Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NFT - The quarterlife crisis

astrogirl

LOL, I'm not sure that I identify with this entire article but it's kind of interesting :D

I do agree with the point made that "As a generation that has grown up around technology, we have low attention spans and we’re always looking for the next best thing." So very true.

http://radar.smh.com.au/articles/2004/03/09/1078594365527.html

The quarterlife crisis March 10, 2004

Our 20s and 30s should be the best years of our lives - so why do so many of us feel like we're going nowhere? Michael Condon reports.

QLC stands for quarterlife crisis. Lots of people suffer from it but no one knows if it really exists. Astrologers call it “Saturn Return” – the point in our late 20s when the ringed planet returns to the same point it was when we were born.

There are online diaries (or blogs), support groups, books – even a screenplay nominated for an Australian Writers Guild award and a Los Angeles rock band named after the phenomenon. The authors of the QLC bible, Quarterlife Crisis: the Unique Challenges of Life in Your Twenties, published in 2001, recently started a QLC career advisory service. They are now planning a QLC conference in the United States in August, complete with “workshops that would provide practical advice and tools for getting through your quarterlife crisis”.

“I believe that the quarterlife crisis will essentially replace the midlife crisis for our generation,” says Quarterlife Crisis co-author Abby Wilner. “It’s taking us so long to get all that our parents complained about at the midlife – the house, car and kids – that once we do finally settle down, we’ll feel so relieved that I don’t think we’ll want to change anything.”

Psychologists are “finally beginning to pay attention to this major life transition”, Wilner says.

“Some are calling it Emerging Adulthood, others Prolonged Adolescence. Although the quarterlife crisis has always existed ... it is a more significant and prolonged process today, because of job hopping and delayed marriage and family life, just to name a couple of reasons.

“In the US,” says Wilner, “the average person now goes through eight jobs before the age of 32 and the average age to get married is now 27. As a generation that has grown up around technology, we have low attention spans and we’re always looking for the next best thing.”

At 23, Danny Johnston* was on his way to being a bank manager. He had a dual degree in business and economics and a coveted graduate position at a major Australian bank. He was earning good money and had a respected job, but something wasn’t right.

Johnston was depressed.

He looked at other young people around him – many of them were depressed, too.

At first, he thought it was the job. “I worked at 10 different branches during my time training as a manager and every single person was unhappy,” he says. “That’s not an exaggeration, there was not a single person who was happy in their job at any of the branches.”

But Johnston soon realised the unhappiness reached into other areas of his life. He quit and drove around Queensland for three months until his money ran out. Then he went on the dole.

James Arvanitakis was a successful banker and economist whose major concern in life was his share portfolio and whose greatest delight was correctly forecasting the direction of interest rates. At 26, he owned a Mercedes and was paying off a home in Sydney. A year later he threw it all away.

“I was 27 and looking at my superannuation and estimating how many millions I would have when I retired,” he says. Arvanitakis abandoned a disastrous relationship and took a year off to travel. In Bolivia, he visited an aluminium and copper mine that used child labour. He decided he could never go back to his job and now develops economic policy aimed at helping poor countries.

“I became a person obsessed with money,” he says.

“I was lucky – at 27, I got to reinvent myself.”

There are hundreds of similar accounts on Wilner’s website (www.quarterlifecrisis.com). “At this point, I don’t have a clue as to who I am or even what I want,” says one. “I just have this horrible feeling that I’m wasting my life. I have no definition. Some people would say that it’s exciting – I’m a blank canvas with lots of potential. I just find it extremely scary.”

Psychologist Rebekka Sommer, of the University of Technology, Sydney, says many young people are struck by the “tyranny of the shoulds”– an inner battle over everything parents, teachers, friends, bosses, partners and authorities tell us we “should do”.

“People are made to believe that life should be a certain way – ‘I should have a high-status job, I should have a great harmonious relationship, I should be slim, sexy and have a high libido.’ If something in our life challenges these shoulds, it sends us into crisis.”

This is exacerbated for recent generations – sons and daughters of privilege who have a multitude of options and often do not know which way to turn.

