Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

No Test for Sydney

Quidgybo

innsaneink said:
Didnt think youd get my point, I guess being so busy typing epic novels you miss points now and again.
You're resorting to that tactic pretty early in the conversion. Run out of real arguments already?

Cant please everyone always, and who says its ALL about development, hows about some tradition for a change?
No, no no!!
Tradish = same ol same ol eh? cant have that now, can we?
No, I got your point Innky. It's just a little hard to give it any credit when on the one hand you're arguing for a balance between tradition and development, while on the other you're defending a schedule that'll see all five showcase matches in 2007 go to traditional areas to the total exclusion of developing areas. From the start of this conversion I've simply called for the balance you're paying lip service to. Far from allocating ALL showcase matches for development, I have argued that just one out of five matches should have gone to a developing market. While it's true that sometimes you can't please everyone, in this instance the ARL haven't even tried.

Leigh.

Quidgybo

brendothejet said:
i hate to point this out, but melbournes crowd, and ground were fantastic. The city had flags, signs, posters, ads everywhere for the kangaroos and every person i spoke to, every pub i drank in was so pumped that test match footy was in melbourne.

that got 30k..
30k after an Origin match had already drawn a sell out 50k earlier in the year and with significantly less promotion than that game. I have no doubt that a Melbourne test match, as the sole showcase match in a season, could and would sell out Telstra Dome (ie. more or less the same capacity as Suncorp) if given the same promotional backing as this year's Origin.

Leigh.

Quidgybo

Misty Bee said:
1) It's an April test, right - one that australia usually flogs NZ in - not a good look for Melbourne if we are trying to promote international RL as competetive.
The solution to that problem lies in the ARL's own hands. Enforcement of RLIF rule 4 on the release of players to international matches only requires the ARL to back the NZRL in bringing the RFL into line on the international board. That said, I agree that October Tests are a better option for Melbourne because it allows the match to be played and promoted outside the shadow of the AFL season. In an ideal world, the 2007 ANZAC match would have been played in NZ and the October match in Australia. But in the absence of that I think even a match with a weakened Kiwi team would have been better for the game in Melbourne than no match at all.

2) It's QLD's turn to host 2 Origins. Sydney gave up Origin III for Melbourne, while Queensland whinged about it. This time, it's their turn - and I reckon only a test would have placated them in competition.
No argument from me that it was Queensland's turn to host 2 Origin matches. I just don't understand how we can allocate a third showcase match there before we've allocated even one to developing areas.

If point 1 is on the money - I reckon the golden opportunity lost would be Canberra - the big League losers from the Super League war. Canberra deserves a League test (and I'd love to see them at Townsville and Newcastle as well). Guaranteed 30 000 + crowds at each venue.
I disagree. If we're going to take Origin matches away from Sydney and/or Brisbane then those are the games that should go to reward regional centres like Townsville and Newcastle (and even Canberra as a suedo NSW city). Keep Origin games where the competition actually has real meaning for the fans. And leave the one off Test matches for promotion in those areas that can never fully identify with "foreign" Origin teams but can immediately support the Kangaroos as a national team that truely represents them.

Leigh

brendothejet

Quidgybo said:
30k after an Origin match had already drawn a sell out 50k earlier in the year and with significantly less promotion than that game. I have no doubt that a Melbourne test match, as the sole showcase match in a season, could and would sell out Telstra Dome (ie. more or less the same capacity as Suncorp) if given the same promotional backing as this year's Origin.

Leigh.

Thats exactly it.

Melbourne could have easily sold out the test match.

Queenslanders would bitch and whinge but about brisbane being the new home of test matchfooty...

...then they would whinge about sydney siders not going to games...

....then they can go and get f**ked for being from queensland!

BrisVegas

Lockyer4President! said:

Melbourne hosting one of QLD's Origin games in 2009 is a done deal. The agreement was that Melbourne was to get 2 Origin matches, a NSW game in 2006 and a QLD game in 2009.

Quidgybo said:
You're resorting to that tactic pretty early in the conversion. Run out of real arguments already?

No, I got your point Innky. It's just a little hard to give it any credit when on the one hand you're arguing for a balance between tradition and development, while on the other you're defending a schedule that'll see all five showcase matches in 2007 go to traditional areas to the total exclusion of developing areas. From the start of this conversion I've simply called for the balance you're paying lip service to. Far from allocating ALL showcase matches for development, I have argued that just one out of five matches should have gone to a developing market. While it's true that sometimes you can't please everyone, in this instance the ARL haven't even tried.

Leigh.

Its not necessary to add chapters to your posts....GET TO THE f**kIN POINT!!
You make a lot of sense a lot of the time, but you waffle on so much 9 times outta 10 I skip your posts.

You say the ARL havent tried, get over yourself, your view isnt THE view....maybe they have tried , tried to give the heartland back a full rep season.
Who says its all about development, all the time?

Lockyer4President!

BrisVegas said:
Melbourne hosting one of QLD's Origin games in 2009 is a done deal. The agreement was that Melbourne was to get 2 Origin matches, a NSW game in 2006 and a QLD game in 2009.
I can't believe they did that... :? A sellout passionate crowd at Australia's best rectangular stadium versus a bunch of know-nothing bandwagoning vics at a bastardised oval stadium.

