Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

Tesla was a loon

A f**king genius, but a complete mentalist.

Still he's a much better bloke than Thomas Edison

Eelogical

No it ain't.
But hindy is right. KFC is the go to chicken of choice.
Magnificent stuff.
If you reckon home cooked chicken isn't as good as KFC then you might need to get a new oven or fire the cook. Home cooking is indeed a dying art. More often than not, the general population either get takeaway, microwave pre prepared food or uber eats type deliveries. If they bother to cook at all it won't be anything that they see on 100 different cooking shows.

Don't get me wrong mate. I do all my own cooking and follow recipes to a tee. I improvise to suit my own tastes. I cook great food for myself, even though it's sometimes a chore cooking for just one.
All I was saying was that the 3 or 4 times a year that I get KFC, it's the f**king best!!!!
Problem ends up being that my eyes are always bigger than my stomach and I order way too much.
The leftovers the next day are still great though. :)

Bandwagon

Damn straight, a well cooked roast chook beats the f**k outta anything KFC can produce.

Bandwagon's roast chook recipe

Start with a decent sized chook from the butchers

Separate the skin from the breast with a spoon and then insert a tablespoon of butter over each breast and squish it to spread it around

Pierce the skin of a lemon and microwave for thirty seconds or so and shove in chooks butt along with a few sprigs of fresh thyme and rosemary and a couple of cloves of smashed garlic ( don't need to bother peeling the garlic ) tie up the legs to close the cavity.

Rub olive oil all over, generously season with salt and pepper, plenty of salt

Chuck in oven and cook till about 70 - 75 degrees at the thickest part of the thigh, rest the f**ker when done for about 15 minutes or so

Pro tip, use a baking dish so your oven doesn't get covered in chicken stuff.

Eelogical

Don't get me wrong mate. I do all my own cooking and follow recipes to a tee. I improvise to suit my own tastes. I cook great food for myself, even though it's sometimes a chore cooking for just one.
All I was saying was that the 3 or 4 times a year that I get KFC, it's the f**king best!!!!
Problem ends up being that my eyes are always bigger than my stomach and I order way too much.
I'm not getting you wrong. I already know that you do a lot of home cooking and take pride in whatever it is you cook. I'm envious. Ol mate hindy asked "what's your favourite chicken"? I'd have thought that KFC wouldn't have even got a mention on your culinary scale. We can discuss it further at the Family next time if you want.

Recipe?

What I do is boil the chicken first so it's nice and soft.
I dip in paprika,flour,and some tandoori.
The into a lightly whipped egg and into the crumbs mixed with salt.
Than drop into the deep fryer till golden brown.
Great chicken but it takes sometime to cook.

I get a 3 piece feed. Don't always finish it. Usually once a month.

Damn straight, a well cooked roast chook beats the f**k outta anything KFC can produce.

Bandwagon's roast chook recipe

Start with a decent sized chook from the butchers

Separate the skin from the breast with a spoon and then insert a tablespoon of butter over each breast and squish it to spread it around

Pierce the skin of a lemon and microwave for thirty seconds or so and shove in chooks butt along with a few sprigs of fresh thyme and rosemary and a couple of cloves of smashed garlic ( don't need to bother peeling the garlic ) tie up the legs to close the cavity.

Rub olive oil all over, generously season with salt and pepper, plenty of salt

Chuck in oven and cook till about 70 - 75 degrees at the thickest part of the thigh, rest the f**ker when done for about 15 minutes or so

Pro tip, use a baking dish so your oven doesn't get covered in chicken stuff.

What do you do with the lemon?

Of course KFC is nice. You manage to cook something like that at home then I guarantee you that you're telling anyone who'll listen how great it is. The problem is it isn't good for you. But that's not what we're talking about.

I'd have thought that KFC wouldn't have even got a mention on your culinary scale.

Did you not read the part where I said it is 3 or 4 times a year?
It's my treat of a meal, and I f**king love it. I also have it in distinct moderation.