Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

Every year of my life they have managed to discuss the ferry race on the harbour. The floaty thongs at bondi. Wasnt tjere balloons at parra (or canberra).

Or did all that get cancelled.

Its a concerted effort to cancel australia day. You can cheer it on if you like. But you cant deny its an agenda being pushed.

Incorrect

What's to cover though? Heaps of merkins getting together with family or mates in back yards for a BBQ... an enjoyable day off, but hardly news worthy.
It is, regardless of whether you or anyone else agrees with it, our national day FFS. You reckon there's no coverage in US or Chilean or Swedish or Irish media about the goings on and celebrations taking place on their respective national days just because their citizens are having a BBQ and a day off? Get real and leave your lefty bias aside

Eelogical

What's to cover though? Heaps of merkins getting together with family or mates in back yards for a BBQ... an enjoyable day off, but hardly news worthy.
I’d rather watch a news segment that had some spirit and fun about it than all the other negative shit that’s shoved down our collective throats every other day. Doom and gloom takes precedence these days - can’t have anything to look forward to anymore.

I saw a bit of 7 News and the surprisingly the first 5-10 minutes covered everyone having a good time at beaches, accepting their citizenship, ferry races. Then of course they covered the protests in the capital cities.

But before today, it was about how to get rid of day with the supermarkets and Cricket Australia joining in.

My Australia Day has been quite low key the last few years and I'm not sure why, maybe because everyone I know tends to go away for a week or some days have been in the middle of the week. Still I didnt mind the hot weather because I enjoyed the swim, caught up with a few friends, watched the cricket, had a BBQ. There was nothing better than sausages, onions and sauce on cheap white bread, and a cold beer from the esky.

I like mostly everyone want to enjoy a day where I can celebrate the country I love so much

It is, regardless of whether you or anyone else agrees with it, our national day FFS.
But what actually is there to put in our news (which was what the original comment was) about today? Do you want parades and speeches by politicians? The first fleet re-enactment in 1988 was noteworthy of being in the news, but the country's kind of moved on since then.
You reckon there's no coverage in US or Chilean or Swedish or Irish media about the goings on and celebrations taking place on their respective national days just because their citizens are having a BBQ and a day off? Get real and leave your lefty bias aside
There were some pretty decently attended rallies in capital cities in favour of changing the date etc - is that what the OP and yourself want to see on the news about our "national" day?

That's true - the news is shit and doom and gloom as a rule.

But as above, what is there to put on the news about our current Australia Day, rather than some token footage of (diminishing?) beach crowds, backyard BBQs, and the (increasing?) capital city rallies against the date? Even just leaving it to a story on the first two, it doesn't much lift the mood when the next story is about Dutton or Gaza/Israel, or Ukraine/Russia, or Trump etc

Its a concerted effort to cancel australia day.
Or to just move it to a date that makes sense. Then you'll see everyone get behind it (again). I'm cheering that on, for sure.

Arthur Phillip raising a flag on today's date didn't make it Australia - it was just one colony of NSW FFS! Australia formed from the various separate colonies 113 years later on a completely different date.

Eelogical

Or to just move it to a date that makes sense. Then you'll see everyone get behind it (again). I'm cheering that on, for sure.

Arthur Phillip raising a flag on today's date didn't make it Australia - it was just one colony of NSW FFS! Australia formed from the various separate colonies 113 years later on a completely different date.
Good luck getting everyone to agree on that but if it were to happen then the most obvious day is Jan 1, drop the Australia Day name and call it Federation Day. Since it’s already a public holiday we collectively gain a productive day at work on the 26th. Straya!

It is, regardless of whether you or anyone else agrees with it, our national day FFS. You reckon there's no coverage in US or Chilean or Swedish or Irish media about the goings on and celebrations taking place on their respective national days just because their citizens are having a BBQ and a day off? Get real and leave your lefty bias aside
Codswallop. I wasn't around all day watching TV, but the ABC had coverage of official goings on in Canberra with the GG all the way through to the boring citizenship ceremonies. Then Ch10 had 5pm news and I saw the ferry races and RAAF fly overs. I was down at Bronte for a bit for a swim during the heat of the day and it was packed with Aussie stuff organised by Waverley Council. Helicopter was dragging a dirty great big Aussie flag. BUT i don't recall AU day ever beamed live. TV would only do it if there was $$$$$$ in it. Cancelled ? Hmmm

I saw a bit of 7 News and the surprisingly the first 5-10 minutes covered everyone having a good time at beaches, accepting their citizenship, ferry races. Then of course they covered the protests in the capital cities.

But before today, it was about how to get rid of day with the supermarkets and Cricket Australia joining in.

My Australia Day has been quite low key the last few years and I'm not sure why, maybe because everyone I know tends to go away for a week or some days have been in the middle of the week. Still I didnt mind the hot weather because I enjoyed the swim, caught up with a few friends, watched the cricket, had a BBQ. There was nothing better than sausages, onions and sauce on cheap white bread, and a cold beer from the esky.

I like mostly everyone want to enjoy a day where I can celebrate the country I love so much
Yeah the evening news did show some stuff ..... but during the morning there was pretty much SFA ..... the SMH does a "live blog" of the day. It had nothing but protests, etc. Same on the home page. Tho they did mention the australians of the year. ... same on every other mainstream news website i looked at, theage, news, nine, 7news, ten, abc. Also saw nothing on the bits of today and sunrise i saw, which i admit was not alot. Not an australian flag in sight.

This is very different to the past. They did think it was worthwhile showing australians on australia day having a good time.

I think its a pretty obvious attempt to make you think nothing happens on australia day anymore. Make you think if no one else is celebrating it then maybe i shouldnt either.

As i said, cheer it on if you want, but it is happening.

Good luck getting everyone to agree on that but if it were to happen then the most obvious day is Jan 1, drop the Australia Day name and call it Federation Day. Since it’s already a public holiday we collectively gain a productive day at work on the 26th. Straya!
In that case, just make it the 2 Jan for a double holiday - similar to 25-26 Dec. Or make it 31 Dec into 1 Jan for the double. Easy.

Actually, 9 May 1901 is when we became a self-governing country in effect (upon passage of relevant bills in the UK Parliament). Same date in 1927 when our parliament/capital shifted to Canberra, and same date in 1988 when new/current Parliament House was opened. All sound like positive events and a date that can be universally celebrated by all Australians to me!