Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NZ State of Origin

shiznit

now that the new kiwi roots origin concept has been revealed... im just wondering what the teams are gonna look like. also... do sydney born players partake in the game?? do they just go to the southern side?? perhaps for the moment we can say anyone born north of the bombays is North and anyone born anywhere else is south.

lets put 2 teams together... fill in the gaps or feel free to correct me if im wrong...

NORTH
1. Krisnan Inu(Auckland)
2. Manu Vatuvei (Auckland)
3. Iosia Soliola(Auckland)
4. Steve Matai(Auckland)
5. Misi Taleapapa(Auckland)
6. Jerome Ropati(Auckland)
7. Thomas Leuluai(Auckland)
8. Evarn Tuimavave(Auckland)
9. Terrence Seuseu(Auckland)
10. Roy Asotasi(Auckland)
11. David Fa'alogo(Auckland)
12. Adam Blair(Northland)
13. SBW(Auckland)
-----------
14. Greg Eastwood(Auckland)
15. David Solomona(Auckland)
16. Louis Anderson(Auckland)

SOUTH
1. Brent Webb(QLD)
2. Luke Covell(Sydney)
3. Paul Whatuira(Wellington)
4. Simon Mannering(Nelson)
5. Jake Webster(Melbourne)
6. Benji Marshall(Whakatane)
7. Ben Roberts(Sydney)
8. Nathan Cayless(Sydney)
9. David Faiumu(Wellington)
10. Sam Rapira(Waikato)
11. David Kidwell(Christchurch)
12. Frank Pritchard(Sydney)
13. Dene Halatau(Invercargill)
------------
14. Jason Cayless(Sydney)
15. Lee Te Maari(Tokoroa)
16. Nathan Fien(QLD)
17. Rangi Chase(Dannyvirke)

tear it apart and discuss guys...

ozbash

wow, thats 2 very good teams.

the thing about oz origin is that its a glorified selection trial with the best of each state (and the ring-ins) matched up and then they select the best for the roos. great idea.

i would love to see the 2 teams meet along with one other (Lions/BCup) and then chew the guts out of them..

course, we still have some guns playing ESL.

One issue would be timing.

shiznit

perhaps we could get rid of the bye and have 3 rep weeks in the middle of the year.

club football can stop for rep week and you have NZ origin I and II on the saturday of rep week I and II and have SOO I and II on the sunday of the same two weeks. GB can also have war of the roses or GB V FRA. then for the 3rd rep week we can have NZ V GB on the saturday and SOO III on sunday night.

it would extend the season by a couple of weeks but i think it would be better for our football if we went someway along those lines...

KeepingTheFaith

shiznit said:
perhaps we could get rid of the bye and have 3 rep weeks in the middle of the year.

club football can stop for rep week and you have NZ origin I and II on the saturday of rep week I and II and have SOO I and II on the sunday of the same two weeks. GB can also have war of the roses or GB V FRA. then for the 3rd rep week we can have NZ V GB on the saturday and SOO III on sunday night.

it would extend the season by a couple of weeks but i think it would be better for our football if we went someway along those lines...

I've always been a fan of having a break halfway through the season for rep footy. It would probably work best with a 22 round competition (that way it wouldn't extend the season in length as well as reducing the workload.)

11 weeks, 3 weeks break for SOO, NZ Origin, Eng V France or even a mini tournament involving Eng, France, Rest of Britain, and a Europe selection side/PNG or something.

The depth in NZ league has certainly increased. Other players who would come into consideration. Harrison, Ali, Feka, Stanley, Jennings, Ellis, Smith, Luke, Te Reo, Samau, Ah Van who are all eligible I believe and have made their first grade debut.

