Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New recruits for 2023

kit66

Our lack of depth is appalling.
Injuries and suspensions are going to happen ultimately and we will be struggling to compete.
As you say, our only chance is a dream run with injuries and suspensions.

Yep, it's a worry. We haven't had much luck with anything for years, someone's broken a mirror or two.
Losing two of our most talented youngsters is a cruel blow and something we could never afford with our already well below par roster.
Still, we have Bud and Sloan as ready made and quality replacements for Amone and Cody and Mbye and Jack Bird as back up for those two which is kind of fortunate really. It's still our forwards giving me the most ulcers.

Sloan by the way is 84 kgs and turns 21 on the 3rd March so still growing you'd think. Changa was 78kgs, Papenhuysen is 80kg so I don't think Sloan will have any issues seeing out a whole season, just needs to do better defensively.

L
Yep, it's a worry. We haven't had much luck with anything for years, someone's broken a mirror or two.
Losing two of our most talented youngsters is a cruel blow and something we could never afford with our already well below par roster.
Still, we have Bud and Sloan as ready made and quality replacements for Amone and Cody and Mbye and Jack Bird as back up for those two which is kind of fortunate really. It's still our forwards giving me the most ulcers.

Sloan by the way is 84 kgs and turns 21 on the 3rd March so still growing you'd think. Changa was 78kgs, Papenhuysen is 80kg so I don't think Sloan will have any issues seeing out a whole season, just needs to do better defensively.
Yes Changa was only 78kgs but you forgot to say the hard head forward of the era Noel Kelly was only 89 kgs whereas the props today are > 110 kgs

So the difference is immense.

Jeremy Dragon

We now have Bird and Mbye (highly paid players) surplus to our requirements. We could have purchased a Burton or Hyne or even a couple of top-level props for their combined salary.

Sullivan's natural position is halfback however he remains unproven and has a terrible injury track record. I have no problem starting the season with the team list below:
1. Sloan - 80min - if Ramsey is not fit to play
2. Matt Feagai - 80 min - our number-one winger
3. Suli - 80min - backup is Max Feagai
4. Lomax - 80min - our best center
5. Ravalawa - 80 min - providing is is100% fit.
6. Hunt - 80min - even though I would prefer him as our hooker
7. Sullivan - 40min - share with Mbye
8. De Belin - 60 min - given we need to find a place for Bird in the team
9. Liddle - 60 min - share with Mbye
10. F Molo - 60 min - he has to be in the run-on 13
11. M. Molo - 60 min - in my opinion, our best option right now
12. Su'A - 60 min - our best edge forward
13. Bird - 60 min - would prefer De Belin but here we are

14. Mbye - 40 min - at hooker and halfback
15. Lawrie - 20 min - replace De Belin
16. Musgrave - 20 min - replace F Molo
17. Murdoch-Masila - 60 min - rotation with back row

Hahaha rotating the halves fking gold
Our most promising player in years and ur subbing him off for the second half
How exactly are you going to rotate Liddle Mybe and Sullivan how many interchange you wasting

Jeremy Dragon

Has Sloan played any 5/8 in his junior years, he's certainly got some silky ball skills, is an excellent ball runner and must have some organizational skills like every good fullback should. He could be very dangerous closer in and attacking the line with Hunt. Could be the solution to our Amone problem and allow Ramsey to slot straight back in to No1 when he's fit. It also allows Bud to slot straight into No7 when Hunt leaves. I worry that Hunt and Bud are both half backs and may have some trouble working together. I want Bud to be first choice to partner Hunt but if that doesn't work out we need options that take us forward as a team not just rely on stopgap measures to "get us through" like sticking Mbye in there or even Bird unless we intend Jack to make the move semi-permanent (all year sort of thing), with Bud to 14.

Edit: possm, you're not going to get 60 minutes out of BMM, not happening.
Played all his club footy at 5,/8 it's in his highlights reel

kit66

Played all his club footy at 5,/8 it's in his highlights reel

I thought as much. So there you go, a perfect solution, at least worth a trial. Sloan to 5/8, Bud to 14, Feagai to fullback and then the pieces fall into place when Hunt leaves and Cody comes back. I'm not sure we'll see Amone again. Work towards the future, start now.

kit66

L

Yes Changa was only 78kgs but you forgot to say the hard head forward of the era Noel Kelly was only 89 kgs whereas the props today are > 110 kgs

So the difference is immense.

Noted, thanks I wasn't aware of your average forwards weight back then, I just happened to have read somewhere Changa's weight and it stuck.
I was actually responding to parko's post back a page about Sloan's ability / stamina to last a whole season and I don't think it's an issue. 84 kgs isn't that small and fullbacks don't make that many one on one tackles against props except close to the line. I also think he'll add weight over the next year or two naturally. It's his speed and agility that I want to see from him.

Fullback Langlands may have been 78 kg but his front on defence and cover defence is unmatched to this day.
Changa had a huge heart and no sense of self preservation and to be honest he wasn’t the only one like that.

