Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Nothin' like a good ol' agenda

aqua_duck

I don't know how Reg can bag out the signing of Junior Sau. Smith picked him up cheap as chips, we paid hium about as much as a kid working at maccas and a year later he's being touted as a contender for the world champion kiwis.

I don't know bout everyone here but Taia>Newton
Newton played well when his contract was up thats about it

antonius

My thoughts on Reg P's post.

Quinn was, and still is a solid winger, poor under the ball, nothing special. McManus far more solid under the ball, and every bit as good a finisher as Quinn, overall I'd rate McManus better than Quinn.

Wicks is a huge disappointment, especially if the quotes on his contract here are correct, the only improvement he's made is losing weight, he is no better a player for it, and is racking up owe points every week, one of the worst buys this club has ever made.

Cross is becoming the leader we all wanted him to be. He's finally been able to string some games together and I thought last week was his best for us. We looked far more solid when he was on field.

Sau is an exciting prospect IMO, strong (in the Mad Dog mould) and really could become a crowd fav, if he isn't already.

Uate, whilst he may already have been here when Smith arrived, I think Smith has brought him along perfectly, another year and he will be a potent strike weapon for us.

Ciraldo Don't rate him at all.

Lulia Don't rate him at all

Faas Can bust the line, but has hands like feet, I hold my breath every time the ball goes his way. Not that fussed

House, Hilder, Taufua, Taia have all been really good signings for us

Perry was never going to be any better here in Newcastle, the move was the kick in the pants he needed.

Newton He walked out, he wasn't sacked, he wanted an answer about staying and Smith wasn't prepared to yes or no so Newton spat it and left, don't need that.

Snowden Showed potential as a junior, never fullfilled it, and still hasn't.

Gidley wanted to go to England, and was rightly given a release to do that, good luck to him, he wanted to earn some cash before retireing.

keeney

Give Wicks time, like Cross he's a large dude and needs several weeks of playing time to get the match fitness required. Keep in mind his horrendously interrupted pre-season and give it say 4 weeks before we crucify him. Having said that, I listed my top forward pack and explanations in the Hilder thread and couldn't find the desire or necessity to include him in it.

Cross was always going to be that player, I can't believe people who deny his assets. He had a sh*tty year with injury last year, and needs consistent game time to be effective. I'm not certain he's Origin level, but he's definitely an aggressive forward leader in the top 10 props running around, and exactly what we need.

Agree on Sau, I hope the bond he has with Smith and his recognition of how he has developed him keeps him as a Knight for life. I can't see how you can bag him, he will rep for NZ within the next few years, and if he learns to pass will be one of the best centres in the game.

Uate is exceeding my hopes for him, and I agree with what you've said about Smith biding his time well. I honestly thought Uate would be a lemon. He's the type of player that will draw crowds and make rep teams at the rate of his current improvement.

Ciraldo, agree with you, but didn't see the first two games this season, which coupled with his supposed excellent preseason, gave me hope that there was more to him than the useless plodder I saw last year. He threw a nice short ball in a game late last year, which led to a try, maybe there's more there. I wouldn't re-sign him, but Smith will.

Lulia can go away. He'll be handy marking Dell, but is a bit of a plodder, I'd rather Wes. Not fast or damaging enough with the ball to be useful to our team except as depth.

Faas has been our best prop consistently this year (Cross will take that away in the next few weeks). I hate his drops, and I never feel safe with him carrying it, but his yardage and speed is invaluable off the bench.

House, Hilder, Taia are all excellent, cheap signings who are now a big part of our team. House's developmental rate if maintained will see him play for Aus by the end of his career, and the same could be said for Taia and NZ if he elects to rep for them (don't think he'd rep in Aus).

I'm not crazy about Mark T, awesome intimidating defender, but that's it, 1 dimensional and never carries the ball. Good for depth, but that's it. Worth the minimum wage he'd be paid though and a typical prudent Smith signing.

