Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

Funny how no one wants to say squat about sinner, bloke tested positive twice last year at two different events and his excuse was as flimsy as Bea Arthur coached defence. The drone crowds are happy to cheer the bloke, i just don't get it.

Does anyone really give a f**k about tennis anymore?

True, i used to watch it a bit especially the Aussie open but i haven't watched a min of it this year. A lot of the players are boring as batshit and the style of play is also not as good to watch as years gone by. But i'm amazed the media have let Sinner absolutely skate by he's the current world number 1 he tested positive twice but it's been crickets.

I thought I just got old. And as I aged I stopped following as many sports tennis being one of them. I used to know every player in the top 10-20. Now I only know a handful of the older players and a few Aussies.
Maybe Tennis is dyeing off with fans? We need more research

BTW what happened to Djokovic? He claims we poisoned him with mercury in his food or something? Is he confusing with something he read in a Le CarrƩ novel ? Or maybe he ate one of those Melbourne Park hot dogs.

RustedonEel

Can't wait for the end of the month, tennis GONE, BBL GONE. Happy days
Happy Sesame Street GIF by Muppet Wiki

King-Gutho94

Ash Barty retiring when he she did was a massive blow for tennis in this country.

Australia loves winners

She is still only 28 years of age and could have a real dominant decade if she decided to pursue a decade long career.

She won 3 grand slams before she reached probably her peak.

In the men we haven't produced anyone that's good enough to truly challenge the greats since Hewitt.

Kyrigos maybe box office but the antics get tiring when he continually wins nothing and is nearly done. Wasted talent.

De Mineaur fights hard but I can't see him winning a grand slam.

If he can get to a semi final this week though would be his best result in a grand slam. I reckon that's probably his ceiling.

Tony Jones Iā€™m sure was joking all be it with a bit of veiled racism but he overstepped the mark when he said ā€˜kick him out.ā€™ In retrospect they treated him poorly during the COVID years and this comment was in poor taste. Channel 9 in general have a poor culture which has already been reported on. Jones is consistent with their reputation

In saying that Novak looks a bit precious in refusing to be interviewed. He could have handled that better but for a 10 time champion he isnā€™t treated like one. If it was Federer or Nadal they would have placed a statue of him in Melbourne by now. Looks like donating to bush fire victims in the middle of black summer still isnā€™t good enough for some Aussieā€™s like that Lambe imbecile on the news today.

Being a vegan anything they fed Novak in solitary would have been ā€˜poisonousā€™ to his rig. It would be like them trying to feed me that tofu garbage.

Tony Jones Iā€™m sure was joking all be it with a bit of veiled racism but he overstepped the mark when he said ā€˜kick him out.ā€™ In retrospect they treated him poorly during the COVID years and this comment was in poor taste. Channel 9 in general have a poor culture which has already been reported on. Jones is consistent with their reputation

In saying that Novak looks a bit precious in refusing to be interviewed. He could have handled that better but for a 10 time champion he isnā€™t treated like one. If it was Federer or Nadal they would have placed a statue of him in Melbourne by now. Looks like donating to bush fire victims in the middle of black summer still isnā€™t good enough for some Aussieā€™s like that Lambe imbecile on the news today.

Being a vegan anything they fed Novak in solitary would have been ā€˜poisonousā€™ to his rig. It would be like them trying to feed me that tofu garbage.
It was a tongue in cheek roast. A joke that should have gone through to the keeper untouched TBH. It might be unfunny FM morning show level attempted satire, but he wasn't really having a go at anyone.

He'll know now not to include serbian hot heads in his dumb jokes in the future, if anything. They take things literally. I can speak from experience on that front. :eek:

My 2 cents anyway.

The way we treated Novak during the scam/money making virus was atrocious and a credit to him for even returning. I personally would of given the Aussie open the one finger salute after that garbage.

It was a tongue in cheek roast. A joke that should have gone through to the keeper untouched TBH. It might be unfunny FM morning show level attempted satire, but he wasn't really having a go at anyone.

He'll know now not to include serbian hot heads in his dumb jokes in the future, if anything. They take things literally. I can speak from experience on that front. :eek:

My 2 cents anyway.
Please, the veiled racism is there for all to see. Jones is an ocker f**kwit with no real ability in anything.

Please, the veiled racism is there for all to see.
I'm the first to call out racism, but I didn't see any there. Are there other quotes ?

ā€œWelcome back to Melbourne Park, where you can see the Novak Djokovic fans, theyā€™re in full voice,ā€ Jones said.

ā€œThe chants are quite extraordinary,ā€ he added, before firing a few bold sledges back to the Djokovic fans.

ā€œNovak, heā€™s overrated,ā€ Jones sang.

ā€œNovakā€™s a has-been. Novak, kick him out.

ā€œBoy, Iā€™m glad they canā€™t hear me. Anyway, letā€™s get onto the tennis.ā€

As he finished his bulletin, Jones said: ā€œAlright that wraps it up from Melbourne Park. Somehow Iā€™m going to have to get out of here.

1737339245320.png