Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Next TV deal discussion 2028 -

They only axed it cause clubs were complaining about short turnaround

Then your genius mate smith got sacked and the nrl had to accept Friday 6 pm which is even worse
Clubs didnt like it, fans didnt like it. Crowd avg was way lower than Friday 6pm

Steel Saints

Problem with Monday nights is it's unfair on the two teams who play in that timeslot, while the rest of the comp is already preparing for the next game. Also the MNF game, just two days before origin was treated as an afterthought. Five days of footy is overkill. Have Sunday night footy.

The NRL doesn't need to bring back MNF. They are bringing in two new teams. You would only consider Monday nights if there was no expansion. When NRL goes to broadcasters, they should always offer something new.

BuffaloRules

Problem with Monday nights is it's unfair on the two teams who play in that timeslot, while the rest of the comp is already preparing for the next game. Also the MNF game, just two days before origin was treated as an afterthought. Five days of footy is overkill. Have Sunday night footy.

The NRL doesn't need to bring back MNF. They are bringing in two new teams. You would only consider Monday nights if there was no expansion. When NRL goes to broadcasters, they should always offer something new.

They have an extra game now ..so there is some argument for it …

If they have it …just have it for like 12 games a year or something at the start and end of the season…and give it a rest in winter when crappy weather abounds and Origin around …

Wb1234

Clubs didnt like it, fans didnt like it. Crowd avg was way lower than Friday 6pm
Fans on tv loved it

Crowds were on par with Friday 6 pm

Clubs are whores if it means a big bump in the tv deal they won’t care

If the nrl wants to reduce by two rounds they need to be offering streaming of origin and mnf if they want to get 450 to 500 million pa out of Foxtel or Stan

Crowds were on par with Friday 6 pm
Anecdotally no they weren't. Unless you have data to prove otherwise?
6pm if scheduled well has drawn ok crowds, and with an eventual, hopeful second NZ club it becomes even better a slot. No one liked Monday nights to go to games.

steeden.

Anecdotally no they weren't. Unless you have data to prove otherwise?
6pm if scheduled well has drawn ok crowds, and with an eventual, hopeful second NZ club it becomes even better a slot. No one liked Monday nights to go to games.
The increasing return to office and decline from WFH probably supports MNF a little more now than it did even 12 months ago.

If MNF did come back, and if it wasn't given a 'marquee' designation, it would be unlikely there'd be a MNF game every week, and with appropriate and proactive scheduling it might not impact the crowd figures as much.

In the 16 team era we had a time of 2 byes (up to and including 2017) and 1 bye (2018 onwards). Depending how they're structured you could write off a number of MNF games with:
- 6 shorter rounds due to byes (before and after each Origin game)
- for Magic Round, and
- the last round of the year being a late Sunday night game again

That makes 8 rounds of no MNF

From there, there's a number of show/other public holidays that fall on Mondays that you could work into to make an event out of it. Using 2025, and cities that have hosted NRL games before:
1. 3 March: Labour Day (WA) (Make it the Bears season kickoff game)
2. 10 March: Labour Day (Victoria) & Canberra Day (could alternate each year, maybe focus on Melbourne since the AFL wouldn't have started yet)
3. 28 March Toowoomba Show day
4. Easter Monday (already designated with Tigers Eels)
5. Qld Labour Day in May (which magic round periodically lines up with - make it a Broncos home game)
6. 2 June: Reconciliation Day (Canberra)
7. Kings Birthday (already designated with Bulldogs)
8. 19 June: Mackay show
9. 7 July: Townsville show (make it a Cowboys home game)
10. 11 August: Moreton and Redlands (make it a Dolphins home game at Kayo)

That's 10 Mondays gone through proactive scheduling, with another 8 out with short rounds for Origin and Magic (18 total) and suddenly we only have ~6-9 (depending on season length) left to schedule.

Pad those out with a combo of regional/smaller venues (Sunshine Coast, Belmore, North Sydney, Kayo, Bathurst, Wagga, Coffs) and/or easy-to-get-to city venues (Lang Park, SFS, AAMI).

