Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Origin Game 3

getsmarty

Origin 3 kick-off time 2019: Everything you need to know
Author
NRL.com
Timestamp
Sun 7 Jul 2019, 04:10 PM

Don't know what time Origin kicks off? Want to know where you can watch it? Keen for tickets, merchandise, or the pre-game party? Here is all you need to know about the 2019 Holden State of Origin series decider.

If you're overseas and would like to watch NRL, here are the full details on how to get your fix from pretty much anywhere in the globe.

State of Origin III – Sydney
Where: ANZ Stadium

When: Kick-off is at 8pm AEST, Wednesday July 10

Where you can watch it in Australia: Television: Nine network. Online: 9NOW & NRL App (under 18s match only). Live scores, stats & highlights: NRL Match Centre

When teams are finalised: 1 hour prior to kick-off

Pre-game entertainment: To be announced

Food prices: Reduced food and drink prices at ANZ Stadium, including six food items under $5. Full details

Origin III Tickets: Tickets are available for Origin III via Ticketek

Origin III Travel Packages: Book a ticket & travel package via NRL Travel

Origin III Hospitality: Discover the right NRL Hospitality package for Origin III

Origin III Pre-Game Party: Perfect place to meet friends and get excited before the game

Match: Blues v Maroons

Game 3 - Wednesday 10th July

8:10pm

Home Team

Blues

Away Team

Maroons

Venue: ANZ Stadium

Match broadcasters:

• Nine Network
https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2019/07/08/origin-3-kick-off-time-2019-everything-you-need-to-know/

getsmarty

Maroons' Norman has his own style: Fittler
  • National Sport News
    r0_0_800_600_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

Queensland playmaker Corey Norman (R) creates a new challenge for the NSW defence in Origin III.
    NSW coach Brad Fittler is adamant his team can repeat their game-two clampdown on Queensland's new-look attack in the State of Origin decider.

Fittler is expecting a different look from the Maroons in game three after the injury withdrawal of star fullback Kalyn Ponga.

Ponga's absence has forced Queensland to move Cameron Munster to fullback and hand Corey Norman his Origin debut at five-eighth.

Fittler concedes the Norman factor presents a new challenge for his defence, which had limited the Maroons to a penalty try in Perth.

"(Queensland will) definitely be different. The way Corey Norman ... not many people play like him. He's just got a style of his own," Fittler said.

"So the blokes playing week in, week out, will have had a good look at him. I'm pretty confident we can shut it down."

Norman re-unites with St George Illawarra halves partner Ben Hunt, who has blossomed at hooker this series for Queensland.

The pair have struck up a strong chemistry at the Dragons, with Norman setting up 11 tries and making just as many line breaks.

Hunt has 12 try assists and 13 line-break assists.

With two more training sessions until game day, Fittler is confident his side will be adequately prepared for whatever Queensland throw at them at ANZ Stadium.

"(The players) do a lot of research on these fellas, week in, week out. They know a lot of their mannerisms and habits and traits they go back to," Fittler said.

"We obviously go through their team and look at what we think can happen.

"But I'm very confident in what we're doing in our training sessions can stop what they want to throw at us."

The Blues have a new spine of their own after the dramatic recall of veteran playmaker Mitchell Pearce in place of the injured Nathan Cleary.

The former NSW No.7 had just two sessions with the team before the squad broke camp for the weekend.

Fittler is hoping Pearce's familiarity with a number of current Newcastle teammates, and former Sydney Roosters players, can hasten their preparation.

Pearce and five-eighth James Maloney won a grand final together in 2013 at the Roosters, and featured in two Origin series in 2013 and 2017.

"It's more the fact that him and James Maloney work together," Fittler said.

"That's the key. Fact is they've played grand finals together and a lot of big games together. So that will be a help, unbelievably, going into a big game.

"They just know each other's voice. They know people around them."

Australian Associated Press

https://www.theleader.com.au/story/6261384/maroons-norman-has-his-own-style-fittler/?cs=13069

getsmarty

Norman worthy of Qld No.6 jersey: JT
By AAP
a day ago
A handful of training sessions have been enough to convince Queensland great Johnathan Thurston that Corey Norman is the man to step up in the Maroons No.6 jersey.

Thurston admitted the entire Queensland team was on notice ahead of July 10's State of Origin series decider after an "un-Maroon-like" display in their horror 38-6 game two loss to NSW in Perth.

But Thurston had no problem with Norman stepping up as Queensland five-eighth on Origin debut in Sydney after witnessing the St George Illawarra playmaker take charge at training.