“I think there is more pressure on this generation to achieve happiness,” Sommer says. “Women, particularly, now have more options, thanks to previous generations. Previously, your path was set; for example, young men might be expected to take over the family business. Now each individual really chooses their own path – and there is a whole lot of pressure that comes with that.”

Gone too are the days of a job for life. Some say that may not be a bad thing.

“My suspicion is that the number of people changing careers in their 20s is on the increase,” says Jim Bright, author of Should I Stay or Should I Go?

“I believe a lot of people in their 20s are looking at their parents in their 40s and 50s, who have slogged their guts out and had a breakdown or other health problems, or have been given the flick after being a loyal employee all their working lives.”

David Ellis has written a screenplay called Quarterlife Crisis – a romantic comedy nominated for an Australian Writers Guild award – after noticing many of his friends floundering in their mid-20s.

“I think we subconsciously try to emulate our parents but can’t achieve what they have or, alternatively, have achieved it and it’s not what we thought it would be,” Ellis says.“There’s almost a lost generation out there who are faced with such an enormous amount of options that they often don’t know what to do.”

For many, the solution is opting out – often on the “big trip”. Rachelle Hill*, a 23-year-old executive, broke off her five-year relationship with her live-in boyfriend and went overseas on a two-year sojourn.

“I needed to find out my own identity. I was so miserable. It was an incredibly hard thing to do. But now I’ve never felt so much freedom.”

Says Ellis: “Often people get this ‘deer trapped in the headlights’ mentality where they feel like they can’t move or can’t say anything to their partner. I think a lot of the time they need to follow their instincts to avoid getting hit by the traffic.”

Here’s what Abby Wilner suggests you do if you think you’re having a quarterlife crisis:

+ Don’t have a career plan? Don’t worry. Don’t think that the people with plans have it all figured out – and don’t think of it all as some kind of race.

+ Separate the meaning of a job from its trappings. Forget about how much money a job will pay you, forget about societal prestige, and forget about what your parents and friends think about your job. You have to figure out what’s meaningful to you in your career and what will warm your heart.

+ Reflect on a settled period of life. This is a period when you had the time, energy, and confidence to know what you liked.

+ It often helps to compromise at least a little bit. Sacrifices in the short term may make you better off in the long run.

+ Don’t be afraid of trial and error to find a fit for your strengths and tastes. Switching jobs quickly is not a bad thing, but first make an effort to like where you are now.

*Not their real names

Source: Quarterlife Crisis: the Unique Challenges of Life in Your Twenties, by Abby Wilner and Alexandra Robbins, Bloomsbury Publishing, $19.95.

MC DUI

'Quarterlife crisis' pfffffffttt :roll: GET OVER IT.

Geez some people just need to learn to relax and be happy with who you are and where you are at.

Stress less its good for you people :!:

astrogirl

MC DUI said:
Stress less its good for you people :!:
Very good point.

Though I am not sure that the article is really talking abut stress. The way I read it, it's about whether or not people derive happiness from things in their lives in particular from their jobs.

A fair few people I know (mostly mid 20s) have grown up in the belief that the foundation for a great life would be to study hard, go to uni and get a good job. I suspect that kind of thinking comes from our parents - different generation and all that. And more and more, I find us challenging that recipe for happiness.

antonius

As far as a stress less job goes forget it unless you are very fortunate, jobs are becoming more stressfull by the day. I used to love my job, but lately it's become a real burden, companies reducing numbers, and expecting the remaining people to take up the slack and fill in the gaps whilst wondering if they are the next in line to become expendable. If that's not stressfull I don't know what is. A job for life is a thing of the past.

Andy

The sad thing is, that businesses and corporations are becoming impatient when it comes to seeing increase in profits, and care more about their bottom line than the morale and well being of its employees.

It's a lack of business ethics.

The thing that even more disheartenning is that it's only eve going to get worse.

The answer? Don't know if there really is a blanket cure so to speak, but for me I reckon it's to work for myself. Own a business or two. Or as many as you like really.