Billythekid

Does the data show this? MNF was definitely more popular on TV and crowds were comparable. Hard to compare the crowds now when MNF stopped nearly 10 years ago.

Personally I feel MNF has one slight advantage over the 6pm game in that it can start a little later. A 7pm kickoff seems like a better time to let people get home from work but also get home early enough to sleep for the next day.

I genuinely don’t think crowds would be any worse than the 6pm games. Ratings would smash it. The big question is around scheduling and I can absolutely see how that could be a deal breaker.

For me personally I’d love it but I have no trouble if the NRL doesn’t go ahead with it, I don’t feel that strongly about it.

Wb1234

He’s worried Perth bears will have to take a lot of the Monday night slots lol

Foxtel loved mnf and were angry af when that genius Dave smith cancelled it

Vlad59

Does the data show this? MNF was definitely more popular on TV and crowds were comparable. Hard to compare the crowds now when MNF stopped nearly 10 years ago.

Personally I feel MNF has one slight advantage over the 6pm game in that it can start a little later. A 7pm kickoff seems like a better time to let people get home from work but also get home early enough to sleep for the next day.

I genuinely don’t think crowds would be any worse than the 6pm games. Ratings would smash it. The big question is around scheduling and I can absolutely see how that could be a deal breaker.

For me personally I’d love it but I have no trouble if the NRL doesn’t go ahead with it, I don’t feel that strongly about it.
I posted the Monday night data above. It not as bad as many of us thought

ARL Commission boss Peter V’landys says rugby league’s next TV rights deal could span up to 10 years, revealing a Pacific goldmine that will deliver broadcast billions to the NRL.
V’landys plans to kick off broadcast negotiations in July after the State of Origin decider and the ARLC chairman says the inclusion of Papua New Guinea will help the code clinch the richest TV rights deal in rugby league history.
V’landys will arrive in PNG this Tuesday to ramp-up the NRL’s reconnaissance for the 19th team in 2028 and the next step is thrashing out a Pacific-infused broadcast deal that can blow their AFL rivals out of the water.
ARLC boss Peter V’landys says Papua New Guinea is a broadcasting goldmine for the NRL.

A third network has contacted the ARL Commission to formally express interest. Up to five or six bidders are tipped to enter negotiations as current rights holders Fox and Channel 9 face billion-dollar competition for the most watched code in Australian sport.
The NRL’s last five-year TV rights deal was worth around $2 billion, including media rights in New Zealand, but V’landys has revealed the sport’s next broadcast arrangement may be brokered for a longer term.
The NRL’s current TV rights deal ends in 2027. The next cycle was tipped to run from 2028-32, but V’landys says he wants to formalise rugby league’s new broadcast deal by season’s end in a package that could deliver a decade of certainty.
That scenario would see the NRL smash their current broadcast haul with a potential fiscal TV rights bonanza of between $3 to $4 billion.
“It could be longer than five years, absolutely,” V’landys said.
Asked if the next TV rights deal could be seven to 10 years in duration, he said: “Yes, it could be.
“We’re having some off-the-record talks at the moment, but we plan to start very soon and it will certainly heat up in the next couple of months.
“I definitely want it finalised this year.
“Hopefully that’s the case and it’s certainly our ambition to do it.
“We want certainty and we know our clubs want certainty.
State of Origin ratings have taken off and will be a key driver in the NRL’s TV rights talks.

“Players also want certainty, because if you do a three-or-four year deal or even longer, you know what your revenues are.
“We haven’t got to that level of detail yet, but this will be a record deal.
“We have a much more valuable product now, much more valuable.”
There are several variables that give V’landys confidence of broking the most lucrative broadcast deal in the code’s 117-year history.
One factor is the emergence of new media streaming giants, with global tentacles, such as Netflix, Amazon and Paramount.
DAZN completed a $3.4 billion purchase of Foxtel in April and V’landys confirmed the world’s leading sports entertainment platform will be a major player in upcoming TV rights negotiations.
“Of course they’ll be keen,” he said. “We’re the number one sport in Australia.
Why wouldn’t they be keen?
“I can confirm we’ve had genuine interest. We are confident there are several parties in the marketplace and I’m confident there will be more to come when we begin talks.
“We will get a lot more dollars now than we have ever gotten because of the hard work done by the players, the clubs and the NRL.”
Another significant factor is the expansion drive that will trigger the admission of the Perth Bears to the NRL in 2027 before Papua New Guinea’s entry in 2028.
V’landys the addition of the Perth Bears and PNG will help deliver the richest TV rights deal in NRL history.