Maroons assistant Thurston has been working closely with Norman since the Dragons X-factor was drafted into the side after a backline reshuffle following fullback Kalyn Ponga's withdrawal with a calf injury.

Regular Maroons pivot Cameron Munster has been slotted into fullback for the decider, opening the door for Norman to make his Origin debut at 27 in the halves.

It appeared a big risk.

But Thurston - one of the Maroons' greatest five-eighths thanks to a stellar 37-game Origin career - was quick to confirm the Dragons star was worthy of the Queensland No.6 jersey, tipping him to be the difference in game three.

"Corey Norman is making his debut but he has a lot of talk out there (at training), getting players around him, making sure they are running the right lines and letting them know what he needs from those players," Thurston told QRL website.

"I have been really impressed with him.

"He's got a lot of first grade experience under his belt and been knocking on the door now for a couple of years - I am really happy for him."

Norman has been a sponge around Thurston at Camp Maroon as Queensland look to respond following a "brutal" video review of NSW's game two rout.

"Our effort area was really poor (in game two), it was a very un-Maroon-like performance," Thurston said.

"They have had a very harsh and honest review. Now that has been put to bed they have trained really well.

"Hopefully it will be better in game three. No doubt it will be.

"But they have come flying out of the blocks at training. The ball is in their court now so I am really confident they will get the job done."

Another who has impressed Thurston is Norman's halves partner, captain Daly Cherry-Evans.

"He is the right choice (as captain) for this side now. He needs to now that but I think he does - I have been really impressed with his leadership," Thurston said.

"He doesn't talk just for the sake of it but he is very direct and gets his point across extremely well - that's what you want from your leader.

"He's cool, clam and collected which is vital when you are on the footy field - I have been very impressed with him."

:copyright:

https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/norman...ersey-jt/3368c016-0069-4a15-b8f1-758b5a23f5bf

You Possm seem to be praising Millward lately without actually saying it. Rav, Pearson, now Norman.
I'll say it. Well done Ian!...but yeh I know they were easy gets!
Yes, you said it for me. Now look at other good players who were signed by other clubs and tell me why Millward could not sign good replacements for Aitken, Lafai, Dufty, Maranta, Runciman, Latimore, Allgood, Kerr and others that MIllward intends to not extend for 2020.

Norman worthy of Qld No.6 jersey: JT
By AAP
a day ago
A handful of training sessions have been enough to convince Queensland great Johnathan Thurston that Corey Norman is the man to step up in the Maroons No.6 jersey.

Thurston admitted the entire Queensland team was on notice ahead of July 10's State of Origin series decider after an "un-Maroon-like" display in their horror 38-6 game two loss to NSW in Perth.

But Thurston had no problem with Norman stepping up as Queensland five-eighth on Origin debut in Sydney after witnessing the St George Illawarra playmaker take charge at training.

Maroons assistant Thurston has been working closely with Norman since the Dragons X-factor was drafted into the side after a backline reshuffle following fullback Kalyn Ponga's withdrawal with a calf injury.

Regular Maroons pivot Cameron Munster has been slotted into fullback for the decider, opening the door for Norman to make his Origin debut at 27 in the halves.

It appeared a big risk.

But Thurston - one of the Maroons' greatest five-eighths thanks to a stellar 37-game Origin career - was quick to confirm the Dragons star was worthy of the Queensland No.6 jersey, tipping him to be the difference in game three.

"Corey Norman is making his debut but he has a lot of talk out there (at training), getting players around him, making sure they are running the right lines and letting them know what he needs from those players," Thurston told QRL website.

"I have been really impressed with him.

"He's got a lot of first grade experience under his belt and been knocking on the door now for a couple of years - I am really happy for him."

Norman has been a sponge around Thurston at Camp Maroon as Queensland look to respond following a "brutal" video review of NSW's game two rout.

"Our effort area was really poor (in game two), it was a very un-Maroon-like performance," Thurston said.

"They have had a very harsh and honest review. Now that has been put to bed they have trained really well.

"Hopefully it will be better in game three. No doubt it will be.

"But they have come flying out of the blocks at training. The ball is in their court now so I am really confident they will get the job done."

Another who has impressed Thurston is Norman's halves partner, captain Daly Cherry-Evans.

"He is the right choice (as captain) for this side now. He needs to now that but I think he does - I have been really impressed with his leadership," Thurston said.

"He doesn't talk just for the sake of it but he is very direct and gets his point across extremely well - that's what you want from your leader.

"He's cool, clam and collected which is vital when you are on the footy field - I have been very impressed with him."

