Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

I have no idea which day in particular this ABC news report ran but I think there was one day where they only ran women’s heats. That might explain it.
I still don’t know how the women get the same prize money as the men when they have less women on tour, surf less heats, surf in less challenging / smaller waves and don’t get anywhere near the ratings of the men.

It was 2 days in a row and there were men competing.

Women get same prize money but in reality their prize pool is half as there is only 16 of them compared to the men's 32.

The bit about surfing smaller waves and shit surf kinda sucks and its still an example of how they are treated, which sort of pisses me off. If the surf is shit they send out the women and save the bigger better waves for the mens heats.

I'm a big fan of Tyler, Steff and Macy Callaghan, love watching the women surf.

Have your seen the movie "Girls Cant Surf" ? Its a real eye opener and well worth it, dont know if its still on but will probabaly be on Foxtel or what ever soon. I highly recommend it.

Noise

Women get same prize money but in reality their prize pool is half as there is only 16 of them compared to the men's 32.

The bit about surfing smaller waves and shit surf kinda sucks and its still an example of how they are treated, which sort of pisses me off. If the surf is shit they send out the women and save the bigger better waves for the mens heats.

Have your seen the movie "Girls Cant Surf" ? Its a real eye opener and well worth it, dont know if its still on but will probabaly be on Foxtel or what ever soon. I highly recommend it.
Did you see when they sent the top women out at smallish Pipe last year? It was bad. And the women don't want to be sent out when Pipe or Teahupoo is big.

Carissa and Steph are the best of them by a long way. The rest would get easily beaten by most U18 boardrider competitors.

both men and women are up there as the best in the world but yeh, I am just about over the ABC and Sky

ABC provide Victorian News and most sport is AFL, Sky provide their views and a lot of American content but at least their sports news comes from Fox so more balanced.

I generally watch 15 mins of both then turn it off

You are getting old and bitter. Soon you will tell someone to f**k of

Did you see when they sent the top women out at smallish Pipe last year? It was bad. And the women don't want to be sent out when Pipe or Teahupoo is big.

Carissa and Steph are the best of them by a long way. The rest would get easily beaten by most U18 boardrider competitors.

Is that the Pipe event that Tyler won ? she surfed mostly at backdoor pipe from memory

sorry mate, don't agree with your assessment of the women, I obviously rate them a lot more than you do, each to their own

Lets be honest. Nobody realy cares about surfing. Or should I say 99.9% of people. Even if I watched it I wouldn't understand if it was good or bad.

Noise

Is that the Pipe event that Tyler won ? she surfed mostly at backdoor pipe from memory

sorry mate, don't agree with your assessment of the women, I obviously rate them a lot more than you do, each to their own
Yep that's the one. She surfed backdoor doing mostly turns. I think she got one head dip. I reckon the judges completely adjusted their scoring once they realised none of them (except Carissa) were going to get proper barrels. Carissa was the only one getting them.

Noise

Lets be honest. Nobody realy cares about surfing. Or should I say 99.9% of people. Even if I watched it I wouldn't understand if it was good or bad.
This is true. I follow it closely but the only people who care about world tour surfing are surfers. Even then, most surfers couldn't give a rats arse either. The fact that so many comps are held in shit waves doesn't help.

Yep that's the one. She surfed backdoor doing mostly turns. I think she got one head dip. I reckon the judges completely adjusted their scoring once they realised none of them (except Carissa) were going to get proper barrels. Carissa was the only one getting them.

even though we may not see eye to eye, its just good to be able to talk surfing with some one, but thats what forums are for

we have another thread here but doesn't see much action

https://forums.leagueunlimited.com/threads/surfing-and-the-world-championship-tour.412380/

Noise

even though we may not see eye to eye, its just good to be able to talk surfing with some one, but thats what forums are for

we have another thread here but doesn't see much action

https://forums.leagueunlimited.com/threads/surfing-and-the-world-championship-tour.412380/
You're right it doesn't see much action haha. I'm happy to talk surfing here. It might annoy hindy111 though. The tour is going to be in my backyard next week. Hopefully they get waves but the current long range forecast isn't that great. Sunday / Monday (18th/19th) might be ok.

The tour is going to be in my backyard next week.

I know Meriwether has history and its a great amphitheater but f**k me the surf is pretty ordinary, its certainly no Snapper, Bells or Margaret

Narrabeen will hopefully be much better

Noise

I know Meriwether has history and its a great amphitheater but f**k me the surf is pretty ordinary, its certainly no Snapper, Bells or Margaret

Narrabeen will hopefully be much better
Don't get your hopes up too high for Narrabeen. The bank is in pretty good shape but I doubt it will be pumping. Rippable lefts and shorter punchy rights are probably what we can expect. Fingers crossed for a solid ENE swell and west winds