As for what we lost,

Perry, pedestrian here, and not much better in Manly, rode the coat tails of the form pack of last year. The improvement that he did make there was never gonna be made here and his money is far better spent on Cross.

Carmont, pfft, solid by the end of his time here, but does he hold a candle to either of our centers currently? He's an older shorter version of Lulia.

Snowden is rubbish, looks like the prototypical man-child junior who can't excel in a competition where he isn't more developed than his competitors.

Newton had one good year, and was never worth what he was being paid. We have a young versatile and overflowing back row at the club at the moment, the majority of whom would be collectively on less than Newton's entire salary. House, Taia, Pato and Simmo are all much much better than he is. As tony said, he was also a petulant prick who left due to the shake up, why would we want that here even if he wasn't so hackish?

The Gidley family philosophy seems to be absed around never having to work after footy through prudent investment. Don't ask me where I read about it, but I did. Matt went for a huge pay day while he still could. He was very smart about it, retired from rep before he ahd the indignity of not beign accepted and went over to step into Jamie Lyon's massive financial windfall as a technical current rep. His departure had nothing to do with Smith.

Quinn was always a favourite of mine, but he's nothing special. He left because Bellamy dangled a 220k+ carrot at him. Do you think he's worth that? Mcmanus is better than him at most things, and is younger and cheaper. Wes and Vuna are the same, cheaper and in my eyes more useful additions to the team. Once again, nothing to do with Smith.

In summary, our net gains in the great player swap are enormous. Sure we picked up a couple less than brilliant players, but that's always bound to occur. Smith would have to have had a higher signing rate over the last couple years than any other club. I can accept a few duds out of 20 odd players, most of whom are more than adequate backup players who don't leave us in the lurch (As unremarkable as Lulia is he's never done anything wrong, saved a try that would have lost us the game last week with a take I don't think I'd back anyone else to have taken). We have fantastic depth and a very young, rapidly improving roster. All of which was acquired cheap by Smith and a lot of whom who will be blue chip superstars thanks to his identification and development. Smith kicked out a complacent mentality as well as a bunch of overpaid hacks, even if some of them were major losses (they weren't) I would still have backed him to do it, the attitude of the club needed shifting.

I don't understand how you, reginald can honestly say Newton was better than House or Taia, and even if he was that's just being wilfully manipulative by leaving out Simmo and Pato, both of whom destroy Newton as well.

Comparing Royal and White to Faas and Wicks is not right either. Royal wasn't an impact prop, and neither was White. I wanted to keep White, but you can't keep em all. Tolar is seen as the man to be our starting partner to Cross, and we have Simmo, House and Mark who can all adequately cover that role.

The only players that would have been worth re-signing in that they would contribute to this team and be worth the money would have been White, and Gidley. Gidley left of his own volition. And White was a dropped ball that is accounted for with excellent depth building that Smith has done.

EDIT - Sorry I bolded that bit because that was the essence of a post that started out replying to antonius with player assessments than realised the they were motivated by reginald p's comment. It was a little incoherent and rambling seeing as I changed tack in the middle.

aqua_duck

Smith had a mandate to rebuild the club and he did that. With rebuilding comes letting players go and when you let go as many players as we did sure one or two of them are going to be seen as mistakes but a player like Perry for example had already become stale.
Speaking of talent identification, the Parra team of 2001 was IMO the best team not to have won a GF, that team destroyed many an opponent and set numerous records for attack and defence. That team was a typical Brian SMith team. He had the juniors whom he had blooded and mixed in with shrewd signings (Daniel Wagon, Brett Hodgson, Jason Moodie, Buettner, JT, Solomona, Alex Chan, Brad Drew). Brad Drew was a typical Brian Smith signing, he was the reserve grade hooker for Penrith, at parra he won dally M hooker of the year and went close to playing for australia.

BTW on comparing Jesse to Faas, Jesse was a good solid book end but Faas is one of our best impact guys, he regularly tops the metres gained for the forwards and whilst he's prone to handling errors, he gets plenty of offloads.

