Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Next year?

BWNB

hey people next year is going to be a great season but thats beside the point , the question is , will rugby league games be called on the FM radio stations and has a contract been signed?
Also will any station call the friday night games?
thanx for your help.

avsterooster

i think they still working out all the radio contracts

i believe i heard that friday night would be commentated on?

Panthers_God

avsterooster said:

really? any source?
I always thought channel 9 didnt want it to be broadcast because they televise it delayed.
Doe anybody know wether foxtel digital subscribers will be able to choose which game they want to watch next year? I know it will happen in 2007 but duno about 2006

aussies1st

I'm pretty sure the reason Channel 9 don't show the games live is to get people to the games instead of bumming it at home. ;-) Same concept as cricket.

I'd think it's also because they can slip many more advertisements into a delayed telecast.

They'd be likely to keep exclusive rights to Friday night.

mickdo

avsterooster said:

The live game only

skel

i can tell you that the nrl are working hard to have a double header on friday nights on channel nine as of when gold coast come into the comp so this should mean that fm radio will broadcast on a friday nights as well. not to sure how the time would go i would guess kick off would be one game kick off 7 and the other 8.30 is that to late?

Inferno

I also heard next year they will bring back the Monday night game.

hey the more games on tv the better, although with pay tv you get them all:p

skel

yeah i dont understand why they want to go a head with monday night football its crap saturday arvo is much better yeah the crowds are not at he games but they dont think about the people down the pub drinking and having a go on the tab now do they, what sort of crowd are they going to get on a monday night any ways they tried it and it failed back to sat arvo for me (something to look at between races) ..... lol

aussies1st said:
I'm pretty sure the reason Channel 9 don't show the games live is to get people to the games instead of bumming it at home. ;-) Same concept as cricket.

And even the cricket on TV is 10 seconds behind the radio.

I think in 2007 there will be live Radio on Friday nights.
Nine loves the delay due to the Ads, it is a business move they pay for the rights and have to get the money back somehow.

aussies1st

UndertakerMike said:
And even the cricket on TV is 10 seconds behind the radio.

I thought that was live just they didn't show a whole days play if it is in some state and during the news.

:lol: Sharks fan looking at next year.

Force of habit I suppose. Look at 2007 while you're at it :D

bluenwhite

Inferno said:
I also heard next year they will bring back the Monday night game.

hey the more games on tv the better, although with pay tv you get them all:p
that's '07
i'm looking forward to it!

Raider Ultra

The main reason by far Ch 9 games are on delay is to show ads. It's pathetic, Ch 9's rugby league coverage is amongst the worst of any sporting broadcast I've seen in the world, and I've watched football on Ch 5 in the UK!

BWNB

seriously we are getting like 80 mins of footy and 40 of ads i give up if its not the sharks or tigers , but when is it them?

BlaC_WIte_"N"_BlUE said:
seriously we are getting like 80 mins of footy and 40 of ads i give up if its not the sharks or tigers , but when is it them?

Tigers have dominated FTA for most of the second half of this yr. Sharks simply can't hold the form to warrant FTA appearances.

BWNB

Dodger said:
Tigers have dominated FTA for most of the second half of this yr. Sharks simply can't hold the form to warrant FTA appearances.

in recent weeks we can;t we go get all the fox games which is the best ( do you know how that works?)
and at the start we got heaps of FTA

BlaC_WIte_"N"_BlUE said:
in recent weeks we can;t we go get all the fox games which is the best ( do you know how that works?)
and at the start we got heaps of FTA

Yes I do mate, I've had Foxtel for a long long time... :roll: