Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

They are also giving 100,000s of people jobs but and probably pay them more then those tiny supermarkets
Are all farmers battling? Many I know are rolling in it. How many students from Kings school are from rich farmers....

As I said the profit of their business is 2-3%. Big companies have power. Otherwise why would they bother doing it?
I think Pou hacked your account. Looks to me you are arguing for big supermarket for LOLs. Rather unconvincingly too.

I wouldn't bet on them getting paid more.
Also, they are trying to eliminate as many jobs as possible. That's why they have those self-serve machines now.

All? No.
Most? Yes.

Do you use self serve? I do and it's great. Convenient.
Do we still have horse and cart? No we do not.
Ever seen big Farmers equipment to reduce Labor costs?

I work on Automation installs. The technology is getting wild. And it reduces back breaking jobs.

Manufacturing might even become possible again here if machines can do 95% of the job.

parra pete

SORRY. in advance...
A Saudi Prince wants to buy a bull, so he goes to see a famous Russian bovine breeder.
The Russian tells him, "I have many good animal. Here is Swedish bull, is born black color, but color turns white when grows."
"Over there is American bull. Color when born is red, but become dark brown when full grown."
"And here, Turkish bull. They is born dark brown, but grow up to be light brown color."
The prince says, "I rather like the Turkish bulls. Fine specimens indeed."
"Excellent choice, your majesty. But Turkish bull is special. They is bred for royalty, like you. But if you have royal blood, you must be bonding with bull calf when young, before they change color. Or they will reject you," the Russian explains.
"Well", the prince says, "I'm looking for a strong, adult bull. I'm not particularly interested in buying a calf. I rather like this big, beige bull over here."
The prince attempts to pet the large Turkish bull. It sniffs his hand, shakes its head in disgust, turns around and kicks the prince with its hind legs.
The prince goes flying across the room and lands in a pile of hay.
"Where did you get such a horrible beast?! Why did it kick me!?" He sputters.
"I told you. From Turkey." The Russian explains. "Is tan bull, can't stand a noble."

Coles & Woolies are corporate grubs.

They are weeding out the little business in shopping centres all across the country.

they actually own most of those small businesses that you see in the big shopping complexes, not to mention most petrol stations and aclohol retailers

thier stranglehold on us is quiet scarey, this is why there is a govt inquiry, its much bigger than a lot of people are aware

IN THE business world there is big, there is very big, and then there are Coles and Woolworths. Out of every $10 that Australians spend on groceries, up to $8 goes into the tills of the two chains, and the wallet widens when hardware, pokies, electronic goods, petrol, clothes and alcohol are thrown in. Indeed, the two behemoths have become so all-imposing in many towns and suburbs that local wags wonder whether their localities would more appropriately be called Colestown or Woolworthsville.

Incorrect

they actually own most of those small businesses that you see in the big shopping complexes, not to mention most petrol stations and aclohol retailers

thier stranglehold on us is quiet scarey, this is why there is a govt inquiry, its much bigger than a lot of people are aware

IN THE business world there is big, there is very big, and then there are Coles and Woolworths. Out of every $10 that Australians spend on groceries, up to $8 goes into the tills of the two chains, and the wallet widens when hardware, pokies, electronic goods, petrol, clothes and alcohol are thrown in. Indeed, the two behemoths have become so all-imposing in many towns and suburbs that local wags wonder whether their localities would more appropriately be called Colestown or Woolworthsville.

Lol... A govt enquiry. Waste of time. At the end of the day Coles and Woolies are answerable to their shareholders so unless a law has been broken, they'll continue to try to increase their bottom lines as much as possible. As if their CEO's would be spooked having to front an enquiry. They will be prepped so perfectly by their PR and Legal Dream teams they'll run rings around any bureaucrat wanting to "grill" them....

T.S Quint

Do you use self serve?

I usually have to, as my local Woolies will only have one employee running a checkout and there’s a line.

I don’t mind using self-checkout. I don’t mind automation coming into industries. I just wanted to reply to you sticking up for the big supermarket chains because they give people jobs when they are trying to cut out as many of those jobs as possible.

Also you haven’t proven that Coles/Woolies pay more than other supermarkets.

I usually have to, as my local Woolies will only have one employee running a checkout and there’s a line.

I don’t mind using self-checkout. I don’t mind automation coming into industries. I just wanted to reply to you sticking up for the big supermarket chains because they give people jobs when they are trying to cut out as many of those jobs as possible.

Also you haven’t proven that Coles/Woolies pay more than other supermarkets.

If you go to the self check-out at coles, you pop your bananas on the scanner, tap fresh fruit and find bananas.

Now when you go to woollies, you pop your nannas on the scanner and tap fresh fruit and up comes bananas. AI recognises them...

I have noticed if it's say a red onion, it will offer you say 3 pics, red onion, red apple or peach. It's not perfect, but far better than finding your fruit alphabetically like coles.

how very labour of our govt, surprised to see Uber lending support to policies like this

imagine ScoMo supporting policies like this ?

It's great isn't it. But what do you think will happen? It isn't illegal to answer calls or emails. What do you think will happen to the ones who refuse ( Which is their right) compared to the ones who don't mind answering them when it comes promotion time? Or if things get tight and someone needs to be laid off.
Put in extra and you have a higher chance of being rewarded. It's the Individuals choice. I've had annoying people think it's ok to ring anytime. So yes I get it but there will always be people prepared to push harder.

I dare say your newer immigrants and their children will be happy to do a little extra to get a little further and climb up the chain while plenty of others whinge about their rights.

And this stuff about slavery? We've propped up our housing market by bringing in dirt poor people with lower standards of living to cause our own real estate to be worth much much more. Supply and demand. We are not immigrating solely on the benefit of giving others a better life. There is also an invested interest that they actually give us a better one too.

(Who is going to deliver us food at 1am on a Saturday night)