Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Official...Morley Gone

...Morticia...

its official the big pom has gone to the wolves on a four year deal.

http://www.warringtonwolves.com/home.htm

Morley Agrees Deal

morley_aus.jpg
Warrington Wolves are delighted to announce the signing of Adrian Morley on a four year contract from next season.

The 29-year-old Great Britain star has chosen to join The Wolves as the engage Super League club match his long term ambitions in the game.

Adrian Morley: "I’ve decided to join Warrington because the club is really moving in the right direction; everything is first class. I want to win a championship and I see Warrington at the place to do it."

"The Wolves are certainly an attractive club to join, everything from the coaching and playing staff to the facilities are first class. They (Warrington) are very ambitious and I see no better place to develop my game and career. As a Lancashire lad it’s a case of coming home"

Head Coach Paul Cullen, explained: "This announcement that we have signed Adrian Morley on a four years contract is one that should excite everyone connected with the club. We should celebrate the fact that we have signed a unique player, a born leader, the type of player who inspires others, the type of player we want."

morley.JPG
"He leads from the front and is battle hardened after playing in the toughest competition in the sport. He will bring a massive go forward to our pack, setting an example with his ability and professionalism which will rub off on everyone and in particular some of our younger players."

"I put Adrian Morley in a similar bracket to Andrew Johns. Of course as Great Britain prop forward he is a totally different type of player to Johns, but is in a similar category because of his character and ability."

"We have players at the club who are proud to say they played alongside Johns and I am sure in the future there will be those whom say with equal pride they played in the same team as Morley."

all I can say is f*** it.​

RoostarGirl

What can I say......some players cannot be replaced...Freddy is one and Moz the other.

I'm devastated....I really didn't think he'd go....his brother did say it was either the chooks or england.....I just thought he'd stay......

I thought I was depressed when Crock went doesn't even come close to the way I'm feeling now.

I hate footy........

sretsoor

I hear ya RG, if this year we weren't going forward, next year will be even worse.

Oh well, at least my dog is named Morley :)

The_Englishman

sretsoor said:
I hear ya RG, if this year we weren't going forward, next year will be even worse.

Oh well, at least my dog is named Morley :)

As a Warrington fan I am delighted!, had heard rumours about this signing for a while but always dismissed it. Hopefully he will take us up another level!

...Morticia...

RoostarGirl said:
What can I say......some players cannot be replaced...Freddy is one and Moz the other.

I'm devastated....I really didn't think he'd go....his brother did say it was either the chooks or england.....I just thought he'd stay......

I thought I was depressed when Crock went doesn't even come close to the way I'm feeling now.

I hate footy........

i hate this time of year. might have to book myself into my own couch session :lol:

The Englishman, i have to admit when i saw the photo last night of him holding the warrington scarf i nearly choked but i'm glad he went warrington and not wigan and you might just find a few easts fans following the wolves with a bit of interest. hope he does for your club what he did for ours.

Wobbygong

With Cross leaving as well, what's the bet Jamie Lyon will partner Soliola in the centres at the roosters in 2007?

RoostarGirl

sretsoor its just unbelieveable.

Wobby I never thought I say this...but I don't give a crap at the moment, we could bring back Hastings, Fairfax, Freddy, Artie and I still couldn't care....over footy first time in 34 years......Moz was just the icing on the cake for this little chook fan.

Oh Smurf book me in for one of those sessions also I'm gonna need it. I've always had a soft spot for Crossy as well. He's been with the club since his dad played and it breaks my heart to see him leave as well. Not quite the same impact as Moz but bad enough.

I'm glad Moz went home, I couldn't bear to watch him play for someone else.

As for the scarf over the head......it was the smile that got me.

Oh well at least he is happy and he can be with his loved ones at home.

Good Luck Moz!!

The_Englishman

...Morticia... said:
i hate this time of year. might have to book myself into my own couch session :lol:

The Englishman, i have to admit when i saw the photo last night of him holding the warrington scarf i nearly choked but i'm glad he went warrington and not wigan and you might just find a few easts fans following the wolves with a bit of interest. hope he does for your club what he did for ours.

Many thanks!. I am glad that he chose us instead of Wigan too. Finally its not always the bigger names of the ESL getting the top players all the time and with our constant improvement and sound club structure maybe it will be our time soon!. Hopefully some of you will get a bit of a interest in the Wolves now and I can always keep you informed if necessary.

Best of luck for the rest of season!.

Englishman.

...Morticia...

RoostarGirl said:
....over footy first time in 34 years......Moz was just the icing on the cake for this little chook fan.

me too. i'm sitting at work like a stunned mullet still. dont want to talk footy. dont want to talk period. and thats saying something :lol:

still dont know how we let this happen

...Morticia...

