Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NZ to have its own Origin

RABK

Wezman007 said:
Red and Blue Knight said:
I agree it will be a great idea, but i just cant see them having it. It would just basically be NZ vs AUS anyway.

No it wouldn't. Australia is made up of players from NSW and Qld, but only one of these teams would be playing, same with the NZ version.

I reckon it'd work. Imagine the huge body contact in the game???? Imagine 34 players all coming up with hits like Sonny Bill????? That'd be huge and crazy.

What i meant mate was that it would be close enough to the anzac test, so they wouldn't see the point of having an extra game. I think they'll settle with the 3 game origin series of both country's.

Tidus_Raider

Everyone thought the Aussie Origin concept was going to be a flop. It proved to be one of the greatest concepts in Australian if not world sport and that isnt an overstatement.

As a more recent example everyone thought that the Tri-series was going to flop. So far it's been a raging success.

I say lets give this a shot for 2-3. If it doesnt work out then at least there wont be any "What If?"

Booyah

Stranger said:
:?

Good, solid idea but it wont be as good as auzzie SOO

I don't think it's designed to compete with the aus version of SOO.

I think it is.

They want to stop young Kiwi players switching alligences so they can pull on a Sky blue or Maroon and then an Aussie test jersey.

dimitri

Booyah said:
Stranger said:
:?

Good, solid idea but it wont be as good as auzzie SOO

I don't think it's designed to compete with the aus version of SOO.

I think it is.

They want to stop young Kiwi players switching alligences so they can pull on a Sky blue or Maroon and then an Aussie test jersey.

i think it will stop traitors like K.Hunt doing so

and if it does it will be great for nz

NZ Warrior

Here's hoping it gets the go ahead. One thing that bothers me is that the Warriors don't have any compensation in the draw to help ease the commitment this series is going to have on the team.

A very large chunk of the Warriors are going to be involved with this, I'm waiting for Mick Watson & Tony Kemp to throw their toys

RifRaf

It's not going to get the same pride in the jersey though.... It's not really north v south because if that was the case it would be Dene Halatau V the rest! Bugger all League players come from the South... So the way they are doing it is:
if you are AUCKLAND born you play for the North if you are born anywhere else in NZ you play for the South... I doubt it will be able to incite the feelings that of loyalty that our SOO does... With that said I am a fan I hope it gets off the ground.. Maybe not next year as the draw has now been done and plans are in place but 2006 when we can go back to split rounds to allow for it in the weeks between our origin...

Freak

Would have thought this would have been already up and running before now. It's only taken 25 years of success in Australia before the Kiwi's decide to implement, so I guess that timeframe is about right for the kiwis ;-)

On a serious note maybe we should extend the season by another 2 weeks and have full rounds of NRL not played in between SOO1 and SOO3.

In a perfect world would be so much easier to have a 16th team NRL and play 23 rounds!! (It's not rocket science!!! :roll: )

bender

RifRaf said:
It's not going to get the same pride in the jersey though.... It's not really north v south because if that was the case it would be Dene Halatau V the rest! Bugger all League players come from the South... So the way they are doing it is:
if you are AUCKLAND born you play for the North if you are born anywhere else in NZ you play for the South... I doubt it will be able to incite the feelings that of loyalty that our SOO does... With that said I am a fan I hope it gets off the ground.. Maybe not next year as the draw has now been done and plans are in place but 2006 when we can go back to split rounds to allow for it in the weeks between our origin...

I think they need to find a suitable mascot for the Auckland side. Something similar to the cockroach. They need to manufacture a real hate for the Auckland side. Are there any suitable rodents that infest the auckland area?

nqboy

Who do all the non-kiwi kiwis play for? The blokes from the pacific islands that are eligible for NZ.

On another point, my kiwi friends tell me that Aucklanders are arrogant c*unts like New south Welshmen and everyone from outside Auckland are heroic underdogs like Queenslanders so the feeling and passion should be about right.

dimitri

nqboy said:
Who do all the non-kiwi kiwis play for? The blokes from the pacific islands that are eligible for NZ.

On another point, my kiwi friends tell me that Aucklanders are arrogant c*unts like New south Welshmen and everyone from outside Auckland are heroic underdogs like Queenslanders so the feeling and passion should be about right.

like i said before

they play where they played their first senior footy in nz

the same as

lote tuquri, petro civenocieva, tamana tahu, adrian lam etc etc etc

I think the idea is great.

Freak said:
On a serious note maybe we should extend the season by another 2 weeks and have full rounds of NRL not played in between SOO1 and SOO3.

Why not have a week off in the NRL and play the two origin games on the same weekend.
eg:
Friday night - NSW vs QLD
Saturday night - North vs South.

At least clubs won't have to worry about missing players as the NRL will take the week off. Also, there would be two big games on, we wouldn't be handing the weekend to the AFL to the extent of a few seasons ago (with the Sunday night Origin).