Don't rely on what an emplyer pays you or the work your offered. Always remember that what you earn from your regular day job doesn't determine how much money you can make altogether. It just determines how much you've got to use in the beginning. ;-)

Children need to be taught not only life skills and vocational skills in school, but also finance skills. That being how to manage money, etc.

If that were the case, I guarentee you'd see these people who are going through these QLC's working smarter and not harder, and probably living more fulfilling lives too.

The_Ben

I'm 28 and wouldn't know what a quarterlife crisis is. I can relate to some people my age stressing too much especially here in Sydney. But I reckon if they stuck to what they are doing, eventually they get into clear and everything makes sense. I just decided to take a shortcut myself.

les norton

:lol: :lol: I find it a classic that you were talking about low attention span and i only got a paragraph into it and im a budding psychologist, i should be interested in this kinda stuff...because of my obvious amusement i did go back and read it....
I'm a very strong believer in the "gap" year as harry and will call it...I really think kids should take some time off to see the world, do some stupid stuff...get stuff out of system ect...

astrogirl

Andy said:
The sad thing is, that businesses and corporations are becoming impatient when it comes to seeing increase in profits, and care more about their bottom line than the morale and well being of its employees.

It's a lack of business ethics.

I pretty much agree with everything you've said Andy, except maybe for your comment about business ethics. I'm not sure that cost cutting is about ethics - in my opinion it's about trying to survive in a difficult environment. That is certainly true in the industry that I work in and anecdotal evidence I've heard seems to suggest that this is quite widespread at the moment.

Andy said:
The answer? Don't know if there really is a blanket cure so to speak, but for me I reckon it's to work for myself. Own a business or two. Or as many as you like really.

Don't rely on what an emplyer pays you or the work your offered. Always remember that what you earn from your regular day job doesn't determine how much money you can make altogether. It just determines how much you've got to use in the beginning. ;-)

Children need to be taught not only life skills and vocational skills in school, but also finance skills. That being how to manage money, etc.

If that were the case, I guarentee you'd see these people who are going through these QLC's working smarter and not harder, and probably living more fulfilling lives too.

So very true. Having the skills and confidence to earn a living for yourself (i.e. own your own business instead of contributing to someone else's) would make a big difference to our generation.

As Tony says, we pretty much accept that we won't have a job for life. So we know it's unlikely that we are currently in a job and building for our own future (in the same company). And so it increasingly makes sense to look to owning your own business in the long term but like Andy says, having the skills to be able to do this successfully is an important part of this process. And in my experience it is not something that is taught to children well - the only children who would learn these lessons IMO are those with parents who have these skills. Those like me who are from working class backgrounds (I use the term loosely) have no hope of learning these skills in childhood and teen years.

roopy

The answer is doing things other than work.
I have a job which is so boring that I could do it in my sleep, and often do, but it is only a small part of my life - the way I make a few dollars so I can do other things.
I haven't done much for the last year or two, except this forum of course, but before that I did a uni degree, I wrote a book, I have renovated 5 houses, I have done heaps of family history and local history research for different people, I have spent years studying the share market and building up a good sized portfolio of shares - all in all, I do things that take my interest - but I do it all in the hours i am not toiling away at the peanut factory making a living.

PS, I started doing these things outside of work at age 30. Before that I just worked and drank too much - but I probably had a QLC at age 30 and started 'achieving' goals in my off work time from then on.

astrogirl

The_Ben said:
I'm 28 and wouldn't know what a quarterlife crisis is.
I'm 26, and for the record I do not consider that I am going through a crisis! But I am thinking through my options at the moment. I'm 27 in only 5 months and time is just going by so quickly and I don't want to waste it!

The_Ben

You could always become a pro touch footballer Astrogirl. With your sidestep and pace, you're sure to become a superstar of the touch footy world.

astrogirl

Ben, you wouldn't be saying that if you saw me at touch last night! You name the infringement, I was doing it!! Offside, impeding the opposing team in the ruck area, the list goes on...

But thanks for the idea :D