Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Old WARL Clubs

Kurt Angle

North Beach have a big enough roster to split into two teams.

Didn't marangaroo have a side in the past?.. means there should be a field/clubhouse over there to use.

b0rt

North Beach have a big enough roster to split into two teams.

Didn't marangaroo have a side in the past?.. means there should be a field/clubhouse over there to use.
maybe if we got our reds players back

probably, theres heaps of former teams
cottesloe, nedlands, perth, vic park, applecross, alexander heights (i think)

Nuke

Marangaroo did indeed used to have a team: the Marangaroo Bulls.
Adding to Bort's list, Wanneroo used to have a team, as did Sorrento, Armadale (even up to only 2 years ago), Mandurah, Junior Reds (during the Western Reds stay in the national comp in the '90s) ... and I'm sure there's been more too.

LeagueXIII

Reading Central's club website it doesn't mention Belmont.

Here's their emblem with past names surrounding it:

4942274_logoIMG.jpg

Nuke

Central is formerly known as Eastern Districts, which is formerly known as Canning. Canning may have merged with Belmont (and I think they have given they're playing out of the Steelers old home - Centenary Field), and it wouldn't surprise me if they have. If you've seen they're 2008 logo, you'll see a stack of former clubs that've merged together over the years to form the Central Bulldogs.

Nuke

You were thinking the same thing as I was LeagueXIII!
You beat me to it!

KalgoorlieRed

Central is formerly known as Eastern Districts, which is formerly known as Canning. Canning may have merged with Belmont (and I think they have given they're playing out of the Steelers old home - Centenary Field), and it wouldn't surprise me if they have. If you've seen they're 2008 logo, you'll see a stack of former clubs that've merged together over the years to form the Central Bulldogs.

And Central's official title is Midland RLFC! Now thats confusing!!

What was the crowd like at the WARL GF?

Regarding sh*t coverage in the West, well just keep on at Craig Nitschke!

Nuke

What was the crowd like at the WARL GF?

No idea mate. I had other things on, and to be honest, I've been over footy this year for a little while now, so the idea of sitting through 3 games where I have no interest didn't appeal. I've gone to the past several years' Grand Finals (including a couple of Juniors GF days too), but I just had no inclination to do it this year.

I believe South Perth won both First-Grade and Premier-Grade Grand Finals over Rockingham, and Kalgoorlie beat the previously undefeated (and reigning premiers) Rockingham team in the Womens game.

I reckon Rockingham would've made up a fair percentage of the crowd - especially given they were in all 3 grades, but I have no idea what size the crowd was.

Goldthorpe

And Central's official title is Midland RLFC! Now thats confusing!!
Belmont, Brothers, Canning Eastern Districts, Midland and Armadale basically make up Central Districts.

Armadale merged with Eastern Districts to make up Central Districts at the start of 2007. The agreement was for the side to play in the Bulldogs jerseys at home games and in the Rabbitohs jerseys at away games.
That didn't eventuate. That's in the constitution of Central Districts.

As for old teams, I could only think of
Applecross Jets [Blue and Gold]
Armadale Rabbitohs/Warriors [Red and Green]
Belmont Steelers [Black and Sliver]
Brothers [Black and Green]
Canning Bulldogs [Blue and White]
Central Districts [Blue and White, Red and Green]*
Eastern Bulldogsz [Blue and White]Fremantle Roosters [Red, White and Blue]*
Joondalup Giants [Maroon, Yellow and White]*

Kalgoorlie Brothers [Black and Silver]*
Mandurah Monarchs [Blue, White and Yellow]
Marrangaroo Bulls [Blue and Red]
Mosman Park Cottesloe Tigers? [Black and Orange]
North Beach Sea Eagles [Maroon and White]*
Rockingham Raiders/Sharks [Green, White, Blue and Yellow]*

Sorrento ?? [Green and White]
South Perth Lions [Red and White]*
Willagee Bears [Black and Red]*

*Current WARL clubs

I also predicted that South Perth would win the comp back in March this year [going out on a limb hey? haha]

Winner: South Perth
Improvers: Joondalup & Willagee
Sliders: North Beach & Central

I was disappointed that the Reds "reserve" squad idea never really happened. ie players from over East that didn't make the Reds first team would be spread throughout the WARL strenghening the lower WARL teams. Guess it was a question of money and not being able to keep the Eastern based players here with no 1st team place?

b0rt

Belmont, Brothers, Canning Eastern Districts, Midland and Armadale basically make up Central Districts.

Armadale merged with Eastern Districts to make up Central Districts at the start of 2007. The agreement was for the side to play in the Bulldogs jerseys at home games and in the Rabbitohs jerseys at away games.
That didn't eventuate. That's in the constitution of Central Districts.

As for old teams, I could only think of
Applecross Jets [Blue and Gold]
Armadale Rabbitohs/Warriors [Red and Green]
Belmont Steelers [Black and Sliver]
Brothers [Black and Green]
Canning Bulldogs [Blue and White]
Central Districts [Blue and White, Red and Green]*
Eastern Bulldogsz [Blue and White]Fremantle Roosters [Red, White and Blue]*
Joondalup Giants [Maroon, Yellow and White]*

Kalgoorlie Brothers [Black and Silver]*
Mandurah Monarchs [Blue, White and Yellow]
Marrangaroo Bulls [Blue and Red]
Mosman Park Cottesloe Tigers? [Black and Orange]
North Beach Sea Eagles [Maroon and White]*
Rockingham Raiders/Sharks [Green, White, Blue and Yellow]*

Sorrento ?? [Green and White]
South Perth Lions [Red and White]*
Willagee Bears [Black and Red]*

*Current WARL clubs

I also predicted that South Perth would win the comp back in March this year [going out on a limb hey? haha]

Winner: South Perth
Improvers: Joondalup & Willagee
Sliders: North Beach & Central

think sorrento were the dolphins

Nuke

They were indeed the Dolphins. I have a hat, a pair of playing socks, and (somewhere) a pair of playing shorts of theirs here at home.

Nuke

... and you'll find Rockingham's colours these days (and for the past few years since they ditched the Raiders name and became the Sharks) are the same as Cronulla's - blue, black, and white.

KalgoorlieRed

Pity those old clubs are gone. I take it they were around with the last Reds? If the new Reds do eventually get into the NRL do you expect that the WARL will increase again?

I am sure a NRL team will be a massive shot in the arm for RL in WA. You only have to look at what the Force has done for RU to see that with a top club the publicity, development opportunities, school link ups etc all increase 10 fold. I doubt we will ever get back to the early 90's but we will move ahead massively WHEN the Reds are back in the NRL.

Nuke

Not all those now-extinct WARL teams existed in the days of the Western Reds, but a fair percentage did.

I remember reading about 8 years ago that there was 16 teams in the WARL in 1995, and only 6 by 2000 (if that indeed was the year I read this). 10 teams disappeared virtually overnight.

I didn't even know there was a Wanneroo team until about 6 months ago when I was talking to some former players much older than I. They told me the colours and nickname the team had, but I forget what they were now. I have a feeling they might've been blue and gold, but I don't know. I never saw that team in it's existence.