Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Norman signs with eels

The team is going to stay the same way until next year but with Doust at the helm I just don't see the club signing anyone other than solid first graders.

I respect your opinion, but my opinion is that that statement is just silly. We definitely don't have a s**t team, we have a team that played s**t. I believe that's on the back of a non-performing (potentially s**t) pair of halves. We looked great when our quality, non-s**t pack of forwards got a roll on and starting pulling off some offloads (coupled with our young, enthusiatic, non-s**t hooker rotation). Problem was, that our very capable, non-s**t centres didn't get the delivery and room to move from said halves - if they had, they have the ability to stand up their opposites and create room for our world-class, international, non-s**t wingers.
As mentioned, we need halves that at least make an effort to pull all that together, rather than just going through the motions.

Benny V (and Gibboz 71), I can see what you're saying. You make a persuasive case, but I just don't quite believe it. I don't go as far as saying that we're s**t lightly. But I look the whole squad up and down and I can't help thinking we are a bit s**t.

I think Creagh, Weyman, Cooper, Fien and Soward have all played the best football they're going to play for us. I think Stanley, Vidot and Harrison are journeymen/reserve graders. I think the jury is well and truly out on Beale, King, Drinkwater, De Belin, Stockwell and Frizzell, but if 2 out of the 6 of them go on to be elite players we're already beating the law of averages. And I think Hunt, Prior and Rein are good first graders without being a notch above that. That may seem harsh on Rein, whose work rate and commitment we all praise, but he's small and he's got no kicking game. Love his attitude and his heart, question whether he's a comp winning hooker. Then you've got Merrin, Nightingale and Stanley who are our best three players. And I reckon any team whose wingers are two of the top three on their roster is in trouble.

According to Nigel Vagana at the NRL, only 10% of Toyota Cup players ever go on to play first grade regularly, let alone become top level players. So if one of Runciman, Green, Stockwell, Cummins, Crook and Quinlan become first graders we've already over achieved.

So where does that leave us for 2014? There's Style, I suppose. But neither he or his brother have managed to play anything like consistent full seasons, let alone establish themselves at an elite level.

I think that we're in the market for five first grade quality players. Two centres, two halves and a front rower. That's just to be better than we are now.

Dudes, it kills me. But I think we're pretty s**t.

Minh

I think once the coaching issue is resolved then some bigger signings will follow as the coach would have a big say in who we sign, whether it's Price or somebody else we will soon find out I feel.

TheRev

Dudes, it kills me. But I think we're pretty s**t.

Agree 100% even though its considered anti-dragons to be anything but positive.

There is no doubt that the squad of 2011-2013 was/is one of the weaker we have had, man for man, I love a lot of them but they are either past their best or just average footballers, some of which have great heart, but without genuine stars sprinkled into the mix, we just are in a different league to the likes of the Dogs, Storm, Souths, Cowboys & broncos... there isnt enough talent breaking through lower grades, and there is not enough talent from externally to compensate.

We did really well in 2009-2011, we did win a premiership, and we did it the hard way through sheer Bennett power.. absolutely getting players to play outside their ability zone and defend like deadset legends.. we couldnt score many points, but we didnt let in many either, and we scraped through a lot of close wins.

Since then our squad is considerably weaker, and the only way out of the hole is a new perspective.... a longterm approach to develop young players who will blossom in 2 years time.. a reboot of the club if you will, and that's not going to happen until the club accepts the situation, and I think it also needs a new coach to kick that off, the timing is the tricky bit.

TheRev

I think once the coaching issue is resolved then some bigger signings will follow as the coach would have a big say in who we sign, whether it's Price or somebody else we will soon find out I feel.

I think you are right Minh, which is why it was so hard to miss out on Bellamy, because its probably cost us 6+ mths to find a new one and get the process started (it takes time to recruit and develop the player mix).

On another note, it was interesting to see how poorly Mick Potter's Tigers went on the weekend, a coach of good reputation, but I mean its Round 1.. but the Tigers look very similar to us right now in a player rut, the exception being Benji.

Mr Red

I think you are right Minh, which is why it was so hard to miss out on Bellamy, because its probably cost us 6+ mths to find a new one and get the process started (it takes time to recruit and develop the player mix).

On another note, it was interesting to see how poorly Mick Potter's Tigers went on the weekend, a coach of good reputation, but I mean its Round 1.. but the Tigers look very similar to us right now in a player rut, the exception being Benji.

Dont forget Potter came in at the last minute and inherited a squad assembled by sheens in terms of player recruitment.. so his hands are tied to an extent for this season.
i will be more interested in what Potter can do with the tigers in 2014 as a true measure of his ability after a full off season training with him and recruitment the way he wants it.

TheRev

Yeah agreed, there is a huge lagtime in terms of getting the players you want and the systems in place, not to mention getting to know his players (benji in particular), tough way to start your NRL coaching career at short notice.

Minh

Yeah agreed, there is a huge lagtime in terms of getting the players you want and the systems in place, not to mention getting to know his players (benji in particular), tough way to start your NRL coaching career at short notice.

It's a tough initiation to the NRL for Potter, he was an intelligent footballer and I'm sure he has what it takes to be a good coach. He hasn't had the time to put his finer touches on the team in terms of recruitment and getting the right mix of players. On a side note Newcastle are a dark horse of the competition this year, IMO Melbourne Storm head and shoulders above the pack with Newcastle one of the best of the rest.

TheRev

On a side note Newcastle are a dark horse of the competition this year, IMO Melbourne Storm head and shoulders above the pack with Newcastle one of the best of the rest.

There are a few teams head and shoulders above the rest, Storm/Souths & Dogs once they get Barba back, and yes Newcastle looked like a very very good team this week, if they can get into a Bennett-Bubble of confidence, and Scott/JSmith hardmen in the middle and freaks like Gaigai/Uate out wide and Boyd playing well at the back.. I mean yes the skys the limit.

However... it is Round 2 haha, very very rare to see the early form teams keep it together for a whole season, but the talent in their ranks is impressive. Im actually a bit pi$$ed they picked up Gaigai cheap last year, cause hes worth way more than centres like Jennings and co imo.

Minh

We should of chased Gagai hard with a better offer but Wayne is hard to turn down.

blacksafake

. Then you've got Merrin, Nightingale and Stanley who are our best three players.

Do you mean Stanley or Morris? because Morris is the only one who looks like making a break at anytime.

jenninga

There are a few teams head and shoulders above the rest, Storm/Souths & Dogs once they get Barba back, and yes Newcastle looked like a very very good team this week, if they can get into a Bennett-Bubble of confidence, and Scott/JSmith hardmen in the middle and freaks like Gaigai/Uate out wide and Boyd playing well at the back.. I mean yes the skys the limit.

However... it is Round 2 haha, very very rare to see the early form teams keep it together for a whole season, but the talent in their ranks is impressive. Im actually a bit pi$$ed they picked up Gaigai cheap last year, cause hes worth way more than centres like Jennings and co imo.
Watching the Knights reminds me of us in 2010,Bennett getting the best out of average halves,tough pack and Darius featuring in many plays and in form.
I think they will go close.

blacksafake

Love the quote “I spoke to my manager just after it happened but I haven’t spoken to him since then".

When your $800k a year job ends in 4 months and you don't have any thing to go to.......I'd be getting a new manager,
I actually don't mind his honesty. It's better than spitting the dummy & kicking stones.At least in the publics eye.
I'm pretty sure footy is not really a major factor in his life in comparision to his clothing business, just a means of earning money.