Just on Newton, if he were still here would anyone have him in the starting side at full strength? I certainly wouldn't pick him ahead of Simmo and Pato, and then you've got House, Taia and Hilder as well. I reckon he'd be a benchie and his mate Reyno would be in the real NRL

Hanscholo

I was surprised that Ben Rogers wasnt in that list. I have no opinion on him really at this point other than he has had a few poor games in his past and a few wonderful games. His passing so far this season has been cliff lyons like at times.

So why do so many people have a hard on about this bloke in negative terms? It seems the world is out to get this bloke at times, for whatever reason. That is why i suspected he would feature in that list.

Just a final note on my opinion of Phil Rothfield. He is an intelectual omeba when it comes to rugby league. I have read many of his columns and time and again he takes the shavings from the top of the issue and presents them as facts, all the while missing the elephant in the room that lays just beneath. How he ever became an editor for RL is beyond me.

There is no doubt our gains and losses over the past few season have been greatly in our favour. Not only that, but so called mediocre talent such as houston and taia are streets ahead of the blokes we lost. Kudos goes to the coach. We are far from a mediocre team this year, we are in fact one of the biggest dark horses i can recall seeing for many years.

aqua_duck

I was surprised that Ben Rogers wasnt in that list. I have no opinion on him really at this point other than he has had a few poor games in his past and a few wonderful games. His passing so far this season has been cliff lyons like at times.

So why do so many people have a hard on about this bloke in negative terms? It seems the world is out to get this bloke at times, for whatever reason. That is why i suspected he would feature in that list.

Just a final note on my opinion of Phil Rothfield. He is an intelectual omeba when it comes to rugby league. I have read many of his columns and time and again he takes the shavings from the top of the issue and presents them as facts, all the while missing the elephant in the room that lays just beneath. How he ever became an editor for RL is beyond me.

There is no doubt our gains and losses over the past few season have been greatly in our favour. Not only that, but so called mediocre talent such as houston and taia are streets ahead of the blokes we lost. Kudos goes to the coach. We are far from a mediocre team this year, we are in fact one of the biggest dark horses i can recall seeing for many years.
I mean look at the team he's leading, Bourban Beccy, Josh Massoud, Dean Ritchie, its a who's who of jibberers, lead by a bloke who has as much league knowledge as Joe the Taxi driver

BTW I've never understood why journalist are seen as such experts, does a 3 year arts degree make you an expert on rugby league?

keeney

Keeney, you're the best poster we have in the Knights forum.:clap::clap::clap:

Aw, shucks.:oops:

Smith had a mandate to rebuild the club and he did that. With rebuilding comes letting players go and when you let go as many players as we did sure one or two of them are going to be seen as mistakes but a player like Perry for example had already become stale.
Speaking of talent identification, the Parra team of 2001 was IMO the best team not to have won a GF, that team destroyed many an opponent and set numerous records for attack and defence. That team was a typical Brian SMith team. He had the juniors whom he had blooded and mixed in with shrewd signings (Daniel Wagon, Brett Hodgson, Jason Moodie, Buettner, JT, Solomona, Alex Chan, Brad Drew). Brad Drew was a typical Brian Smith signing, he was the reserve grade hooker for Penrith, at parra he won dally M hooker of the year and went close to playing for australia.

Just on Newton, if he were still here would anyone have him in the starting side at full strength? I certainly wouldn't pick him ahead of Simmo and Pato, and then you've got House, Taia and Hilder as well. I reckon he'd be a benchie and his mate Reyno would be in the real NRL

The bolded section is an excellent point, and why I approve so highly of Smith's retention and identification scheme, the guy is a genius at getting value for money, through either underrated/unpopular/misused gems (Hilder), getting the best out of players circling the drain (Faas), Talent spotting (House) or developing/utilising stars out of nowhere (Let's say Sau for the sake of my examples, even though that wasn't really out of nowhere). He would have to have the best quality for value ratio of any coach of the league.

