Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

No Test for Sydney

lockyno1

If Melbourne had a "league" stadium I'd agree with you. There are points both ways. But I hate playing league matches in AFL-designed stadiums. You should play at the best stadium- especially if their is only one test match next year. Suncorp is the best stadium, and has the best atmosphere.

Quidgybo

By that logic, if the best League stadium was in Iraq we'd be playing there. The basic argument is that because League hasn't yet developed enough in Melbourne to justify the best stadium, we won't make do with what's there to promote and develop the game any further. Guess what, the only thing harmed by that attitude is the game itself. It's a classic cut off your nose to spite your face situation. As I keep pointing out, while there might be one test match, there are *five* showcase RL events in 2007 - the Grand Final, three Origin matches and the Test. Arguably the Test is lowest in importance of those five but Australia's second biggest city can't even get that. Instead we'll double up in Sydney (no argument here) and triple up in Brisbane (two wasn't enough?).

Leigh.

lockyno1

Brisbane deserve more matches. If Melbourne's crowds increas during the Storm's season then there is a clause to put another game down there the following year.

So we promote and develop the game elsewhere at the expense of current fans?
Dont wanna go disillusioning them too much...its a balancing act.

Quidgybo

lockyno1 said:
Brisbane deserve more matches. If Melbourne's crowds increas during the Storm's season then there is a clause to put another game down there the following year.
Brisbane might well deserve more matches. But as you've pointed out there are only so many matches to go round. In an ideal world Brisbane would get more matches, but the reality is there are other places who desparately need and deserve even a single match before Brisbane starts triple dipping.

Leigh.

Quidgybo

innsaneink said:
Dont wanna go disillusioning them too much...its a balancing act.
Exactly. And next year the balance is 100% of showcase matches to the current fans in Sydney and Brisbane and 0% to develop the game in places like Melbourne. Nice balance.

Leigh.

Quidgybo said:
Exactly. And next year the balance is 100% of showcase matches to the current fans in Sydney and Brisbane and 0% to develop the game in places like Melbourne. Nice balance.

Leigh.

Sydneys loss this year was Melbournes gain.

Brisbanes gain next year is Melbournes loss.

See a balance?

lockyno1

Quidgybo said:
Brisbane might well deserve more matches.

Thanks for agreeing there. They DO deserve more matches, as they have supported international league for a longer period of time. If there were 2 matches, Melbourne would get one of them.

Quidgybo

lockyno1 said:
Thanks for agreeing there. They DO deserve more matches, as they have supported international league for a longer period of time.
Stop trying to frame this as an attack on Brisbane. I am in full agreement that Brisbane have supported the game well and should be rewarded. But only when there are enough matches to allow that and not to the total exclusion of Australia's second biggest city.

If there were 2 matches, Melbourne would get one of them.
Well there are two matches. In fact there are five of them. And Brisbane are getting three (two Origins and a Test) and Melbourne can't even get one. It's indefensible.

Leigh.

Quidgybo

innsaneink said:
Sydneys loss this year was Melbournes gain.

Brisbanes gain next year is Melbournes loss.

See a balance?
Nope. Neither Brisbane or Sydney have *ever* been totally excluded from hosting showcase matches to accomodate Melbourne or anywhere else (and I'm not arguing that they should be). But next year the score is Brisbane 3 games, Sydney 2 games and Melbourne 0. That's not balance.

Leigh.

Quidgybo said:
Nope. Neither Brisbane or Sydney have *ever* been totally excluded from hosting showcase matches to accomodate Melbourne or anywhere else (and I'm not arguing that they should be). But next year the score is Brisbane 3 games, Sydney 2 games and Melbourne 0. That's not balance.

Leigh.

Stiff sh*t.
http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showpost.php?p=3029947&postcount=14

Melbourne have it all year and dont use it, when they do, then maybe they will ''deserve'' or ''need'' some more.

Quidgybo

innsaneink said:
Stiff sh*t.
There's the attitude that sees RL well behind on expanding into the national market and reaping the rewards of that development. RL does not have a god given right to support in Melbourne or anywhere else we're trying to gain a foothold. We've got to earn it by using every opportunity available to us to build the momentum and promote of the game. Failing to take even one showcase game outside the heartland next year is yet another missed opportunity. But stiff sh*t, it's only the long term growth of the game we're hurting.

