fulton cc of Easts when beaten by Canterbury in 1980? Can't remember and I was there...It was Artie's last game in the ARL for Parra...beaten by the Bulldogs in Reserve Grade Grand Final. The Eels Reserves were coached by Ron Fearnley...(again from memory---or was it Mick Alchin)..Jack replaced the coach of the twos with John Monie, and also brought in Alf Richards, and Mick Souter as part of his team.
God Jack was great (thanks scoop!)...

incidently if it wasn't for gold coast back then, we'd probably win a wooden spoon or two in the early 90s

oneguy

Was Fulton cc of Easts when beaten by Canterbury in 1980? Can't remember and I was there...

Fulton was the coach but didn't play in the GF. Not sure how many games he played that year. If at all, think he might have retired by then Royce Ayliffe was the captain. Great GF remembered by that Gearin try.

parra pete

Bubba Gearin taking a Brentnal kick on the full. We (Hay Magpies) had Steve and Chris Mortimer attend the Hay Clubs Presentation Night THAT year. Terrific blokes..we had good fun with both of them...

Parramatta's most influencial players of all time would have to be: Ken Thornett, Ray Price, Peter Sterling and Michael Cronin - and probably in that order (in my opinion).

What about ol' Hindy? Has he done enough to be considered in the same breath as greats like Price, Thornett, Kenny, Sterling, etc?

guruminga

Any of you mob remember a Parra player named Paul Jackson? I ran into an old mate in Uluru last week and he said he's working with him at AAT Kings. My mate's prone to exaggeration, but said he'll be sitting with him on smoko and Sterlo would give him a call for catch ups, etc.

When did he play? Was he any good? Did he play Rep footy?

G