Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Old School RL Grounds

How many can remember when combined 2nd division with the great Lewis Jones or combined universities would play a curtain raiser to the test matches at the SCG against Fiji or the Pacific island nations combined sides?
The 2nd division or uni sides forwards had to wear sand shoes as the the other boys played with no boots and the crowd would get behind them and roar when ever they scored or made a great run.
Sincerely hope Fiji get into a comp here and I would far rather go to see them play at Henson Park than watch that SOO bullshit.
The game has fallen into an abyss since those great days and the greedy bastards running it should hang their heads in shame.

1st & 10

I was recently went into the pratten park change rooms. It felt more rustic and historic than the SCG

Has anyone been in the secret brewongal Stand change rooms, now used by the Swans for who knows what ?

Getting Off At Redfern is a very old and quaint way of saying -interupting sex before the end-if you know what i mean-ie -getting out early!! Ive been following the Saints for over 56yrs now.Most of my memories are with Dad at the Match of the Day at the SCG.I was there when the 78000 record was set, and i still remember being at a Test against the Poms around the same time,but sadly my memory of exact years isnt good. I remember walking past the Hill at the SCG and Dad saying-"keep your head down and say nothing"-the Souths or Balmain crowds were pretty rough in those days-fights galore and 1 esky per person.My God they used to get drunk.Hot dogs afterwards then the train home-we always walked out there and back-from Central right through the streets full of Souths supporters. Kogarah-always getting splinters from those bloody wooden seats at the Northern end. For some reason we always sat there-I think Dad wanted to keep us from our own rough crowd on our Hill too!! Afterwards, jump the fence and run on the field at full time-get some autographs, then time to kick the ball with my brother. You dont realise how blessed we were till many years later-walking off the park with Johnny Raper and Billy Smith-hang on, theres Changa, Pop Clay,Eddie Lumsden,Brian King,Norm Provan,Kevin Ryan-we saw them all.Never heard Saints booed-you wouldnt dare!! Thank you for the chance to relive my memories-ah they were the days!!

1st & 10

Getting Off At Redfern is a very old and quaint way of saying -interupting sex before the end-if you know what i mean-ie -getting out early!! Ive been following the Saints for over 56yrs now.Most of my memories are with Dad at the Match of the Day at the SCG.I was there when the 78000 record was set, and i still remember being at a Test against the Poms around the same time,but sadly my memory of exact years isnt good. I remember walking past the Hill at the SCG and Dad saying-"keep your head down and say nothing"-the Souths or Balmain crowds were pretty rough in those days-fights galore and 1 esky per person.My God they used to get drunk.Hot dogs afterwards then the train home-we always walked out there and back-from Central right through the streets full of Souths supporters. Kogarah-always getting splinters from those bloody wooden seats at the Northern end. For some reason we always sat there-I think Dad wanted to keep us from our own rough crowd on our Hill too!! Afterwards, jump the fence and run on the field at full time-get some autographs, then time to kick the ball with my brother. You dont realise how blessed we were till many years later-walking off the park with Johnny Raper and Billy Smith-hang on, theres Changa, Pop Clay,Eddie Lumsden,Brian King,Norm Provan,Kevin Ryan-we saw them all.Never heard Saints booed-you wouldnt dare!! Thank you for the chance to relive my memories-ah they were the days!!

Great yarn. Enjoyable mate

Coffs dragon

I loved all those old grounds, but my favourite was probably the long gone Sydney Sports Ground. It was always a special day catching the train from Hurstville to Central then walking to the ground with all the fans bantering & heckling. You could always get a decent unreserved seat close to the action and see the players pre & post game around the sheds. Great to get the autographs of Changa, Billy Smith, The Toga Brothers, the Maddison Brothers and even Geoff Carr.
Seen some great games there against the old North Sydney Bears with players like the great Ken Irvine & George Ambrum. Geez I miss those old days against the shit that is thrown at us by the NRL these days. The game has gone backwards, along with St.George Leagues club and the idiots running our JV into the ground.

denis preston

I remember st georges day 1967 and a trip to Penrith to watch the mighties. Cold as hell and Penrith had their first win ! laurie Fagan , Ron workman, David Applebee , Bob Boland and Kurt Landers dad. My uncle took me to see Penrith the year before in second division.and still don't know why they had to change their jerseys from Blue & white stripes to chocolate brown.

It was a notable game in that Poppa Clay & Ian Walsh really showed that 66 should have been their last year. For all the plaudits for Frank Facer ( most deserved ) he slipped up on this cause if he did retire them we would have kept Kevin Ryan. We threw the cheque book around like nobody else for the next three years but to no avail.

blacksafake

Was fortunate enough to play on the SCG as a youngster a couple of times especially 1/2 time of the 69 grand final.
You're right 1st & 10 above Leichhardt oval running east to west played a lot of games there & not many people know this. Some great memories reading some of the other posts.

1st & 10

The old smokers stand at the SCG was moved and was the 1st grandstand at Belmore. The stand now at Belmore with the faded winfield cup was state of the art when built

Another one was Cumberland oval. A sheep paddock with an old brick flammable grand stand and unkept grass.

The sports ground and Henson park were my favourite to research

1st & 10

The best change rooms I've seen, not counting historical aspect is the SFS home sheds. Massive room, spa bath small hot and cold deep pools. State of the art medical room

The away sheds resemble a high school change room.

Pratten park, wear thongs when showering. Dirty, but so unique and historic. You can hear Keith Holman blowing up

wittyfan

Great memories. "Getting off at Redfern" used to mean something too, but I can't remember what.

Lol!

I went to a few games at the old Sports Ground during 1985-86, one game was when a young Greg Alexander tore apart an ordinary Roosters side as Penrith qualified for their first ever finals series.

Also I found an old game the other day on Youtube of Wests v St George during Lidcombe's last season in 1986 on a cold Saturday afternoon, Saturday footy is just not the same without the ABC!

1st & 10

Bring back jersey numbers on sleeves and reserve grade with fullback wearing the same jersey as 1st grade with number 14

Bring back the three grades of the same team !!!!!

Saw the rugby union grand final was played at North Sydney Oval. Now that is one great ground. Can't get big crowds but it is special.

1st & 10

Saw the rugby union grand final was played at North Sydney Oval. Now that is one great ground. Can't get big crowds but it is special.

Yep, it was originally designed as a mini SCG. If young kids want to see what the old SCG resembled, show them the Bears home ground

The SCG is now a concrete jungle with statues (am I allowed to say the word statue anymore - sarc)

Drakon

I always went to all three grades playing at Jubilee oval. One day, can't remember who we were playing, I got a splinter right up under my fingernail from those wooden seats you mention. And I mean right up and under. So painful - I can see why it is used as a torture! I had to leave, walk to Carlton station, wait for a train to Rockdale and walk home. Missed the main game but listened to it on radio.

1st & 10

I always went to all three grades playing at Jubilee oval. One day, can't remember who we were playing, I got a splinter right up under my fingernail from those wooden seats you mention. And I mean right up and under. So painful - I can see why it is used as a torture! I had to leave, walk to Carlton station, wait for a train to Rockdale and walk home. Missed the main game but listened to it on radio.

Painful, but great anticdote