Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

Yeah nah. You're getting all flustered over something that you think is significant, but in realty twitters reach isn't as big as you apparently think.

View attachment 68700
23% is 76 million people, almost as many as voted for Biden in 2020. And that's just in the US. 23% of Americans is a massive amount of people. Certainly enough to control discourse and influence elections. Legacy media reports on Twitter content ffs

I'd say don't be naive but I know you're not. You are being dishonest.

LOL how is it a monopoly ? There is parler and truth and a bunch more.

As for alternatives to the town square there are a bunch more including Facebook.

View attachment 68701
Have you ever been on any of those alternate social sites? I haven't, and don't know anyone who has. They are small fry, mostly because there are so many of them. Reddit, Tumblr and LinkedIn don't count. They are not Twitter alternatives.

But there's nothing stopping the servo owner selling an ad to Maccas across the top of the noticeboard... and then nothing stopping (or wrong with) him taking down ads for Hungry Jacks from the noticeboard, if that's part of his (new) conditions of use.

Would Hungry Jacks get upset that their voice was being surpressed? Possibly - but there was nothing stopping them taking out the ad first, and nothing stopping them setting up or taking out an ad on an alternative noticeboard (TruthSocial, Discord, Mastodon, etc) if they no longer like the rules of the first noticeboard (Twitter).
This isn't about who does the advertising, but about who receives it. On the service station billboard the Democrats (for example) can't portray themselves as the party of 'family values' (conservative) PoC to one audience while portraying themselves as the party of rich white feminists to an entirely separate audience. On social media they can due to targeted advertising. It's the users who are having their reality tailored for them by Twitter, and until now it was done secretly and dishonestly.

Geeze merkins are making a mountain out of a mole hill, meanwhile stick their heads in the sand when editorial partisanship actually sways elections.

https://www.smh.com.au/national/mur...arrants-royal-commission-20201016-p565wc.html

We should count ourselves lucky TBH.

Pretty much everyone thinks news corp are a pack of shit stains .... as if no one gives a f**k about them .... talk about deflection

Bandwagon

The difference is the Murdoch press doesn’t pretend to be something it’s not. In particular it doesn’t pretend to be a platform where people can air their views to those who want to listen.

Of course it does, it pretends to be a news organisation, when it's far more a propaganda outlet.

But you are a far lefty, thus the defence.

You are a RWNJ, hence your opinions.

Does that sound silly to you?

There seems to be an almost desperate narrative of the new twitter triggering all the leftists and we're all having urgent meetings. 🤣

Triggering the libs is pretty much all the alt right is interested in. It's a solid political platform for sure.

Yep. There’s no competitor to Twitter because of the network effect. Facebook is probably the closest thing, but it’s not a place for connecting with like-minded strangers. Everything else is a very poor imitation.

Genuine competition isn't like for like, it offers points of difference, elswise it aint competing.

But alternatives don't need to be serious competition, they just need to exist in order to be an alternative.
23% is 76 million people, almost as many as voted for Biden in 2020. And that's just in the US. 23% of Americans is a massive amount of people. Certainly enough to control discourse and influence elections. Legacy media reports on Twitter content ffs

I'd say don't be naive but I know you're not. You are being dishonest.

It's sure enough to create influence, just as any other type of media does and can with it's audience.

What's dishonest here is your attempts at making out the bird as the be all and end all of influence that has no counter. That's complete horse shit.

Anyone who legitimately uses the term “nothing burger” should be melted.

Go f**k yourself nothing burger boy.

Pretty much everyone thinks news corp are a pack of shit stains .... as if no one gives a f**k about them .... talk about deflection

There's heaps of folk who consume their shit. Tucker Carlson was pulling 3.5 million viewers a night in 2020.

And that doesn't include web views, which I dare say would likely be more.

Twitter doesn't exist in a vacuum, it's just another cog in the machine, there is really no way anyone can state with any authority it turned enough votes to change the outcome of 2020, if you believe that shit you're genuinely cooked