V’landys says PNG will not only represent a fresh spectator market, but open a broadcasting gateway that could see the Pacific eventually usurp Australia as the NRL’s most lucrative TV rights powerhouse.
The NRL is exploring a cut-price Pacific subscription service to monetise the NRL’s 19th team and the 10 million-plus Papua New Guinea fans who will back the franchise with unmatched tribalism.
“Papua New Guinea could end up, in 10 or 15 years, to be worth more in broadcast revenue than Australia,” he said.
“With PNG coming in, that is a massive arm that we have never tapped into, not to mention Perth.
“We’re the most-watched sport in Australia, so we now should attract substantial offers.
“Our data shows 1.8 million people streamed the Papua New Guinea game against Australia’s Prime Ministers XIII, which was an extraordinary number.
DAZN boss Shay Segev (left) is set to be a key player in the battle for NRL rights after buying Foxtel.

“By having a cheap subscription to watch (PNG and NRL games), we could attract millions of new subscribers in the Pacific.
“We’re very mindful of pricepoint. We don’t want to make it too expensive for rugby league fans to watch and support the game.

“We definitely want to get the most revenue, but at the same time, we don’t want to make it unaffordable for our wonderful fans.
“The game has never been in a better place.
“This has been a planned strategy - and it will pay off big time.”

nko11

ARL Commission boss Peter V’landys says rugby league’s next TV rights deal could span up to 10 years, revealing a Pacific goldmine that will deliver broadcast billions to the NRL.
V’landys plans to kick off broadcast negotiations in July after the State of Origin decider and the ARLC chairman says the inclusion of Papua New Guinea will help the code clinch the richest TV rights deal in rugby league history.
V’landys will arrive in PNG this Tuesday to ramp-up the NRL’s reconnaissance for the 19th team in 2028 and the next step is thrashing out a Pacific-infused broadcast deal that can blow their AFL rivals out of the water.

A third network has contacted the ARL Commission to formally express interest. Up to five or six bidders are tipped to enter negotiations as current rights holders Fox and Channel 9 face billion-dollar competition for the most watched code in Australian sport.
The NRL’s last five-year TV rights deal was worth around $2 billion, including media rights in New Zealand, but V’landys has revealed the sport’s next broadcast arrangement may be brokered for a longer term.
The NRL’s current TV rights deal ends in 2027. The next cycle was tipped to run from 2028-32, but V’landys says he wants to formalise rugby league’s new broadcast deal by season’s end in a package that could deliver a decade of certainty.
That scenario would see the NRL smash their current broadcast haul with a potential fiscal TV rights bonanza of between $3 to $4 billion.
“It could be longer than five years, absolutely,” V’landys said.
Asked if the next TV rights deal could be seven to 10 years in duration, he said: “Yes, it could be.
“We’re having some off-the-record talks at the moment, but we plan to start very soon and it will certainly heat up in the next couple of months.
“I definitely want it finalised this year.
“Hopefully that’s the case and it’s certainly our ambition to do it.
“We want certainty and we know our clubs want certainty.

“Players also want certainty, because if you do a three-or-four year deal or even longer, you know what your revenues are.
“We haven’t got to that level of detail yet, but this will be a record deal.
“We have a much more valuable product now, much more valuable.”
There are several variables that give V’landys confidence of broking the most lucrative broadcast deal in the code’s 117-year history.
One factor is the emergence of new media streaming giants, with global tentacles, such as Netflix, Amazon and Paramount.
DAZN completed a $3.4 billion purchase of Foxtel in April and V’landys confirmed the world’s leading sports entertainment platform will be a major player in upcoming TV rights negotiations.
“Of course they’ll be keen,” he said. “We’re the number one sport in Australia.
Why wouldn’t they be keen?
“I can confirm we’ve had genuine interest. We are confident there are several parties in the marketplace and I’m confident there will be more to come when we begin talks.
“We will get a lot more dollars now than we have ever gotten because of the hard work done by the players, the clubs and the NRL.”
Another significant factor is the expansion drive that will trigger the admission of the Perth Bears to the NRL in 2027 before Papua New Guinea’s entry in 2028.