Iafeta

I'm really looking forward to this, I think this will be great for our game in NZ particularly if it's marketed right.

mean_maori_mean

If it was too be auckland vs the rest (including aussie) and by place of birth. Here are some other players who would make their respective teams or be close:

Auckland:
Bronson Harrison (Auckland)
Sonny Fai (Auckland)
Sam Tagataese

Others:
Shaun Kenny-Dowell - (Ngaruwahia)
Sam Perrett- (Hamilton)
Weller Hauraki - (Dannevirke/Levin??)
Chase Stanley - (Sydney)
Jeremy Smith HB - (Huntly)
Lance Hohaia - (Huntly)

Also would we allow exceptional players either born in NZ playing for island nations who are not eligible i.e Fuifui Moimoi and Tuiaki,

As our depth will also be further stretched as if they play it during latter weeks of the finals which would remove half of those players named in your squad.???

Where were other kiwi-eligible players in the NRL born?before I offer my own team
So many overseas we could have a team or NZ born vs Aussie Born.

One problem i've got is Auckland has a negative stigma attached to it - who will proud to represent Auckland or who would be proud to support them??
Also some of the players born in nz were raised in aussie.

Just a suggestion - What about two teams, actually on roots - ethnicity:

1 - players of maori distraction + others
2 - players of pacific island (tongan,samoan, fijian, niuean, cook island etc) distraction

others would be those of who are not of maori or p.i distraction possibly mannering, webb. Basically not many. oz origin is only two states those who are from neither can still play generally for QLD - who have less players to choose from.

This would provoke pride passion and a game so physical it would put origin to shame.
There is also a be enough quality players available to be selected for both sides.

Though some players i.e wiki,faiumu, stanley,leulauai would be eligible for both sides

Team one: Doing a haka representing those playing for them.
Pakeha and Maori have a bond together and have different roots and connection.
Also a name which represents the bond between these two.

1. Brent Webb
2. Webster
3. Mannering
4. Whatuira
5. Sam Perritt
6. Benji Marshall
7. Jeremy Smith
8. Sam Rapira
9. Lance Hohaia
10. Jason Cayless
11. Bronson Harrison
12. David Kidwell
13. Greg Eastwood

14. Adam Blair
15. Weller Hauraki
16. Rangi Chase
17. Lee Te Maari??

Team two:
Playing under a "Pasifika" banner and doing a polynesian mixed haka.

1. Krisnan Inu
2. Manu Vatuvei
3. Soliola
4. Matai
5. Tame Tupou
6. Ben Roberts/ Setamaita Sa
7. Thomas Leulauai
8. Roy Asotasi
9. Terrence Seuseu
10. Paleasina
11. David Fa'alogo
12. Frank Pritchard
13. SBW

14. Jerome Ropati
15. David Solomona
16. Dene Halatau
17. Evarn Tuimavave

Fast Eddie

I doubt the players think that.....

I would have no interest in watching a match like this. Players who wouldn't give a sh*t(I think you would find quite a few players would make themselves unavailable due to 'injury'). I mean seriously is someone like Frank Pritchard going to feel passion and be fired to represent a South team??We don't need to try and copy the Aussies, they can have their SOO, I'm happy enough with the Kiwis. We don't have to try and break players into Auckland vs players scattered around the country. It's kind of hard to get all my thoughts down but no, just no. I guess it might have a place as a trial of some sort but that is about it.

LeagueNut

Captain Charisma said:
I would have no interest in watching a match like this. Players who wouldn't give a sh*t(I think you would find quite a few players would make themselves unavailable due to 'injury'). I mean seriously is someone like Frank Pritchard going to feel passion and be fired to represent a South team??We don't need to try and copy the Aussies, they can have their SOO, I'm happy enough with the Kiwis.
I would agree with you completely IF the match had no "carrot" at the end of it. Origin has almost developed it's own little world where simply winning the series is enough - and it needed to as well, given that the Kangaroos don't play in the middle of the year anymore.

But the timing of this match (right before the Kiwis rep season starts) makes me think that the players will be super-keen to impress and earn their black & white jerseys.

