Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Newtown Players

• Thread starter Deleted member 10972
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 10972

What players do we get...or lose...when we join with Newtown? That may fluctuate what i originally proposed to be my First Grade 17.

D

Deleted member 10972

And i also heard rumors about Ashton Sims & Michael Monaghan moving over...pretty cool i must say. So far our line-up next year IF WE GET Sims & Monas could possibly be:

1. Anthony Minichiello
2. Amos Roberts
3. Ryan Cross
4. Iosia Soliola
5. Joel Monaghan (hopefully Michael boosts his form otherwise time for a young gun)
6. Braith Anasta
7. Jamie Soward
8. Adrian Morley
9. Craig Wing
10. Mark Edmondson
11. Chris Flannery
12. Crag Fitzgibbon
13. Ashley Harrison

14. Anthony Tupou
15. Michael Monaghan
16. Richard Fa'aoso
17. Ashton Sims

Alternatively Monas could slot in to either halfback or hooker, relegating Soward or Wing to the bench. As much as he is going on about staying, i have an inkling he might want to come along, but if he decides to stay at Manly, then so be it. And with the addition of the Newtown players (Roosters reply so i know who is to be available to us next year!), we might end up with a definite chance of making the finals series. I mean...look at that bench already, that's 100% impact. And does Newtown by chance have any talented halfback/hooker type players that could be used as a bench option for us (filling Monas' spot if he doesn't come)? Or any barnstorming forwards (filling Sims' spot if he doesn't come, or Edmondson's spot if he doesn't perform)? Or backs that might perform better then Joel this year? I want to know more about this merger and our options available next year ASAP!

2 True Blues

I think it is too early to say at this stage mate. Players Like Phil Luelili, James Stosic, Clifford MANUA, ( Not sure is Kevin KINGSTON has also signed a Cronulla contract ) have all played or play in first grade for Cronulla, and were all Newtown players/signings in 2004 that were given Cronulla contracts when this years deal was organised between the clubs. Cronulla basically signed up our best players from 2004 and as such we would have lost them next season. Newtown signings and players of quality that are not yet signed by the Sharks include Frank SAMIA, David THOMPSON, John SINISA, ( Think David HALL has not yet been signed ), Lafi MANUA, Thommas GEMMEL, Andrew LEBRETON, Alf DUNCAN, Jardine BOBONGIE. There is also a lot of up and coming quality players that play in our Jim Beam cup squad such as Ricky LYONS, Hamillton HUGHES, Wayne BUCKLEY, David VIAL, Andrew MORTIMER, and many others.

A lot of these Jim Beam players are already up to Premier League standard however some didnt get their chance this season as Cronulla prefered to give their Jersey Flegg players the opportunities even though some of the players mentioned above are of better standard and skills.

Obvioulsy Nathan MERRITT ( Cronulla signing ) will now be going to Souths next season. Other players of quality such as Beau SCOTT, Russell AITKIN, Ryan McGOLDRICK, Ben GREEN, Luke HARLEN, Cameron CIRALDO are all Sharks signings that played most of the year in Premier league. Am not sure as to whether Cronulla have re-signed them or if they will be going elsewhere as some come of contract at seasons end. If they do come off contract it is simply too soon to know if they will be given contracts with Newtown and thus come over to be available for Roosters selection next season.

DUMAS who played the first half of the season ( as a Cronulla signing ) played for the Jets in reserve grade. He is already, as you would be aware, at the roosters having been let lose to the Roosters several weeks ago.

It is simply too soon to be sure of who will be retained by the Jets and/or the Sharks.

One thing is for sure. The Jets have some quality players coming thru the lower ranks, and one of the best coaches in rugby league in Col MURPHY.

2 True Blues

Jim Beam Cup

Round: 21
Date: Sat 13th August
Venue: Henson Park
Kick Off: 04:30 PM
Opposition: Asquith

1 Hamilton Hughes
2 Ricky Lyons
3 Wissam El Masri
4 Nathan McMahon
5 Rodney Peake
6 Andrew Mortimer
7 Ryan Dickson
8 Lafi Manua
9 Kiel Roberts
10 David Vial
11 Laurie Bamblett
12 Rimini Rewiti
13 Glenn Sedwell
INTERCHANGE
14 Ricky Roberts
15 Sasho Stosic
16 Sean Hudson
17 Chris Aho
18 Adam Bennett

Heres the Jim Beam line-up for this Saturday. There are several players missing due to injuries and others stepping up for the premier league game.

2 True Blues

EL MASRI ( from Canterbury ) younger brother.
STOSIC signed by Sharks ( younger brother ).
Steve MORTIMERS son,
Clifford MANUA's younger brother.

* Although my favourites are Ricky LYONS and Hamilton HUGHES. BUCKLEY on the bench for Premier League this weekend is also very good *.

lolesi

Andrew Mortimer up and coming player?
He is what, 24 now and had injuries all his career.

Good bloke, abit of talent but geez thats about it.

Frank has a fractured leg at present but is not a bad winger.
David Thompson I like. A player that just does his job he is not too dissimilar to Peter Cusack in that department I guess.

Jeffles

For the PL, David Thompson, Kevin Kingston and Frank Samia performed very well and they are Newtown contracted for 2005.

Also, whilst not poaching, if Cronulla decided to offload some of their fringe first graders and the Chooks were interested, the change of deals with Newtown could be attractive for the move.

roosters4life

LeagueFanNumeroUno said:
And i also heard rumors about Ashton Sims & Michael Monaghan moving over...pretty cool i must say. So far our line-up next year IF WE GET Sims & Monas could possibly be:

1. Anthony Minichiello
2. Amos Roberts
3. Ryan Cross
4. Iosia Soliola
5. Joel Monaghan (hopefully Michael boosts his form otherwise time for a young gun)
6. Braith Anasta
7. Jamie Soward
8. Adrian Morley
9. Craig Wing
10. Mark Edmondson
11. Chris Flannery
12. Crag Fitzgibbon
13. Ashley Harrison

14. Anthony Tupou
15. Michael Monaghan
16. Richard Fa'aoso
17. Ashton Sims

Alternatively Monas could slot in to either halfback or hooker, relegating Soward or Wing to the bench. As much as he is going on about staying, i have an inkling he might want to come along, but if he decides to stay at Manly, then so be it. And with the addition of the Newtown players (Roosters reply so i know who is to be available to us next year!), we might end up with a definite chance of making the finals series. I mean...look at that bench already, that's 100% impact. And does Newtown by chance have any talented halfback/hooker type players that could be used as a bench option for us (filling Monas' spot if he doesn't come)? Or any barnstorming forwards (filling Sims' spot if he doesn't come, or Edmondson's spot if he doesn't perform)? Or backs that might perform better then Joel this year? I want to know more about this merger and our options available next year ASAP!

wheres morley

D

Deleted member 10972

We turned down Michael Monaghan...extended Finch's contract...& released Ned Catic to the Cowboys...please allow me to break something...

2 True Blues

The Roosters will also benefit by the fact Newtown fields a team in Jim Beam cup, as this will allow the Roosters to retain some junior players that may have otherwise been lost to the club. Also giving them an extra amount of depth and an extra team to select options from. A team that plays in a competative competition of footy, that can only benefit their up and coming advancement in the game and their individual careers.

ozzie

I for one am looking forward to this partnership - I only hope that Newtown doesn't get screwed - because there are many benefits for both clubs. Does the Newtown Club still have a leagues club? because one day I would have to have a beer there. I used to know the old club because I lived in Stanmore in those days..