Chook Raper was no bigger than Changa and he did lots of tackles but of course had a perfect technique in the golden age of cover tackling locks.

Sloan has to learn to be fearless and commit to the effort required and if he does he’ll be ok.

SnowDragon

Loosing 2 talented young guys IS an issue,

BUT, at least in this case it opens up opportunity for 2 more in Sloan and Bud. Assuming no injuries we should know the long term potential in 12 months. Hopefully Ramsey gets well, and Amone is somehow innocent (I know🫡 ) then we have a full team for 24. But if we loose players, at least we can hit the market and/or develop.

imagine the alternative when bud and Sloan are stuck in Reserves and kicking stones. Upset and telling their mates… (trying to look positive)

dungay dragon

Has Sloan played any 5/8 in his junior years, he's certainly got some silky ball skills, is an excellent ball runner and must have some organizational skills like every good fullback should. He could be very dangerous closer in and attacking the line with Hunt. Could be the solution to our Amone problem and allow Ramsey to slot straight back in to No1 when he's fit. It also allows Bud to slot straight into No7 when Hunt leaves. I worry that Hunt and Bud are both half backs and may have some trouble working together. I want Bud to be first choice to partner Hunt but if that doesn't work out we need options that take us forward as a team not just rely on stopgap measures to "get us through" like sticking Mbye in there or even Bird unless we intend Jack to make the move semi-permanent (all year sort of thing), with Bud to 14.

Edit: possm, you're not going to get 60 minutes out of BMM, not happening.
Any updates on Ramseys condition ?

steerlerbab

Bud will make it this year (same as junior last year) if he stays injury free and when Hunt is in origin duties he may get several weeks as half his preferred position or he may become our regular dummy half. But Sloan, we only have to look at his last game to see that he is not yet ready. In offence, Sloan is freakish. He scores 10 out of 10. However, his defence at best is 2 out of 10 and RL first grader should be able to defend!

Have a look at 0:54 to see what I mean.

Bud will make it this year (same as junior last year) if he stays injury free and when Hunt is in origin duties he may get several weeks as half his preferred position or he may become our regular dummy half. But Sloan, we only have to look at his last game to see that he is not yet ready. In offence, Sloan is freakish. He scores 10 out of 10. However, his defence at best is 2 out of 10 and RL first grader should be able to defend!

Have a look at 0:54 to see what I mean.
Pretty poor effort that. To be fair, the Bronco's defensive efforts in Feagai's try were almost as bad.

Bird, Mbye (highly paid players) surplus to our requirements. We could have purchased a Burton or Hyne or even a couple of top-level props for their combined salary.
You are saying Bird is surplus to requirements yet in the same sentence you say we have to find a place for him and you want him to usurp JDB, arguably our best lock in the modern era? Stick Bird on the bench if we have to have him in the 17. But dead set he is a jack of all trades and a master of none. He stinks up more backline moves than an overflowing dunny.

Sloan has some silky ball skills, is an excellent ball runner and must have some organizational skills like every good fullback should. He could be very dangerous closer in and attacking the line
A good idea to give him a crack at 5/8 if Amone is gone. He sure does have organizational skills. Saw him take apart a side last season with three fabulous try assists. The best when he beat two defenders with his blistering almost gliding pace then linked up with his winger and popped an almost impossible pass to put him in the clear. His other two came from splitting the defense and throwing a cut out and again splitting the defense and chip kicking for his outside supports. He scored two of his own too from memory backing up then using his pace and silky footwork.

R&WTILLIDIE

Changa had a huge heart and no sense of self preservation and to be honest he wasn’t the only one like that.

Chook Raper was no bigger than Changa and he did lots of tackles but of course had a perfect technique in the golden age of cover tackling locks.

Sloan has to learn to be fearless and commit to the effort required and if he does he’ll be ok.
Sloan needs to show some balls because he looks like a deer in the headlights when he has to make a tackle or catch a contested high ball

Qdf

High Standard or marquee players join a team for one of the following reasons:
1. Top Administrator (for example Gould of Bullgos/Pentrith fame)
2. Top Coach (one that has reputation to make top 4 - Only available one now is Hasler I think)
3. A no-frills team with a coach known for team building abilities that makes top 8

In case of dragons considering 2023 season, we have a no-frills team (bar Hunt and De belin and they both are at the end of their respective careers). Let's hope Hook can finally stand up to his team building reputation and take the team to top 8. Then, we can expect marquee player's managers enquiring about joining the dragons for 2024. Otherwise, it is all wishful thinking.

BTW, N Brown is also a team builder. Not sure if he and Hook can work together for 2023.

Sloan needs to show some balls because he looks like a dear in the headlights when he has to make a tackle or catch a contested high ball
Yes hope to see a big improvement in Sloan's defence. Also his taking of the bomb,really needs to improve. It looked so bad when given a chance last year. He looked like he was scared to run in and take the bomb on the full. So give him a go at fullback in the trials. If he fails again at fullback, maybe wing is his position.