Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Next TV deal discussion 2028 -

Iamback

Doesn't suprise me, when I lived in London Darts was televised and popular all over the UK, unfortunately RL has never been popular outside of Northern England.

And of course, it just because old mate has negotiated a TV Deal with Darts doesn't mean SL is suddenly worth more

He thinks DAZN that could of picked up ESL rights for the price of a cup of coffee.... suddenly will pay up because they own Foxtel

Trifili13

I provided that range to cover good bad scenarios

Sorry for having an opinion

I don’t think 500 million will be a good result
Wasn't questioning your figures as I have no idea what the next value will be or your right to have an opinion and speculate an amount. If you read what I wrote, I was questioning why you said "if both bid". Are you worried one of them might not bid?

taste2taste

This thread is becoming very difficult to follow.

I might be stating the obvious but annything under 500m pa would be a poor result.

Stan and Da Zone bidding will increase the pay tv rights, if 7 can put in a bid for SOO or Thursday footy.. etc it will increase FTA rights.

Adding new teams won’t necessarily increase content to sell, the NRL have said they may reduce the season length which will result in roughly the same amount of games to sell.

Current deal is in the 400 range so a 25% increase would be a very good result. Anything less than 450 a very bad result. Will all depend on if there is competition for the rights and how serious that bidding is. If we will even find out how much it gets sold for is another question given the secrecy around the last deal and the hiding of the true media revenue in the accounts since Vlad took over.

Wb1234

Current deal is in the 400 range so a 25% increase would be a very good result. Anything less than 450 a very bad result. Will all depend on if there is competition for the rights and how serious that bidding is. If we will even find out how much it gets sold for is another question given the secrecy around the last deal and the hiding of the true media revenue in the accounts since Vlad took over.
Super rugby is looking at a 30 percent increase and they cut the number of teams and games by 25 percent

Four expansion teams should be worth at least 100 million plus an increase on the old deal as the economy has grown / will have grown for ten years

Both afl and super rugby got 30 percent increases (one with much less content, the other by adding Tasmania and the gather round)

Just because nrl has done one good tv deal since 98 doesn’t mean they won’t knock this out of the park and head towards 600 million with that fugaze contra

Super rugby is looking at a 30 percent increase and they cut the number of teams and games by 25 percent

Four expansion teams should be worth at least 100 million plus an increase on the old deal as the economy has grown / will have grown for ten years

Both afl and super rugby got 30 percent increases (one with much less content, the other by adding Tasmania and the gather round)

Just because nrl has done one good tv deal since 98 doesn’t mean they won’t knock this out of the park and head towards 600 million with that fugaze contra
should, could, maybe. Nothing is certain.
If you'd have said in 2021 Vlad would sign a tv deal that offered no growth in FTA and the PTV increase barely covered the cost of the new Brisbane club coming in I would have said no chance. such are the vagaries of business.

I'd rather he not turn it into WWE like he has darts. Darts has yo yo'd in popularity in UK and some become famous in UK for decades, I grew up knowing names like Eric Bristow and Jocky Wilson despite never having watched a darts match in my life.
So did we in the 80's.
There was a sports show on Saturday arvo with Chapelli and Mike Gibson called "Wide World of Sports"
It was unreal.
The two foreign sayings we learnt from that were
"ONE HUNDRED AND EEEEIIIIIGHHHTTTYYY'" mostly watching Jocky Wilson and Eric Bristow
And
"LETS GO TO THE VIDEO TAPE!"
Courtesy of Warner Wolf in The US.

Anyway, carry on. I just like my little moments of trivia.

Wb1234

should, could, maybe. Nothing is certain.
If you'd have said in 2021 Vlad would sign a tv deal that offered no growth in FTA and the PTV increase barely covered the cost of the new Brisbane club coming in I would have said no chance. such are the vagaries of business.
Covid

If I told you in 2019 that within ten years vlad would’ve added Brisbane 2 Perth bears png and n2 you would’ve said no chance too

Or that nrl would be playing games in Vegas before 40k plus crowds