Leigh.

Big Pete

Noice I'll certainly be going to that match again. Sad to see Sydney act so lazy that they can't go out and support their own national side.

Misty Bee

lockyno1 said:
Thanks for agreeing there. They DO deserve more matches, as they have supported international league for a longer period of time. If there were 2 matches, Melbourne would get one of them.

One of ya best, Locky. Sydney crowds may have been poor, but 3 internationals ago, Brisbane couldn't jag 13000 for an ashes test.

On the face of it, Quidgey's dead right - melbourne deserves to be the top prority for tests. However, I feel that a few other things are inplay:

1) It's an April test, right - one that australia usually flogs NZ in - not a good look for Melbourne if we are trying to promote international RL as competetive.

2) It's QLD's turn to host 2 Origins. Sydney gave up Origin III for Melbourne, while Queensland whinged about it. This time, it's their turn - and I reckon only a test would have placated them in competition.

If point 1 is on the money - I reckon the golden opportunity lost would be Canberra - the big League losers from the Super League war. Canberra deserves a League test (and I'd love to see them at Townsville and Newcastle as well). Guaranteed 30 000 + crowds at each venue.

Big Pete

Why stick to 30 000 when you can get 50 000 and a awesome atmosphere at Suncorp?

I agree North Queensland should get a Test match sometime, they've seen bugger all rep footy. Newcastle had a Test back in 2003. Canberra, yeah...maybe...to keep Raiduh 69 happy.

Quidgybo said:
There's the attitude that sees RL well behind on expanding into the national market and reaping the rewards of that development. RL does not have a god given right to support in Melbourne or anywhere else we're trying to gain a foothold. We've got to earn it by using every opportunity available to us to build the momentum and promote of the game. Failing to take even one showcase game outside the heartland next year is yet another missed opportunity. But stiff sh*t, it's only the long term growth of the game we're hurting.

Leigh.

Didnt think youd get my point, I guess being so busy typing epic novels you miss points now and again.
Cant please everyone always, and who says its ALL about development, hows about some tradition for a change?
No, no no!!
Tradish = same ol same ol eh? cant have that now, can we?

brendothejet

i hate to point this out, but melbournes crowd, and ground were fantastic. The city had flags, signs, posters, ads everywhere for the kangaroos and every person i spoke to, every pub i drank in was so pumped that test match footy was in melbourne.

that got 30k..

now if 25% of those people tell 1 or 2 friends about their great experience and bring them along.....

you do the math.

Brisbane will get its rewards in 08 with the WC. This is simply the ARL going for the money in the bank, rather than trying to mature their invest in melbourne.

They think they've shown enough stones by giving melbourne the biggest year in its rugby league history last year.

Too many times the ARL shows a bit of back bone before it goes as soft as the english batting card...

Misty Bee

And there is no guarantee that Suncorp will sell out. Take the last 2 internationals away, as I already said....

Even the bad old days in the early 90's at Olympic Park test football shat on that.

Big Pete

Last 3 Internationals.

Since it's returned, International Footy belongs in Brisbane. We have the buzz and we deserve to be rewarded with more matches. We sell out Origins, we break attendance records for Internationals.

BrisVegas

IMO the biggest thing that can happen for League in Melbourne is the Storm having another excellent year on the field, finishing in the top 4, then scoring 2 home finals games. It was a real pity that the Storm didn't get to host their Preliminary Final against The Dragons at the Telstra Dome. It was the perfect Storm (pun intended) of conditions: The Storm the runaway minor premiers facing off against the Dragons, the most well supported team Australia wide. Melbourne went without hosting an AFL game for 2 weeks, and all the Melbourne teams were knocked out in Week 2. It was a situation that could have united the people Melbourne behind the Storm.

Inglis having a year without injury/growing pains should help, and he should feature prominently in all Storm advertisements.

Melbourne will be hosting one of QLD's Origin games in 2009.