Quidgybo

innsaneink said:
Its not necessary to add chapters to your posts....GET TO THE f**kIN POINT!!
You make a lot of sense a lot of the time, but you waffle on so much 9 times outta 10 I skip your posts.
Your loss. If more people would stop and think for a second before launching into spurious and largely irrelevant responses then I wouldn't waste so much time qualifying every second point I write. As it stands I spend 90% of the time countering the obvious responses upfront and dealing with bullsh*t assumptions such as support for Melbourne equaling an agenda against the heartland, or that criticism of one (just one) ARL decision makes someone a News Ltd stooge. Both are pigeon holes that need to be challenged if a point is to have have any chance of being considered on its merits.

Who says its all about development, all the time?
Not me. I just wanted one out of five showcase games in 2007 to be used for development.

Misty Bee

Lockyer4President! said:
I can't believe they did that... :? A sellout passionate crowd at Australia's best rectangular stadium versus a bunch of know-nothing bandwagoning vics at a bastardised oval stadium.

It's about time Queensland did something to promote League in Melbourne. Sydney has sacrificed Origins for Melbourne, while Queensland as usual whinge like stuck pigs!

Lockyer4President!

Misty Bee said:
It's about time Queensland did something to promote League in Melbourne. Sydney has sacrificed Origins for Melbourne, while Queensland as usual whinge like stuck pigs!
Weak, even by your standards.

Quidgybo said:
Your loss. If more people would stop and think for a second before launching into spurious and largely irrelevant responses then I wouldn't waste so much time qualifying every second point I write. As it stands I spend 90% of the time countering the obvious responses upfront and dealing with bullsh*t assumptions such as support for Melbourne equaling an agenda against the heartland, or that criticism of one (just one) ARL decision makes someone a News Ltd stooge. Both are pigeon holes that need to be challenged if a point is to have have any chance of being considered on its merits.

Not me. I just wanted one out of five showcase games in 2007 to be used for development.

Pffft....

:crazy: Lonely at the top?

Tip: Dont waste your time.

One game next year, one too many.

Copa

Brisbane only gets a around a dozen top RL games a year for quite a few years now...

Sydney gets heaps of games.... so it's only fair that brisbane gets a few more.

danmiles73

Misty Bee said:
One of ya best, Locky. Sydney crowds may have been poor, but 3 internationals ago, Brisbane couldn't jag 13000 for an ashes test.

Wrong. It was a Tri-nations Test in 1999. And to put it into perspective for any Sydneysiders who are holier-than-thou, the final was moved from Sydney that year for fear of attracting a low crowd. Move on.

For what it is worth, the last time indolent Sydney cracked 32000 for a Test was 1992. Of course we should expect little less from a city that has, in the past, booed the Australian captain. Like they will have much of an interest in supporting the national team.

Brisbane went through 2000, 2001, 2002 and 2003 without receiving a single Test while Sydney continued to put on pathetic crowds. It is about time that Brisbane, which now supports the Kangaroos in droves, unlike lazy Sydneysiders, was rewarded.

Fantastic decision this one.

danmiles73

Misty Bee said:
And there is no guarantee that Suncorp will sell out. Take the last 2 internationals away, as I already said....

Even the bad old days in the early 90's at Olympic Park test football shat on that.

As I already said, the Test was moved from Sydney that year because they feared a worse crowd. Go and ask your Year 6 teacher about it when the holidays are over.

To compare apples with apples, Suncorp has shat all over Sydney this decade. End of story.

Redback71

dont bother me the more games up here the better and hopefully once the new stadium at robina is built theyll play a game there two.

might even get myself too one of the test games this time round

Knightmare

Give Brisbane 8 NRL teams to follow on a week to week basis and then we'll see how their crowds stack up against Sydney. But of course, being from NSW we have no passion for the game whatsoever :ROLL:

Does seem bizarre that the NRL/ARL seemed to have learnt nothing from last year. Some invested energy and two showcase games on the back of a GF Storm and RL was buzzing in Victoria. Do they think the hard work is done? Either an Origin game or the Anzac game HAD to be played in Melb to build on the success of last year. One year wonders just about sums up RL decision makers it seems.

Hallatia

BrisVegas said:
that is sacrelege, you can not take any game aay from Suncorp, actually all origins should be played at Suncorp

Misty Bee

danmiles73 said:
Wrong. It was a Tri-nations Test in 1999. And to put it into perspective for any Sydneysiders who are holier-than-thou, the final was moved from Sydney that year for fear of attracting a low crowd. Move on.

Oh, it was a tri Nations. great excuse, yet you bag Sydney for getting over double for a tri nations?

For what it is worth, the last time indolent Sydney cracked 32000 for a Test was 1992. Of course we should expect little less from a city that has, in the past, booed the Australian captain. Like they will have much of an interest in supporting the national team.

And you booed the Australian coach in your tast international. Patriotic huh? I don't think Sydney ever got less than 13000 to a test/tri nations/world cup.

Brisbane went through 2000, 2001, 2002 and 2003 without receiving a single Test while Sydney continued to put on pathetic crowds. It is about time that Brisbane, which now supports the Kangaroos in droves, unlike lazy Sydneysiders, was rewarded.

Go back to 1999, and less than 13 000 to a 'roos v Poms match. How patriotic were you back then?

I have no problem with the decision, but Queenslanders with an axe to grind and very short memories do nothing but create them. Queenslanders only support the netional side if it has a Queensland captain anyway. Once Locky retires, the only stadium in QLD that would get over 15000 to a test is in Townsville.