It needs to be marketed properly though, and not as a "Kiwi State of Origin" - even though that's essentially what it is.

I think the NZRL have tried this before - didn't the Bartercard Cup stop for a few weeks mid-season a while ago to have a North v South series?? That was a dismal failure, as are the Kiwi "trials" against local teams that are little more than glorified training runs.

Properly handled, I reckon this match has the potential to be a ripper. But they don't need to convince you or me - they need to convince the players first.

Auckland4ever

Whether this concept will work or not comes down to the availability & attitudes of the players. Do they want to give us a fiery SOO type contest, or will it resemble the non-event that is City/Country?

mean_maori_mean

if it was based upon where they were born, what will be the statement they say when it shows them walking up to the camera like in oz origin where they say their junior clubs.

It would have to be "Manu Vatuvei" - "Middlemore Hospital".

Or would it be "Manu Vatuvei" - "Otara"

Wont happen especially under the name North Vs South. Players will not be keen it has now meaning behind it.

I still reckon players of Maori(+ pakeha) Distraction Vs players of Pacific Island distraction.
Lets be honest this will be the most passionate and intense game of top flight rugby league and also it is more realistic and honest view of the orgin or "roots" of New Zealand top flight rugby league players.
Acknowledging players unique backrgrounds but at the same time joining them all together at the same time.
This would be an absolute sell-out - I reckon with the right marketing they could sell-out Brisbane home ground aswell as Mt Smart/Waikato even Eden Park.

If it was done about the right way you would avoid the negative race relations calls.

The Daddy

mean_maori_mean said:
if it was based upon where they were born, what will be the statement they say when it shows them walking up to the camera like in oz origin where they say their junior clubs.

It would have to be "Manu Vatuvei" - "Middlemore Hospital".

Or would it be "Manu Vatuvei" - "Otara"

Wont happen especially under the name North Vs South. Players will not be keen it has now meaning behind it.

I still reckon players of Maori(+ pakeha) Distraction Vs players of Pacific Island distraction.
Lets be honest this will be the most passionate and intense game of top flight rugby league and also it is more realistic and honest view of the orgin or "roots" of New Zealand top flight rugby league players.
Acknowledging players unique backrgrounds but at the same time joining them all together at the same time.
This would be an absolute sell-out - I reckon with the right marketing they could sell-out Brisbane home ground aswell as Mt Smart/Waikato even Eden Park.

If it was done about the right way you would avoid the negative race relations calls.

Are you on crack?

mean_maori_mean

The Daddy said:
Are you on crack?

regarding what buddy?? If I am it is not near the strong stuff which Chalmers and some of the NZRL have been smoking.
Its a better idea than Having a Wellington team playing in the ESL etc.

Its far more respresentative of the players and has far more credit than a North Vs South game. They're the ones that came up with the name Origin styled "kiwi roots"

Wheres the comraderie between somebody from Dannevirke and somebody from Christchurch both from a players perspective and a supporters perspective.

Of course the Maori+pakeha team will becalled some symbolising both cultures like "Waitangi" etc, so dont worry some of you guys will have a team to support and players like Mannering .

Norths vs South doesnt cut it - it will be a non-event like CountryVs City instead of origin like it will be purely a trial- no more, nothing less.

Sam_the_man

What the hells a pakeha?

Anyway i can tell you that living in the south south islanders have a real chip on theres shoulders about Aucklanders...not about north islanders but about Aucklanders.

Personally i think the cut off for the north should be Wellington with Wellington falling into the south catchment area but thats just my opinion.

Martli

The problem with the racial idea is that you have guys who are of both Polynesian and Maori/European persuasion. They can pretty much pick and chose who they play for. Where you played junior footy is much more clear cut.

Sam_the_man

What about Auckland born players v everyone else?
The rest of NZ hates Auckland and Aucklanders unless they are playing for NZ.

JoeD

I have a pretty much wait and see attitude. this could be awesome or it could be really bad. its too early to tell at this stage.