Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NSW Cup

Nutz

I’m not holding my breath.Looks like another addition to a long list of toxic contracts this moronic club has negotiated since its inception
I've watched a fair bit of his games and I thought there was a real upside to his signing because I thought he would get fitter at another club.
Turns out, at this stage, I'm wrong.
Most good players have played the game as kids and pathways thru to the NRL but Hunt hasn't.
This might have something to do with him not staying in the game.....and I don't think it's all about fitness. A couple of weeks ago, he totally dominated the opposition and played every minute of the first half in KOE. Go figure.

I've watched a fair bit of his games and I thought there was a real upside to his signing because I thought he would get fitter at another club.
Turns out, at this stage, I'm wrong.
Most good players have played the game as kids and pathways thru to the NRL but Hunt hasn't.
This might have something to do with him not staying in the game.....and I don't think it's all about fitness. A couple of weeks ago, he totally dominated the opposition and played every minute of the first half in KOE. Go figure.

One thing that I think is important for a club like ours is to have consistent footy players. It's like Cameron Smith. I think Robbie was better than him when Robbie was on but Smith way surpassed him as a player because Smith was consistent.

sending Lobb over for his third try in just 16 minutes of game time, a well-deserved hat-trick for the in-form fullback.
---------------------
Maybe a FB option?

sending Lobb over for his third try in just 16 minutes of game time, a well-deserved hat-trick for the in-form fullback.
---------------------
Maybe a FB option?

I don't think so mate. I'd prefer Staines, LL or Turuva there.

I reckon Hope will play in NRL this week and maybe Tu’itupou and Hunt.
It was reported that Hope was withdrawn yesterday, with the thought that he will play next week in FG.
But I agree, the Cup team is going well, players are in form and we are not using them in FG, it's ridiculous.

Nutz

It was reported that Hope was withdrawn yesterday, with the thought that he will play next week in FG.
But I agree, the Cup team is going well, players are in form and we are not using them in FG, it's ridiculous.
I believe that when your rebuilding a side you basically have to sacrifice a season and treat every rd like a trial and you keep going until you've struck the right recipe. Ideally you want to finish with this side with at least 5 rds to go.
You then have a preseason with this squad rotating new players in as required.
The trouble with this is sponsors want you to win from the get go and coaches and CEO's are on borrowed time so they'll take short cuts.
Short cuts like bringing in old hands like Bird and Klemmer hoping for immediate results. Well we all know how this has worked out in the past for us.
The past and present Heads of Sheds have said repeatedly over the years that we are a development club. We certainly have had our share of pathway goodies but shortcuts have had a detrimental effect in retaining these players.

Nutz

Remember the days when we watched 3 grades play at LO and a reserve would come off halfway through a game and sit on the bench for first grade...in his dirty jersey.
Point is, if you play well, you get selected.
That reserve player probably played a full game the week after :)
We need to build a side for next year by selecting players who are playing well.