The cohesive functioning of Parra in 2001 was unbelievable, it wasn't just that he had superstars, even the ones that he'd built, it's that because of his value approach this talent was able to be spread so well over a team, with the same unifying vision that assembled them, that it transcended that in a whole being greater than the sum of its parts type way.

On Newton, he wouldn't make my bench atm. 05 purple patch model would, but Newton, hasn't been half that good since.

I thought Ben Rogers would be too. I don't like him because he interrupts a valuable combination forming period between our two best halves. Whom haven't played together in 3-4 weeks. Stability would really help Scott become the servant that Mullo needs to shine 2 wide, while taking some pressure off him by organising (both of these are things Rogers cannot do, despite his flashes of brilliance). It takes 50 games of NRL to get comfortable, and I feel after that the guy could be the utilitarian half we need. It also worries me cos I feel it means Scotty D will be playing real NRL all year, which would be a travesty. I've dipped my finger in humble pie, sampling it after a few of the passes Rogers has thrown in recent weeks, but I'm not ever going to commit to eating it, he doesn't have enough strings in his bow (kicking is the notable absence). I can handle him in the team now, but as 14, not in the 6.

You think my posts are long Keeney... sheesh

Quiet you :p (Christ when did they gay up that smiley?) It's been a concerted effort since the 'forum is dying(dead?)' post of a few weeks ago. Plus honestly, I'm just really excited about the game tomorrow, more excited than I can recall being. Truth be told I don't know why, we've been playing like sh*t in large patches, I just feel we can win this game and win it well, and theres a lot to like about our team, except the halves instability that is.

antonius

I mean look at the team he's leading, Bourban Beccy, Josh Massoud, Dean Ritchie, its a who's who of jibberers, lead by a bloke who has as much league knowledge as Joe the Taxi driver

BTW I've never understood why journalist are seen as such experts, does a 3 year arts degree make you an expert on rugby league?
:lol::lol::lol: Apparently

keeney

Back in days of yore, a job like sports journalism would carry the prerequisite of an understanding of the game, and usually a passion for it. Now it just requires a penchant for reactionary table thumping and criticism and the arts degree.

I remember seeing someone on the main forum saying they'd met Voss and he'd criticised the internet based tragic. That attitude disgusts me, there'd be more assemble league knowledge and passion in 1 days posting here then the News staff would be capable of career wide.

Karmawave

A
Quiet you :p (Christ when did they gay up that smiley?) It's been a concerted effort since the 'forum is dying(dead?)' post of a few weeks ago.

Well I think the forum is a far better place for it.

As for the Telegraph, fact remains it gets far more RL stories accurate than their counterparts at the SMH. I'll never forget the time a couple years back when both newspapers ran completely different stories on who was going to be Country Origin halfback as the front page of their Sunday sports section and the SMH was just way, way wrong.

And given the huge stories both were, it was about as embarrasing a gaffe as journalism could ever make.

I don't particularly like the News Corp Telegraph writers, but their stories are usually pretty spot on.

Journos should have communications degrees, not arts degrees.

Anyway, it's not really the accuracy we're concerned with, it's the slant. Have a look at today's edition and they're flat-out blaming BSmith for not letting Mad Dog and Sailor go each other... nevermind the game hasn't even been played.

Munky

If you ever saw Rogers in the lower grades at Penrith you could see the ball playing skills he posessed.

It's great to see that they are finally being used in first grade.

Alex28

Keeney, you're the best poster we have in the Knights forum.:clap::clap::clap:
Agreed - particularly appreciate the Seage love you still have years after he's departed :)

Seriously...can't argue with anything you said. Very well written.

keeney

Haha, chalk up the Seage sig to going on 3 years of laziness (Christ has it been that long?) Although my love of the dude and heartfelt regret at the sh*t go he got is still pretty considerable.

Thanks for the compliments guys, I went on a bit of a contributory frenzy due to my intense post travelling poverty keeping me around my computer more. Glad to see I'm on the right page.