Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New Silverchair - Straight Lines

Simo

HevyDevy said:
Yes but you like Robbie Williams too.

I gotta admit I laughed out loud when I read that ( i dont find robbie that bad but I have to say it was a good one liner!)

As for the song I dont think it is that great and agree with those that think johns is a wanker.

But you know what I really did like about the song.....the drum beat, I think the drummer comes up with some good stuff and thats rare for me to say as A drummer is often a member of a band that can be replaced and noone can tell the difference.

The song itelf - a bit gay for me (but then I never like silverchair bar the odd son) The beat - I dig it.

HevyDevy

That's an interesting point.

A good drummer SHOULD be noticed. A good drummer should stand out rather than playing dull 4/4 beats - why listen to a drummer you could find at the local pub when there are some magnificent musicians out there?

Just my thoughts.

skeepe

Simo said:
IBut you know what I really did like about the song.....the drum beat, I think the drummer comes up with some good stuff and thats rare for me to say as A drummer is often a member of a band that can be replaced and noone can tell the difference.

f**king nonsense.

You're clearly listening to the wrong bands if that's the case.

Simo

skeepe said:
f**king nonsense.

You're clearly listening to the wrong bands if that's the case.

Come on now Skeepe let be serious, if a band changes singer you know it straight away, changes lead guitarist you can usually tell (I can as a guitarist), bass player - much like the drummer in most bands (chili peppers is a good e.g. of a bass player you would miss, drummer - could be anyone in a lot of bands and you would not know.

Of course depends on the band which is why I said 'often' you will not notice them.

Simo

HevyDevy said:
That's an interesting point.

A good drummer SHOULD be noticed. A good drummer should stand out rather than playing dull 4/4 beats - why listen to a drummer you could find at the local pub when there are some magnificent musicians out there?

Just my thoughts.

Not being one to notice drummers that much I agree with your points and I wrote what I did because for once the drums stood out as one of the catchiest parts of the song.

Mr. Fahrenheit

mate skeepe has got a point, bands with good drummers are noticeable, same goes for bass as well as lead and guitar. Look at AC/DC with the change in vocals its not ALL that noticeable..., but then ill bring up your RHCP example, OHM was soo diff because of Navarro. So yeah if their good enough then their noticeable.

Simo

Of course if there good enough there noticeable but in way to many bands they are just stock standard beats...... im complimenting the drummer here as he did a good job.

*edit, forgot about OHM and the chilis does anyone else think 'walkabout' is a good song and has that melody that goes of and on beat every second go?

next time you listen to The Police take note of the drums.
Also nothoing to do with Silverchair but when I saw the stones I watched Charlie Watts and he has the strangest style.
He can't or wont hit the hi-hat at the same time as hitting the snare drum when playing a basic rock beat.
So he does 2 on hi-hat one on snare .
watch here

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_QAbA984FyE

CC_Eagle

Charlie Watts is strange full stop.

Straight Lines, I liked it.

Quite gay, but a f*cking catchy as hell melody.

HevyDevy

carcharias said:
next time you listen to The Police take note of the drums.
Also nothoing to do with Silverchair but when I saw the stones I watched Charlie Watts and he has the strangest style.
He can't or wont hit the hi-hat at the same time as hitting the snare drum when playing a basic rock beat.
So he does 2 on hi-hat one on snare .
watch here

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_QAbA984FyE

Yeah or even hitting the eighth note which always makes things interesting.

It's often a sign that the drummer has actually put some thought into what he's doing rather than just plugging along in basic timing with the occasional predictable fill.

Drummers worth listening to include:

Vinnie Colauita (Sting)
Stewart Copeland (The Police)
Mike Portnoy (Dream Theater)
Danny Carey (Tool)
Raymond Heirera (Fear Factory - the double kick is immense)

There are plenty of jazz and metal drummers that are amazing but too many and, on LU, too obscure to name.

skeepe

Simo said:
Come on now Skeepe let be serious, if a band changes singer you know it straight away, changes lead guitarist you can usually tell (I can as a guitarist), bass player - much like the drummer in most bands (chili peppers is a good e.g. of a bass player you would miss, drummer - could be anyone in a lot of bands and you would not know.

Of course depends on the band which is why I said 'often' you will not notice them.

Actually a change in drummer is often one of the most noticable things. Drummers all have different styles, and they are responsible for carrying the timing of the song. Change a drummer and you change the whole dynamic of a band.

Simo

Well we are getting well into opinion territory with lots of variables (different bands,good drummer, bad drummer), but rank band memebers you would notice changed (again this is way to general but hey why not).

Mine:
1 - Singer
2 - Lead Guitarist
3 - bass/drummer

Christmas Ape

I agree with Skeepe. AC/DC is a good example.
I reckon the change of drummers in AC/DC affected them more than the change of singer.
They lost a lot of groove when Phil Rudd left.

As for Ben Gillies, he's really matured into a great drummer of the last couple of Silverchair albums. He's obviously copped a lot of stuff from John Bonham but if you're going to be influenced by someone, it may as well be Bonham.

And Charlie Watts doesn't always do that syncopated hi-hat thing. He plays straight 8ths more often than not but can mix it up when the song needs it like on Start Me Up.
I'm not a Stones fan at all but I really like Charlie, a very musical and solid drummer. You could set your watch to him.

CC_Eagle

When Rudd left thats when AC/DC turned to sh*t.

May as well have had a drum machine instead of Chris Slade, absolutey horrible.

Simo

Christmas Ape,

But if you didnt know they had changed drummer and heard a new song on the radio, you could easily think that was there new stlye.

If you didnt know they had changed singer, the moment he starts screaching you would think 'hang on thats not bonn scott'.