V’landys says PNG will not only represent a fresh spectator market, but open a broadcasting gateway that could see the Pacific eventually usurp Australia as the NRL’s most lucrative TV rights powerhouse.
The NRL is exploring a cut-price Pacific subscription service to monetise the NRL’s 19th team and the 10 million-plus Papua New Guinea fans who will back the franchise with unmatched tribalism.
“Papua New Guinea could end up, in 10 or 15 years, to be worth more in broadcast revenue than Australia,” he said.
“With PNG coming in, that is a massive arm that we have never tapped into, not to mention Perth.
“We’re the most-watched sport in Australia, so we now should attract substantial offers.
“Our data shows 1.8 million people streamed the Papua New Guinea game against Australia’s Prime Ministers XIII, which was an extraordinary number.

“By having a cheap subscription to watch (PNG and NRL games), we could attract millions of new subscribers in the Pacific.
“We’re very mindful of pricepoint. We don’t want to make it too expensive for rugby league fans to watch and support the game.

“We definitely want to get the most revenue, but at the same time, we don’t want to make it unaffordable for our wonderful fans.
“The game has never been in a better place.
“This has been a planned strategy - and it will pay off big time.”

Not really much new in the article, apart from maybe a more solid timeline of when negotiations will kick off.

Looks like a journalist has asked another leading question, that V'Landy's always responds to with a 'maybe'. He could have asked him if it could be a 25 year deal and he would have said the same thing.

I also hope the journalist wasn't suggesting the 10 year deal would be between $3 and $4 Billion. That would be a disaster. If he is suggesting this, I think it's more likely the journalist has NFI what he's talking about.

Cactus

Well of course the Journo is NOT suggesting the 10 year deal could be worth $3-$4B. That would be an actual drop in revenue which is patently ridiculous.

This is all about PVL setting the scene for competitive tension to maximise the outcome. The more articles written the more any and all bidders know that others will be vying for the prize. As he says, its a planned strategy & PVL has been at this for quite some time now.

Wb1234

“V’landys says PNG will not only represent a fresh spectator market, but open a broadcasting gateway that could see the Pacific eventually usurp Australia as the NRL’s most lucrative TV rights powerhouse.
“Papua New Guinea could end up, in 10 or 15 years, to be worth more in broadcast revenue than Australia,” he said.“

@perthred now isn’t that interesting

Trifili13

“V’landys says PNG will not only represent a fresh spectator market, but open a broadcasting gateway that could see the Pacific eventually usurp Australia as the NRL’s most lucrative TV rights powerhouse.
“Papua New Guinea could end up, in 10 or 15 years, to be worth more in broadcast revenue than Australia,” he said.“

@perthred now isn’t that interesting
More chance in the AFL becoming the number 1 sport in QLD than PNG tv revenue exceeding Australia.

Trifili13

And this continued peddling that PVL will deliver the biggest tv deal ever for the NRL. I should hope so when you factor in inflation, record tv numbers, record crowds, extra teams/content, current and growing interest in the game, etc. And yes he has played a huge part in that. But if he has all that going for him and he doesn't deliver a record he should resign. The big question is how much will he deliver.

titoelcolombiano

And this continued peddling that PVL will deliver the biggest tv deal ever for the NRL. I should hope so when you factor in inflation, record tv numbers, record crowds, extra teams/content, current and growing interest in the game, etc. And yes he has played a huge part in that. But if he has all that going for him and he doesn't deliver a record he should resign. The big question is how much will he deliver.
This is fair. He's achieved a lot, but it's this TV rights deal that will make or break his legacy. He's talked a big game and got everyone's hopes sky high so he must be fairly confident. Let's see how it all plays out.