Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

ash411

I'm not saying "Atlantis" existed. That's why I called it a myth. I'm saying the same story appears in several places and archaeologists believe it came from somewhere. And who says we haven't found it?

Plenty of archaeologists believe that Knossos may have been the model for the Atlantis myth, or Tartessos in Andalucia....or that Plato amalgamated the stories of the fall of several cities to create his story.

Whatever you want to believe about it, the point is that it's not really a conspiracy theory.

Common knowledge says we haven't.

I'm pretty sure I haven't seen the "Guess what! we found the lost city of Atlantis!" documentary or news report, or newspaper article. That kind of thing is too big to hide.

Common knowledge says we haven't.

I'm pretty sure I haven't seen the "Guess what! we found the lost city of Atlantis!" documentary or news report, or newspaper article. That kind of thing is too big to hide.

Except bases on the second part of my post, we almost certainly have

You pair of dumb merkins.

View attachment 14505

Think about what you've just implied....Atlantis was a beacon of civilisation, a glittering city of intellectuals and philosophers that was leaps and bounds more advanced than anyone else....and you're implying that can be found in the state of Georgia....

Have a look at yourself mate, deadset.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-4172388/Has-Lost-City-Atlantis-last.html
  • 'Atlantis Rising' documentary records the search for the Lost City of Atlantis
  • Stone anchors believed to be from Atlantis were found in the Strait of Gibraltar
  • Experts discuss how a site in Southern Spain may have been the city's location
  • But they believe the civilisation could have spread across the Mediterranean

ash411

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-4172388/Has-Lost-City-Atlantis-last.html
  • 'Atlantis Rising' documentary records the search for the Lost City of Atlantis
  • Stone anchors believed to be from Atlantis were found in the Strait of Gibraltar
  • Experts discuss how a site in Southern Spain may have been the city's location
  • But they believe the civilisation could have spread across the Mediterranean
So... first line on the page is...

Are we closer to finding Atlantis?

That seems like conclusive proof to me..

Talk to me again when there is an article saying it has been FOUND, not we found a thing that might have been maybe a possible part of a city that might have been Atlantis..

So... first line on the page is...

Are we closer to finding Atlantis?

That seems like conclusive proof to me..

Talk to me again when there is an article saying it has been FOUND, not we found a thing that might have been maybe a possible part of a city that might have been Atlantis..

You seem to be misunderstanding what I've said, and what the article is about. Just because Plato called the place Atlantis doesn't mean that was the name it went by. And that fact doesn't mean it was fictional.

Most people reckon Plato's Atlantis is a combination of different cities/states or a civilisation rather than a single city. There are actually three cities/states and a landmass that fit the myth well and one of them (or a combination of elements from all of them) is probably "Atlantis". Southern Spain is interesting because there are nearby temples from the same people that contain an alloy that has been found nowhere else.

And with all that being said, people used to think Troy was a made up city.

No worries.

I imagine if you were around in Copernicus' time you might have been a doubter then too...

The Atlantis Hawks are one of my favourite teams.

atlanta-hawks-loho-e1410355718569.jpg

Haha that chick got axed. That's what I wanna see.

Missus threw a pillow at me for laughing. I dodged it so I'm practically as good as these merkins