Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Newton goes from scrapheap to champion

Frederick

Newton goes from scrapheap to champion

By Josh Massoud
October 01, 2007 12:00am

CLINT Newton wrote a fairy tale last night, but his secret wish of being immortalised under a beer bottle cap remains unfulfilled.

"I would have made great trivia question for a bottle cap: Who was the only player to play for the wooden spooners and the premiers in the same season," Newton said.

Unfortunately, Newcastle let him down. It was left to his adopted Melbourne to make amends last night.

Even if it isn't read upon cracking open a stubbie, Newton's tale of 2007 will live forever in the game's feel-good folklore.

In the space of just four months, the 26-year-old back-rower has gone from the scrapheap at Newcastle to the penthouse with Melbourne - scoring a try in the 73rd minute to cap a terrific grand final debut.

In a sport defined by giving battlers a chance, Newton personified the power of rugby league.

"I was probably at the lowest point in my career when I left Newcastle," he recalled. "I was emotionally and mentally gone.

"But Melbourne and (coach) Craig Bellamy had faith in me. That's what it's all about. As a player, all you are after is a bit of faith and that's what makes it so special."

As Newcastle as Henny Penny and Nobby's Head, Newton and his famous golfing father Jack are now in danger of embracing the cafe lattes and tram lines of Melbourne.

Newcastle's former No. 1 fan, Newton Sr, was dressed in so much purple he looked like Grimace. The outfit even fooled Prime Minister John Howard, who leaned over and asked: "G'day Jack - so you've been a Storm man for a while then?"

Albeit wrong, Howard had a point. Newton Snr didn't just look like part of the Melbourne family - he is.

"Ever since Clint has come down here, they've taken us under their wing," Newton Snr said. "Blood is thicker than water. Newcastle are 40-love down and the ball's with them as far as I'm concerned."

Two words written in silver on Storm's jersey summed up the feeling in the club: "Together 07".

Second rower Jeremy Smith explained the simple motto was the Storm's slogan for the entire year. "The leadership group came up with it at the start of the season and that's how we've approached things," Smith said.

It was on show in actions, as well as words. Departing recruitment manager Peter O'Sullivan was still crying an hour after fulltime, revealing that Storm CEO Brian Waldron had handed him a Premiership Ring.

"They asked the NRL to make me an extra one," said O'Sullivan, who is joining the Roosters next year. "That's what this club is all about. I don't want to leave, but I have to because my kids are in Sydney."

Whether Newton joins an exodus that also includes prop Ben Cross, centre Matt King and manager Dean Lance, remains to be seen. He will decide in the next week whether to take up a rich offer from UK club Hull KR.

"I'm still 50-50, but I'm a positive person," Newton said.

Everything depends on Smith. Melbourne are considering releasing the Kiwi from the final year of his current deal to take up an offer from St George Illawarra. The equation is simple. If Smith goes, Newton stays.

"I've got to think about where I stand and what my family wants to do before I decide whether it's worth moving," Smith said.

If last night was one final fling for them all, then Newton's best mate Mick Crocker deserves the final say.

"It's like tantric sex - you have a big build up and once you get to the climax it's fantastic," he said.
LINK

Makes me f**king sick :x

Apey

Anyone remember that thing on the footy show when Mario handed Jack a cup of tea on a plate? :lol: One of my favourite things I ever saw on that show.

Just reminded me... anyway, usual response... newtons a dick!

Have to wonder about priorities of a sportsman. If he was at the lowest point of his career, how about the rest of the team? His captain? It's obvious that he's only satisfied when the team is winning, but to the extreme that he gives up when the team is in trouble. Given that, he won't be happy at Hull, and by all he's put forward he deserves to be miserable.

I'd imagine a lot of current and former players who actually had a backbone would tell him to pull his head in, and I'm surprised there hasn't been such a reaction. Thing is, Newton decided to leave, and he has no obligation to feel any loyalty to Newcastle, that much I can accept. He is also fair enough in showing his support for the Storm, because after all he plays for them. But because of his attitude, nobody owes him anything, and he is setting himself up for the most glorious of falls. Oh, and he's a merkin.

Misanthrope

How nice of him to spend the year hoping we'd get the wooden spoon. I feel less bad about spending the year hoping he'd get hit by a bus now.

Newcastle are 40-love down and the ball's with them as far as I'm concerned."

He makes it sound like we'll be sorry to lose him. I sincerely hope Jack encounters another light airplane soon.

Alex28

He is a bit of a goose...I mean to take such joy out of the club he walked out of is a tad ridiculous. I mean share your joy in what you have achieved, but there is no need for a shot at your former team - and his mates - lack of achievements.

Oh...and for the record Clint...they would have won without you. You were a bit part and nothing else.

Spitty

You really know who the true loyal fans an players are by how they react when the chips are down.

It's no coincidence that Newton's willing to earn sweet FA to stay with a winning team rather than go to a struggling side in the UK.

Watch him jump out of his $70K a year contract as soon as the Storm hit a rough patch, and mark my word a rough patch is just around the corner for them.

Bring it home Knights

Newton has crapped on for ages about the knights and brian smith! Maybe Brian Smith deserves a big pat on the back as he may have noticed that newtons only loyalty remains with himself and that is one of the reasons brian didn't offer a contract before he left!

Well done Brian! Keep up the good work.

Also 90% of smith bashing/newton loving articles are all from the same w@nker!

Does Josh Massoud have obsessive compulsive disorder or something?

Frederick

There was an article in the SMH that said Craig Bellamy donated his premiership ring to Garret Crossman, who was 18th man for the GF, and for at least 2 days in the week leading up to it was in the team.

It should've been Newton giving up his ring, seeings as Crossman has been a big part of the team for the last two years, while Newton waltzed in halfway through the year and rode all their coattails to glory

Eelectrica

Newton is by far and away lower than Jamie Lyon. At least Lyon never wished a spoon on us.
Hope you guys smash him next year. He deserves it and then some.

PrideKnight

Bushie, I stole your avatar. I will never support Manly again no matter what, for allowing Newton to get a premiership to his name. I hope Jack loses his other arm giving Clint a prostate exam, elbow deep...

And i look forward to seeing this seething pile of excrement spend his last years playing park footy, or even better, playing AMNRL for the Jacksonville Axemen and playing 28th man for the tomahawks, that would be sweeeeeeet

All this Newton fiasco shows is that B. Smith was right in punting him.

Clint was a dead-set passenger at Newcastle and from the form he has
shown down at the Storm it is obvious to me that he should
have pulled his finger out years ago when he played for us.

But he was content in just being “one of the boys,” who were picked
week after week under the Michael “Clown-Shoes” Hagan selection committee or
The Babysitter Club as it should be known.

keeney

Newton hasn't been that special at the Storm. He's just surrounded by possibly the best team I've ever seen.

Tams

The thing that really made me mad was when they were talking to Newton after the match and he said, "This one's for all me mates in Newcastle." Ummm...does he not realise he has no mates in Newcastle any more?

Twat.