:copyright:

https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/norman...ersey-jt/3368c016-0069-4a15-b8f1-758b5a23f5bf
SGI should recruit a player who along with being a top first grader, is also captain material. Maybe in a couple of years Norman could fill that role however, given his past, he is not the right man for the job right now. Contrary to what some have said, it is not just a matter of tackling your heart out and in this way leading by example. It is ensuring that the game plan is followed no matter how bad it is and having the ability to make good on-field decisions during the game. The captain must also keep the referees honest when it comes to drawing the referee's attention to poor decisions in a respectful but forceful manner.

BLM01

Yes, you said it for me. Now look at other good players who were signed by other clubs and tell me why Millward could not sign good replacements for Aitken, Lafai, Dufty, Maranta, Runciman, Latimore, Allgood, Kerr and others that MIllward intends to not extend for 2020.
Dufty is signed for until end of 2021
Lafai and Aitken are signed for 2020 as is Maranta
Runciman not in Top 30 squad. Reserve grade contract
Lats, Allgood & Kerr...how do you know he does not intend to give them another contract...not that I would except Kerr i would give a basic one with 1st grade match payments incentives as other clubs do.

So where is the money to sign replacements for those if they are here in 2020?

getsmarty

huntb-190707702-sd.jpg

STATE OF ORIGIN

Hunt credits pre-season 'flogging' for Origin resilience
Author
Joel Gould NRL.com Reporter
Timestamp
Mon 8 Jul 2019, 08:00 PM
gouldjoe-head.png

Ben Hunt credits an absolute "flogging" from Dragons head of athletic performance Nathan Pickworth for getting him in the physical shape to play 80 minutes as Maroons hooker.

The 29-year-old St George Illawarra halfback has been arguably Queensland's best player in the opening two games of the State of Origin series at hooker, playing full games in both.

In Origin I he made 53 tackles with just three misses and he backed that up with 44 tackles in Origin II. He missed seven tackles in that game but was in the thick of it as NSW ran riot.

It was also a Hunt grubber that led to his side's only four-pointer courtesy of a penalty try to Will Chambers.

"It was a bloody tough pre-season under Nathan Pickworth, the head of performance down there," Hunt grinned.

"I thought I had done some pretty tough pre-seasons in my time. In my early days at the Broncos there were definitely a few and I was a bit overweight back then, which is probably what was making them hard.

Maroons to make call on Gillett on Tuesday

"The last two pre-seasons down at the Dragons have been really tough with all the kilometres they get into the legs, running. The beauty of it is that they flog the hell out of us and then in season we get a lot of time off and freshen up in between games.

"[Pickworth] has got me running the Ks I just didn't think I could do. It has got me fit and at the best weight I have played at. I am playing at 87 or 88 kilos."

That is a far cry from what he weighed at some stages at the Broncos when he was playing dummy-half. It was put to Hunt that he had got up to 91kg at one stage.

"Keep going," he chuckled.

"The heaviest game I think I played at was high 95s. It wasn't pretty, but in saying that I had some good years where I was playing 88 or 89 but I couldn't have done 80 minutes in the middle."

Pickworth's drills and Hunt's application have made the Queensland rake as physically strong as he has ever been and the mental spin-offs have been invaluable in the Origin series.

"I think that is half the battle with playing that game in the middle. You have to tell yourself that you just have to do this," he said.

"There are a lot of guys at our club and others who have I played with that are a hell of a lot of fitter than me but just don't have that mentality that you have to get through it."

If Hunt can add one extra dimension to his game in the series decider at ANZ Stadium it would be to ignite his running game.

"It is definitely hard but in game two I was definitely ready to run. I had the gas to do it. I was just sitting back waiting for an opportunity, looking for a marker down or a quick play-the-ball … but it just wasn't coming," Hunt said.

Hunt expects rookie Norman to shine at five-eighth

"Looking back at the game, and the type of game State of Origin is, everyone defends so well and it is so slow in there [at the ruck] that you have to create your own opportunities."

Maroons skipper Daly Cherry-Evans said he would assist Hunt to run more while making the point that getting momentum through the middle of the park would also be crucial on Wednesday.

"My responsibility is probably some communication, making sure we are nice and clear what our roles are, and that will give Ben Hunt a bit of freedom," Cherry-Evans said.