Wobbygong said:
With Cross leaving as well, what's the bet Jamie Lyon will partner Soliola in the centres at the roosters in 2007?

yeah cause we need another back, including back rowers like we need a hole in the head.

englishman you are more than welcome to become our official morley, i mean warrington :lol: updater.

The_Englishman

englishman you are more than welcome to become our official morley, i mean warrington :lol: updater.
[/quote]

No Problem will do my best!

jayjayselmes

as a parramatta fan i dont know why clubs like the chooks and parra dont want to sign consistent performers on deals that they negotiate thats good for both of them. I mean 1 year deal the rooster are offering was insulting in my opinion. A quality forward brushed aside for god knows what reason.

We are having the same problem with wade mckinnon at the moment a consisten player that makes great metres for us and is an ataacking weapon.

Parra want 2 years wade wants 3 years and parra wont budge and he has been our best for the last 2 seasons.

I hate sh*t like this and clubs make so many player recruitment blunders. But yet we want to sign poor performer like cayless,. vella, tsoulous, Tim Smith etc.

I hear were you guys are coming from

...Morticia...

jayjayselmes said:
I hate sh*t like this and clubs make so many player recruitment blunders. But yet we want to sign poor performer like cayless,. vella, tsoulous, Tim Smith etc.

I hear were you guys are coming from

i know the money british clubs were throwing at him was unmatchable and maybe theres a bit more to the story. i dunno i'm not the preverbial fly on the wall in the roosters boardroom that some seem to be but i do remember reading somewhere that the roosters did go back to morley with another offer. a case of too little, too late?

my biggest gripe is the lack of vision that the roosters seem to have had over the past few years. signing backs and back rowers and letting props go but not replacing them. losing cayless and yak, neither flashy players but work horses. losing crock (yeah i know he wasn't a prop but his mongrel on the field was worth a few off) and now morley, even playing busted still one of our best fowards, not to mention the service he's given the club over 02 - 05. i still reckon without morley we wouldnt have the gf win in 02 and without him the scorelines in the following two couldve been worse.

i have to admit i wondered what the hell we'd bought him for in 01 but my dad defended him mercilessly having watched him develop at leeds and knew he would settle and become the player he was over the next 4 seasons. my dads love of the way the big pom played meant he was buried wearing his number 11 (moz's number at the time) roosters jersey. his anniversary is rolling around and this just compounds it.

but back to the topic :lol: i can see this coming back to bite us on the arse and, as you say JJS, recruitment blunders seem to be entrenched at the roosters at present. but, despite being completely sh*tted and devastated at the same time, i cant say a bad word about morley or his decidion to leave us.

RoostarGirl

...Morticia... said:
i know the money british clubs were throwing at him was unmatchable and maybe theres a bit more to the story. i dunno i'm not the preverbial fly on the wall in the roosters boardroom that some seem to be but i do remember reading somewhere that the roosters did go back to morley with another offer. a case of too little, too late?

my biggest gripe is the lack of vision that the roosters seem to have had over the past few years. signing backs and back rowers and letting props go but not replacing them. losing cayless and yak, neither flashy players but work horses. losing crock (yeah i know he wasn't a prop but his mongrel on the field was worth a few off) and now morley, even playing busted still one of our best fowards, not to mention the service he's given the club over 02 - 05. i still reckon without morley we wouldnt have the gf win in 02 and without him the scorelines in the following two couldve been worse.

i have to admit i wondered what the hell we'd bought him for in 01 but my dad defended him mercilessly having watched him develop at leeds and knew he would settle and become the player he was over the next 4 seasons. my dads love of the way the big pom played meant he was buried wearing his number 11 (moz's number at the time) roosters jersey. his anniversary is rolling around and this just compounds it.

but back to the topic :lol: i can see this coming back to bite us on the arse and, as you say JJS, recruitment blunders seem to be entrenched at the roosters at present. but, despite being completely sh*tted and devastated at the same time, i cant say a bad word about morley or his decidion to leave us.

I agree with everything your saying.

I know why your dad and I were such great mates...I did the same I watched his games before he came over and when he joined and all my family were given it to him I was like...'give him time you'll see' I remember having screaming matches with one of my sisters....'your wrong, your wrong' I'd say....now they are as devastated as I am....

Oh you make so much sense for someone so depressed Smurf.....most of the people I've been talking to are completely irrational.

The only thing the chooks management did over the past few seasons your dad would have been happy about was gettin rid of WALKER!!!

...Morticia...

RoostarGirl said:
Oh you make so much sense for someone so depressed Smurf.....most of the people I've been talking to are completely irrational.

if i'm still making sense i obviously avent drunk enough. but believe me, its a situation that is being amended as we speak.

RoostarGirl said:
The only thing the chooks management did over the past few seasons your dad would have been happy about was gettin rid of WALKER!!!

wasn't he his favourite all time player ever? :lol: i'm sure theres a walker artcle floating round here somewhere. i think its the only time he ever publicly bagged a player.