Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL Centralised venues strategy: Dragons

Saint Doc

http://m.dragons.com.au/news-display/87458

Edited version:

The St George Illawarra Dragons today announce a strategic initiative with the NRL that will stamp key Dragons games as some of the biggest events of the season.
In the same way the Dragons helped transform the annual ANZAC Day match, the Club is working with the NRL to build annual events in a “Right Game, Right Venue” strategy, creating an exciting atmosphere for Members and fans and strengthening the Club for the future.
Members will have a range of flexible ticketing packages to choose from, across the Dragons 12 home games, and will also have access to reciprocal ticketing entitlements at selected away games, against major Sydney teams.
The initiative will see the Dragons commit to playing play four of their twelve home games (including the existing ANZAC Day game) annually at Sydney’s major stadiums, Allianz, the SCG and ANZ, over the next four years.
The Dragons will retain eight home games per season at the traditional venues of WIN Jubilee Oval and WIN Stadium.
As part of the plan the NRL and the Dragons are looking to establish an annual Heritage Round clash with the Rabbitohs at the SCG as well as the opportunity to create marquee events around matches involving clubs such as Canterbury Bankstown, Wests Tigers, Parramatta Eels and the Sydney Roosters, who are already committed to these venues.
The strategy will be underpinned by the commercial investment of the major venues and a commitment from the NRL to work closely with the Clubs and Venues to create annual marquee events.
“If we are going to grow Membership and attendances we are going to require additional capacity, and the NSW State Government has made it clear that it will only invest in major venues, moving forward.
“We will always be committed to our region and our traditions, however we also want all our Members and fans to be able to see the biggest games of the year, and to receive increased benefits.
“This decision has been based on a platform for economic enhancement and growth capability, leading to long term financial sustainability”.
National Rugby League Chief Executive Dave Smith said the Dragons were taking the opportunity to grow and to ensure the Club remained strong in the future:
“They have really thought this through and it is a smart move.
“Any change will take some adjustment but they have a clear aim to build a big match atmosphere around the key matches and that is what we all need to work towards.
“At the same time there remains a strong commitment to their traditional venues.”

Theoretically we'll see 4 @ Kog, 4 @ WIN, 1 at SCG (v Souths), 1 at Allianz (v Roosters) and 2 at ANZ (out of Dogs, Wests and Parra).

gronkathon

Actually it is the perfect middle ground rather then the end.

Ensure the big games get the big arenas while keeping the smaller true home grounds for the general games

tumbidragon

Actually it is the perfect middle ground rather then the end.

Ensure the big games get the big arenas while keeping the smaller true home grounds for the general games
Agreed. I think It's a commonsense move and a financially savy one. I know a lot of our supporters won't like the idea of moving even more games away from WIN and Jubilee. But personally I believe It's a good move and should hopefully see crowds of the big match ups (Dragons V souths, Dogs, Eels or Tigers) grow from 15K~ up to 30+ if promoted correctly. Just look at how much the ANZAC day match has grown over the past 5 years. Pretty sure the last couple have been sellouts, or very close to.

carcharias, you reckon they lobbied for massively upgraded facilities at both stadia in the last five-ten years to abandon them both?

Saint Doc

carcharias, you reckon they lobbied for massively upgraded facilities at both stadia in the last five-ten years to abandon them both?

True. The thing is kogarah and wollongong now are perfect grounds to play Penrith, NQLD, Melbourne, sharks, manly, newcastle, canberra, sharks etc in.

Thanks to the upgrades, the two grounds will be relevant for years to come at an NRL Level, unlike belmore, redfern, and probably Leichhardt soon.

But the days of the big 4-5 playing each other at suburban grounds is over. Especially with the state govt saying they won't spend on grounds other than ANZ/SFS/parra/newc

Yosemite Sam

So does this mean that Dragons members will have reciprocal rights to attend away games against the likes of Souths and the Dogs as part of their membership?

I can see crowds increasing slightly, but their membership numbers will take a hit. Expect to see a lot of pissed off Dragon fans (and rightly so).

Saint Doc

All games should be played at Wollongong

This is the kind of nonsense sprouted by people who think about dots on a map.

The club would die if they did that. Wollongong has a small (but loyal) RL fan base of about 12,000 that attend games. Look at the history of crowds of the steelers. This 12k is propped up by sydney based fans and away fans.

You alienate the sponsor money and sydney fans and the dragons would go the way of the steelers

I do know they struggled to pay the rent this year.
They were actually behind .
I also know the council are contemplating ( maybe already decided. ) increasing the rent at OKI.
I am not sure how it works but I think they rent that joint in a block eg per season.

This before the gong rent even comes into it .

The council own it ( upgrades and all) and they reckon they can get more money
renting it to some other code.

Saint Doc

So does this mean that Dragons members will have reciprocal rights to attend away games against the likes of Souths and the Dogs as part of their membership?

I can see crowds increasing slightly, but their membership numbers will take a hit. Expect to see a lot of pissed off Dragon fans (and rightly so).

Yes we will.

But you are right. Jubilee Ave forum is going off at the moment, many saying they won't renew. After 2 seasons of missing the finals...I can see our membership dropping from 20k down to 13-14k

Craigshark

If they are running second last and Parramatta are running last on a cold Saturday night at ANZ, they'll be lucky to get a couple of thousand there.

Panther_Daz

If they are running second last and Parramatta are running last on a cold Saturday night at ANZ, they'll be lucky to get a couple of thousand there.

If they are 1st and 2nd, Kogarah wouldn't be big enough. 45-50k at ANZ.

Long term this is a good move as memberships grow across the game.

Joker's Wild

I do know they struggled to pay the rent this year.
They were actually behind .
I also know the council are contemplating ( maybe already decided. ) increasing the rent at OKI.
I am not sure how it works but I think they rent that joint in a block eg per season.

This before the gong rent even comes into it .

The council own it ( upgrades and all) and they reckon they can get more money
renting it to some other code.

Seriously, what other team or code would be in the frame to use Jubilee?

You'd think the council would be doing everything possible to keep the Dragons there. Otherwise theyd have a huge stadium that is barely used and by extension, barely has an income

6 games per year?
Looking like its going to be less.

Dragons were (only about 2 months ago ) more than 12 months behind in paying the rent on the joint.
I am only stating the obvious here.

They make money playing at SFS or Homebush
They lose money playing at OKI .

I was told by a rampant dragons fan/ reporter they even lost money
on GF night by holding the party at OKI....and heaps.

Sell it off for development and council make a mint? I'm sure they wouldnt mind either way.

Probably a happy compromise for now with a 4-4-4 approach.

Sell it off for development and council make a mint? I'm sure they wouldnt mind either way.

Probably a happy compromise for now with a 4-4-4 approach.

That is what I reckon they would have really had in mind.
Price the footy out of it and then develop it.