"Also, we have to get some quick play-the-balls for him. There's no reason for Ben Hunt to get slow play the balls, that's a big part of our game helping Ben get out of dummy half. We all have a role to play in that whether it is pushing up with the ball or getting quick play-the-balls."

https://www.nrl.com/news/2019/07/08/hunt-credits-dragons-pre-season-flogging-for-origin-resilience/

getsmarty

STATE OF ORIGIN

Defiant Walters says Norman ready to fire
Author
Margie McDonald Senior Reporter
Timestamp
Tue 9 Jul 2019, 02:34 PM
mcdonaldmargie-head.png

Maroons coach Kevin Walters is adamant the aggression and enthusiasm of new fullback Cameron Munster and debutant Corey Norman can carry Queensland to Origin glory even without veteran back-rower Matt Gillett.

"We're ready to go – don't worry", Walters said, with his usual brand of confidence heading into Wednesday night’s clash at ANZ Stadium.

The Queensland fans and hierarchy might feel a little shaky after Gillett was ruled out on Tuesday but Walters is confident Ethan Lowe or Dylan Napa can step up.

"Certainly do," Walters said, when asked if he had the make-up of his team already in mind, knowing that from last Friday when Gillett hurt his groin, he might not play.

"That's what we do in our preparation. You always have Plan B in place."

Shifting the focus off his forwards and onto his new spine, Walters was glowing about Munster and Norman's new lease of life in their new jerseys.

Walters rules Gillett out

"He's strong and athletic – very aggressive type of player as well," Walters said of Queensland, Storm and Australian No.6 Munster.

"Cameron has been screaming out for an opportunity in the fullback position, whether it be in the NRL or particularly with Origin. So that excites me that he's looking forward to the opportunity that’s been presented to him.

"From a balance point of view for the team, it's great to have him at fullback because it brings in Corey Norman, who again is another one who has been waiting for this opportunity at this level to show everyone his skills.

Home Team

Blues

Away Team

Maroons

Match broadcasters:

• Nine Network
Buy Tickets
"He's slotted in beautifully in the No.6 jumper with his talk, with his communication, and just with his general drive around the team."

No prizes for guessing that NSW will pepper him with high balls.

"Well he's a backyard player that you pick in your team straight up, because he's a football player," Walters said.

"He just loves competing. I know the work he's done this week – and he's done some extras around his training to manage the workload of a fullback. He's fine; he's ready to go; and I'm really excited for him."

And they aren't the only personnel shifts Walters might make to try to answer critics after the Maroons humiliating 38-6 game two loss in Perth.

DCE: One game won't define me

Wests Tigers skipper Moses Mbye has been training regularly at left centre, with Michael Morgan coming off the interchange bench.

"That's an option we've looked at all week. 'Morgo' is such a valuable asset to the side – he's very flexible in where he can play – so we're always looking at little areas to get some benefit for the maroons. That could be an area we could find some benefit."

Walters said he had seen far greater intensity from his players this week at training.

"They're hurting from game two ... and the only way to get rid of that hurt is to give a performance that they’re capable of on Wednesday night," he said.

And there's always statistics to help Queensland. They have won the last two Origin deciders held in Sydney and from the last five games played at ANZ Stadium since 2015, Queensland has won three.

"We don't have any demons here. I've been here and won premierships and been here and won Origins, and a lot of the players sitting in there have as well," Walters said.

normanc-190119705-sd.jpg

Queensland five-eighth Corey Norman. :copyright:Scott Davis/NRL Photos
"We'll play the Origin in the desert – it doesn't matter."

Of course Walters' position – if Queensland lose a second straight series – might come under scrutiny even though he is signed on until 2020.

"Every Origin is a test for coaches, for staff, for players and this one is no different. We’re very thrilled and excited to come to Sydney and be part of a decider. We expect our guys to get out there and make Queenslanders proud," he said.

"I love Queensland, I love coaching Queensland. I'm just really looking forward to tomorrow night ... we've spoken all Origin about the trust and belief these players have in each other."

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2019/07/09/defiant-walters-says-norman-ready-to-fire/

getsmarty

STATE OF ORIGIN

Hunt presents Norman with maiden Maroons jumper
Author
Jorja Brinums QRL lead content producer
Timestamp
Tue 9 Jul 2019, 06:39 PM

Queensland Maroons' State of Origin Game III debutants Corey Norman, Christian Welch and Ethan Lowe have now been presented their jerseys for the decider.

Lowe, who has been in camp this week as the 18th man, gets his debut after Matt Gillett was ruled out today with a groin injury moments before the captain's run at ANZ Stadium.

Ben Hunt presented fellow St George Illawarra Dragons club mate Corey Norman with his jersey.

img_4201.jpg

“I want to thank Kevvie and everyone who chose me to be in this team,” an emotional Norman said.

“I’m truly honoured and blessed to wear this jersey. This means a lot to me and my family. I’m so proud.”

Josh Papalii presented Melbourne Storm's Christian Welch with his first Maroons jersey.

welch.jpg

“I’ve been through a bit with my knee. You (Kevvie) kept picking me in that emerging squad and I’m grateful for that," Welch said.

“I’ll be doing everything I can for the team to help us get us over the line tomorrow night.”

Gillett, who until this morning did everything in his power to be right to play, presented South Sydney Rabbitohs second rower Lowe with his jersey for the big game.

lowe.jpg

"You deserve this jersey," Gillett said.

Lowe said "this is what all of us in this room have dreamed about, to get this jersey".

"You guys all have faith in me … I can’t wait to get out there and do my job," Lowe said to team mates once given the jersey.

Coach Kevin Walters has until one hour before the game to confirm who will start and who will play where.

Home Team

Blues

Away Team

Maroons

Match broadcasters:

• Nine Network
Buy Tickets

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2019/07/10/hunt-presents-norman-with-maiden-maroons-jumper/

getsmarty

vaughan_rc1_8629.jpg

STATE OF ORIGIN

Importance of bench role not lost on Vaughan
Author
Chris Kennedy NRL.com Reporter
Timestamp
Wed 10 Jul 2019, 09:00 AM
kennedychris-head.png

Blues prop Paul Vaughan says he perfectly understands the importance of maintaining momentum from the bench in Origin and the different preparation required should he be asked to fill that crucial role again in the Holden State of Origin decider.

The Blues dominated the early stages of game one with David Klemmer and Vaughan starting but Queensland wrested it back through the game, particularly once Klemmer's 52-minute spell came to an end.

In game two, Jake Trbojevic, Daniel Saifiti and Dale Finucane started powerfully before a sensational stint off the bench from Vaughan maintained the rage as the Blues steamrolled Queensland to force a decider in Sydney.

Vaughan deftly evaded questions around whether he would in fact start Origin III from the bench, as reported by NRL.com on Monday, but was happy to elaborate on what the different role would mean for him if it eventuated.

"With the starters, in game one I thought we started really well with me and Klem," Vaughan told NRL.com.

Blues v Maroons - Origin III

"Then in game two I thought the boys started really well with Saifiti and Dale with Jake then the boys came off the bench and held that momentum if not shifted it a bit more to our favour.

"It's definitely a massive play. Our 17 is really strong, I don't think it has many weaknesses. It's obviously a great advantage to have a strong bench."

Vaughan has started two Origins and come off the bench in his other three and said there is definitely a different mindset involved in the two roles.

The Origin resurrection of Mitchell Pearce

"I think you prepare differently when you start to when you come off the bench," he said.

"In the warm up you know you have to finish that then come straight into the game (if you're starting) but if you come off the bench you can't get too pumped up because then you've still got 20 minutes or so until you get into the game so you have to ease your way in.

"You do prepare a bit differently for each role."

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2019/07/10/importance-of-bench-role-not-lost-on-vaughan/

Dufty is signed for until end of 2021
Lafai and Aitken are signed for 2020 as is Maranta
Runciman not in Top 30 squad. Reserve grade contract
Lats, Allgood & Kerr...how do you know he does not intend to give them another contract...not that I would except Kerr i would give a basic one with 1st grade match payments incentives as other clubs do.

So where is the money to sign replacements for those if they are here in 2020?
I suppose it will be up to Millward to clean up the mess he has made. In order to avoid the hard stuff of recruiting good first graders, he extends dead wood beyond their usefulness. No more hard work, reduced workload. What a Mess!

BLM01

I suppose it will be up to Millward to clean up the mess he has made. In order to avoid the hard stuff of recruiting good first graders, he extends dead wood beyond their usefulness. No more hard work, reduced workload. What a Mess!
Right on cue Possm! :oops: Oh Basil...

Dragon for life

Bullshit !!!
The side is stronger with Klemmer & Pearce. Cleary is a myth and we all know Tariq 2019 is certainly not Tariq of early 2018.
Yeah I agree with the Klemmer selection v Tariq. Klemmer was huge in origin 1. Would love to see him get a bit more hatred for Qld in him. Go see Geyer before the match!!!

Dragon for life

Valid point. God I hope your wrong. The only thing I hate more than the storm and broncos is qld.
All 3 equally and you can throw in Qld supporters after they win as well. They get a bit of Cameron Smith smugness about them. I just want to throw something at them. “We have more passion than NSW” gets me f**king fired up real quick.